in Hanford, Washington. Speakers addressed the geology of the Hanford site as well as the process of how scientific information is used—or misused—by government decision-makers.

Other sessions included those on Canada's water resources, health care on the Pacific rim, the Canadian–U.S. Pacific Salmon Treaty, health problems and radiation, ecology of Arctic fishes, and energy conservation in the Arctic.

A highlight of the meeting was a lunchtime public lecture by Paul MacCready, whose giant pterosaur is currently starring in the Smithsonian Institution's new film "On the Wing." MacCready described his many exciting "flights of fancy" and showed slides of the pterosaur and his earlier "Gossamer Condor," "Gossamer Albatros," "Gossamer Penguin," "Solar Challenger," and "Bionic Bat."

At the joint divisional banquet, Pacific Division President and local host of the meeting Geoffrey G. E. Scudder treated the audience to a beautiful look at "Canada's Galapagos: The Queen Charlotte Islands." His lecture summarized evidence for evolution drawn from plant and animal distribution in the Charlottes, especially when compared to the mainland.

In addition to symposia, the meeting included contributed and student papers from a variety of scientific disciplines. Two student papers received special recognition. Maria Emilia Klut of the University of British Columbia (UBC) received the Lawrence M. Klauber Award for Excellence (general) and Patrick A. Lavin of UBC won the Geraldine K. Lindsay Award in the Natural Sciences.

Copies of the meeting program, including abstracts of most of the papers, are available for \$3 (plus tax for California residents) from the Pacific Division. Write to Alan E. Leviton, Pacific Division AAAS, California Academy of Sciences, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, California 94118.

> JOAN WRATHER Office of Communications

AAAS Congressional Bulletin Available

The AAAS Office of Public Sector Programs has produced four issues of the *Congressional Bulletin* since the project was initiated on a trial basis in December 1985. The *Bulletin* focuses on congressional actions, events, and trends of particular interest to those in the scientific and engineering community.

Recent issues of the Congressional Bulletin have reported on such topics as the Gramm-Rudman-Hollings Deficit Reduction Act, the Higher Education Act Reauthorization, the Federal Technology Transfer Act of 1986, the Japanese Technical Literature Act, hearings on federal regulation of biotechnology, and the debate in Congress and in the scientific community about OMB Circular A-21 relating to indirect cost reimbursement to universities and colleges for conducting research. An upcoming issue scheduled for late July will feature an update of congressional considerations of the fiscal year 1986 budget and review progress on the Tax Reform Act of 1986.

Circulation of the Congressional Bulletin is currently about 600. It is available free to members of AAAS. To receive your Congressional Bulletin subscription, please write to Albert Teich, Office of Public Sector Programs, at the AAAS address. Include your name, address, and your member number as it appears on your Science label.

Obituaries

Nasser Zacharias Alves of Campinas, Brazil, member of Section N since 1985, 17 May 1986.

Carl R. Blumenstein of Punta Gorda, Florida, member of Section C since 1948, 12 February 1986.

Ernest Boeding of Baltimore, Maryland, member of Section C since 1948, 18 April 1986.

Ludvig G. Browman of Missoula, Montana, member of Section G since 1936, 12 May 1986.

Presidential Citation Awarded to AAAS



Martha Redden, co-director, AAAS Project on Science, Technology, and Disability, accepts the President's Citation for Private Sector Initiatives for the Association's work with disabled scientists and engineers. Presenting the Citation are (left) R. William Taylor, president, American Society of Association Executives, and (right) Frederick J. Ryan, director, White House Office of Private Sector Initiatives. The AAAS was one of 100 private sector organizations cited for a broad range of community service programs. The commendation noted that the Association "enlists the aid of disabled members of the scientific and engineering communities in helping other disabled people make career and education decisions."

R. Chamberlain of Norwich, New York, member of Section G since 1970, 7 April 1986.

Irvin M. Cushner, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Medicine, member of Section N since 1977, 7 April 1986.

R. W. Dayton of Columbus, Ohio, member of Section B since 1961, 18 June 1986.

C. W. Ferguson, professor of dendrochronology, Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, University of Arizona, member of Section G since 1961, 24 March 1986.

Georg Fuchs of Wein, Austria, member of Section N since 1968, 7 April 1986.

Edward C. Fuller, professor emeritus of chemistry, Beloit College, member of Section Q since 1939, 9 May 1986.

William F. Geigle of Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, member of Section C since 1942, 4 May 1986.

Lester J. Gordon of McKeesport, Pennsylvania, member of Section B since 1955, 26 February 1986.

Bernard Harvey Haberman of Rockville, Maryland, member of Section N since 1977, 24 March 1986. Harold Hillenbrand, former executive director, American Dental Association, member of Section R since 1938, 31 May 1986.

Mary C. McConnell of Portland, Oregon, member of Section Q since 1977, 11 April 1986.

Norman McCullough of Okemos, Michigan, member of Section N since 1940, 20 June 1986.

Nydia Meyers of Tecumseh, Michigan, member since 1982, 5 May 1986.

Harold Osborne, retired chief engineer, American Telephone & Telegraph, member of Section M since 1929, 29 December 1985.

Jon B. Owens of Rosebud, Texas, member of Section N since 1962, 12 June 1986.

Charles M. Schwartz of Westbury, New York, member of Section K since 1964, 3 June 1986.

S. Darriel Slagle of Greenville, Tennessee, member of Section N since 1982, 22 February 1986.

Nina Toll of Middletown, Connecticut, member since 1986, 22 May 1986.

Jessie Whitacre of Kettering, Ohio, member of Section G since 1929, 4 April 1986.

SCIENCE, VOL. 233