## AAASNEWSAAASNE

## Association Awards Presented at Annual Meeting in Los Angeles

AAAS prizes in scientific freedom and responsibility, science journalism, general scientific research, and research in human behavior were presented at the 1985 Annual Meeting in Los Angeles last May. The Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award, the Newcomb Cleveland Prize, and the Socio-Psychological Prize were presented immediately preceding the president's Public Lecture, Wednesday, 29 May. The AAAS-Journalism Westinghouse Science Awards were given during the National Association of Science Writers' annual banquet at the Meeting, Tuesday, 28 May.

AAAS Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award: Werner A. Baum, recipient of the 1985 AAAS Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award, was cited for "his courageous and successful challenge, while chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, of the security practices of two federal agencies, resulting in a greatly improved national climate for the intellectual freedom of academic scientists."

In 1978, while chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Baum challenged the Department of Commerce and the National Security Agency (NSA) when one of his faculty members received a "secrecy order" in response to a patent application for a cryptographic device.

The secrecy order, and Baum's fight to rescind it, gained international attention and led to a withdrawal of the order and internal policy changes within NSA. The actions also led to the establishment of the Public Cryptography Study Group by the American Council on Education, National Science Foundation, and NSA. Baum served as the group's first chairperson.

In selecting Baum, the Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award Panel said . . . "It is important to note that Baum acted to promote both scientific freedom and responsibility. He not only challenged practices which restricted the

open dissemination of scientific information, but he took the additional step of seeking positive ways to resolve tensions between national security and academic freedom concerns."

Baum, currently dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of meteorology at Florida State University, received a \$1000 prize and a plaque of recognition.

AAAS-Newcomb Cleveland Prize: Sally M. Rigden, Thomas J. Ahrens, and Edward M. Stolper of the California Institute of Technology, received the AAAS-Newcomb Cleveland Prize for their report, "Densities of liquid silicates at high pressures" (Science, 30 November 1984, pp. 1071-1074).

The report described a test, to determine densities of molten silicates, that revealed the unexpected phenomenon of silicate liquids becoming denser than their surroundings.

Rigden, Ahrens, and Stolper used a cannon-like apparatus to fire aluminum or tungsten plate—bearing projectiles into samples of molten silicates with compositions similar to terrestrial volcanic rock. Their discovery means that, under great pressure, molten silicates will tend to sink deep into the earth's mantle rather than rise. This information, which contradicts previous assumptions, may affect scientists' theories about the structure of the earth, including the existence of "hot spots," as well as theories about how the earth and other planets formed.

The prize of \$5000 was divided among the authors; each received a bronze medal. The AAAS-Newcomb Cleveland Prize is awarded annually to the author(s) of a paper published in *Science* that is considered to be an outstanding contribution to science.

AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize: Colin Martindale, professor of psychology at the University of Maine, Orono, received the AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize for 1984.

The \$1000 prize was awarded Martindale for his paper, "The evolution of aesthetic taste," which describes how artistic content "evolves" in response to earlier artistic content and is not particularly responsive to nonartistic social forces. In reaching his conclusions, Martindale analyzed the evolution of British poetry, painting, and music. His paper was published in *Historical Social Psychology*, K. Gergen and M. Gergen, editors (Earlbaum, 1984).

The AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize is awarded each year for a meritorious essay that furthers the understanding of the psychological-social-cultural behavior of human beings.

AAAS-Westinghouse Science Journalism Awards: Winners of the 1984 AAAS-Westinghouse Science Journalism Awards included representatives from newspapers, magazines, radio, and television. Five awards of \$1000 each were given in recognition of outstanding reporting on the natural sciences and their engineering and technological applications, excluding medicine.

The 1984 winners and their entries were:

- For science reporting in newspapers with over 100,000 daily circulation—Paul G. Hayes, for a series, "The Acid Trail," published 23-28 December 1984 in the Milwaukee *Journal*.
- For science reporting in newspapers with under 100,000 circulation—James Ehmann for a series, "Under the Weather," published 9–14 January 1984 in the Syracuse, New York, *Post Standard*.
- For science reporting in general circulation magazines—Richard Wolkomir, for an article, "Quark City," published in the February 1984 issue of *Omni* magazine.
- For science reporting on television—Linda Harrar of WGBH-TV (Boston) for "Stephen Jay Gould: This View of Life," a NOVA program, aired on the Public Broadcasting Service 18 December 1984; and Gary Hochman for "Edgerton and His Incredible Seeing Machine," aired on KUON-TV (Lincoln, Nebraska) 27 February 1984.
- For science reporting on radio—Mark Heistad of Minnesota Public Radio and Lili Francklyn of the National Geographic Society and formerly of National Public Radio for their two-part series, "Seed Diversity," broadcast on National Public Radio 21 and 22 May 1984.

(Continued on page 292)