### SCIENTIFIC INTEGRITY

# **Panel Clears Needleman of Misconduct**

A University of Pittsburgh panel has cleared lead researcher Herbert Needleman of charges of scientific misconduct in connection with a landmark study, published in 1979, on the effects of low-level lead exposure on human development, according to sources familiar with the case. Needleman's lawyer, James Lieber, says the investigatory panel was unanimous in its no-misconduct conclusion, but the draft report of the investigation sent to Needleman for his comments does criticize him for the way he and his colleagues reported the methodology of their study.

The Pitt investigatory panel, chaired by education professor William Cooley, was convened by medical school dean George Bernier earlier this year. Last year, a preliminary inquiry found "no evidence of fabrication, falsification or plagiarism" but had doubts about whether the New England Journal of Medicine

News & Comment

article reporting the lead study (vol. 300, 1979, p. 690), and a subsequent follow-up article, contained "full, fair, and accurate descriptions of the study's methods and analyses." The investigatory panel evidently shared those doubts, although none of the panel members will discuss the report's conclusions since university rules call for confidentiality at this stage of the investigatory process.

Psychologists Sandra Scarr from the University of Virginia and Claire Ernhart of Case Western Reserve University first raised questions last summer about the



Needleman

way Needleman conducted his 1979 lead study (Science, 23 August 1991, p. 842). Needleman and his supporters, in turn, have accused Scarr and Ernhart of acting on behalf of the lead industry in trying to discredit Needleman's research. Needleman has been an outspoken

advocate of the need to remove lead from the environment, especially in cases where young children may be exposed to it. He has appeared for the federal government in Superfund cases, as well as civil suits on behalf of victims of lead poisoning.

Needleman is preparing a written response to the panel's report. The report then goes to Bernier, who will decide whether to accept it. If he does, it will then go

to the National Institutes of Health Office of Scientific Integrity for approval.

-J.P.

## **Institute of Medicine Elects New Members**

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) recently elected 50 new members, seven senior members, and one foreign associate. IOM members are required to devote volunteer time to work on studies carried out by the institute. Membership in the National Academy of Sciences, with which the IOM is affiliated, carries no such obligation.

### The new members are:

Nancy C. Andreasen, University of Iowa, Iowa City; Clyde F. Barker, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; Marilyn Bergner, Johns Hopkins University; Kenneth I. Berns, Cornell University Medical College; Jo Ivey Boufford, King's Fund College, London, England; William R. Brody, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Charles C. Capen, Ohio State University, Columbus; Robert M. Carey, University of Virginia School of Medicine; Christine K. Cassel, University of Chicago School of Medicine; Caswell A. Evans Jr., Los Angeles County Department of Health Services.

Daniel M. Fox, Milbank Memorial Fund, New York City; Joseph F. Fraumeni Jr., National Cancer Institute; Kristine M. Gebbie, Washington State Department of Health; Mitchell S. Golbus, University of California, San Francisco; M.R.C. Greenwood, University of California, Davis; Brian E. Henderson, University of Southern California School of Medicine; William C. Hsiao, Harvard University School of Public Health; John P. Kampine, Medical College of Wisconsin; Stephen I. Katz, National Cancer Institute; Haig H. Kazazian Jr., Johns Hopkins University.

Patricia A. King, Georgetown University Law Center; Seymour J. Klebanoff, University of Washington Medical Center; Claude B. Klee, National Cancer Institute, Franklin M. Loew, School of Veterinary Medicine, Tufts University; George D. Lundberg, editor, Journal of the American Medical Association; George M. Martin, University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle; Paul R. McHugh, Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions; Ralph L. Nachman, The New York Hospital-Cornell Medical Center; Robert M. Nerem, Georgia Institute of Technology; James G. Nuckolls, Blue Ridge Health Associates Inc., Galax, Virginia.

Dennis S. O'Leary, Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois; Stuart H. Orkin, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Children's Hospital, Boston; Herbert Pardes, College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University; Jerome B. Posner, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; Darwin J. Prockop, Jefferson Medical College, Thomas Jefferson University; Stanley B. Prusiner, University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine; Marcus E. Raichle, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis; David L. Rimoin, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Medicine; Phillip W. Robbins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Sheila A. Ryan, School of Nursing, University of Rochester.

Jane G. Schaller, Tufts University School of Medicine, New England Medical Center Hospitals; Joseph E. Scherger, University of California School of Medicine, Davis; Lawrence A. Shepp, AT&T Bell Laboratories; Clement B. Sledge, Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women's Hospital; Ralph Snyderman, Duke University Medical Center; Alfred Sommer, School of Hygiene and Public Health, Johns Hopkins University; Walter Wadlington, School of Law, University of Virginia; Thomas A. Waldmann, National Cancer Institute; Laurence R. Young, NASA Johnson Space Center, Houston, Texas; Nicholas T. Zervas, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.

#### Elected directly to senior membership are:

Robert Austrian, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania; Britton Chance, School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania; Allan M. Cormack, Tufts University; Kurt Hirschhorn, Mount Sinai School of Medicine; Paul Meier, The University of Chicago; Ruth Sager, Harvard Medical School and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Morton N. Swartz, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital;

Newly elected foreign associate:

Ronald N. Bracewell, Stanford University.