Canadian participation was excellent. The Science Advisory Board of the Northwest Territories held one of its semiannual meetings during the Division meeting. A symposium on Alaska and U.S. Arctic Science Policy brought concerned advisory boards, representatives from the petroleum industry, and the general public together.

The next annual meeting of the Division will be in September 1983 in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory. We are particularly anxious to strengthen our ties with Canada, since many of our science-related concerns are identical to those of the Yukon and Northwest Territories.

GUNTER E. WELLER Executive Secretary, Arctic Division

Recycled Science

Rhoda Metraux, long-time associate of the late Margaret Mead, has found a novel way to take science to the people.

"Each year I tie up my copies of *Science* in bundles of 3 months each and give them to our village's (Craftsbury, Vermont) quite famous rummage sale in September," she writes, "and each year all the *Science*'s go in the very first few minutes."

Could this be another example of science and technology stimulating the economy?

Daedalus Discounted for AAAS Members

AAAS members can now subscribe to *Daedalus* for 1 year at a special price of \$12—\$4 off the regular rate.

Daedalus, the quarterly journal of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, devotes each issue to a broad treatment of one topic. The journal offers readers a wide selection of the best current scholarship in the sciences, arts, humanities, and areas of national and international concern such as education, race relations, and defense policy.

Recent issues have focused on America's Schools: Public and Private; Intellect and Imagination; Modern Technology: Problem or Opportunity; and U.S. Defense Policy in the 1980s.

The special introductory offer for AAAS members includes a full year subscription to *Daedalus* (four issues) at the low rate of \$12. For further information write *Daedalus* Subscription Office, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1172 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts 02134.

Obituaries

Arthur M. Arkin of New York, New York, member of Section H (Anthropology) since 1963, 25 May 1982.

Julius Ashkin, professor of physics, Carnegie-Mellon University, member of Section B (Physics) since 1961, 4 June 1982.

G. H. Ball of Los Angeles, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1924, 7 August 1982.

Hendrik W. Bode of Cambridge, Massachusetts, member since 1979, 2 June 1982.

William Bollay of Santa Barbara, California, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1943, 2 June 1982.

Spencer G. Bradford, director, Division of Special and Continuing Medical Education, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1946, 15 August 1982.

Stewart S. Cairns of Urbana, Illinois, member of Section A (Mathematics) since 1934, 28 June 1982.

William H. Corcoran of San Gabriel, California, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1969, 21 August 1982.

Haskell Brooks Curry, Evan Pugh Research Professor of Mathematics Emeritus, Pennsylvania State University, member of Section A (Mathematics) since 1960, 1 September 1982.

Albert Dorfman, professor of pediatrics, University of Chicago, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1967, 27 July 1982.

Howard McKee Elsey of Oakmont, Pennsylvania, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1918, 27 June 1982.

Max Engelhart of Durham, North Carolina, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1962, 30 June 1982.

C. Eugene Farnsworth of Syracuse, New York, member since 1980, 2 July 1982.

J. W. Finn of Mount Clemens, Michigan, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1979, 11 July 1982.

Ira Goldenberg, Department of Surgery, Yale University School of Medicine, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1947, 31 July 1982.

Ralph E. Heal of Oxford, Maryland, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1976, 27 August 1982.

Esther D. Hoelzel of Chicago, Illinois, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1940, 20 June 1982.

Dean S. Hollister of Ithaca, New York, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1935, 6 July 1982.

Arthur B. Hook of Clifton, Virginia,

member of Section B (Physics) since 1970, 23 June 1982.

George Mathew Kanapilly, supervisor, Aerosol Science Group, Lovelace Inhalation Toxicology Research Institute, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1970, 14 July 1982.

Robert Knowles of Huntington Beach, California, member since 1978, 5 August 1982.

William Krag of Lexington, Massachusetts, member of Section B (Physics) since 1969, 26 August 1982.

Karl A. Lesins, Department of Genetics, University of Alberta, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1967, 2 July 1982.

Vivian Ernst-Levin, assistant professor, biochemistry, Brandeis University, member since 1982, 12 September 1982.

Joseph D. Mitchell, Jr., of Dallas, Texas, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1970, 2 May 1982.

Kelso B. Morris, professor emeritus of chemistry, Howard University, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1942, 26 August 1982.

Kalambur Sk. Murthy, Division of Neurosurgery, University of Texas School of Medicine, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1974, 4 June 1982.

Robert C. Pendelton, Department of Radiological Health, University of Utah, member since 1977, 10 July 1982.

J. O. Pinkston of Staunton, Virginia, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1938, 24 June 1982.

Edward W. Seeger of Carson City, Nevada, member since 1982, 9 June 1982.

Martha W. Shackleford of Chickasha, Oklahoma, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1962, 7 September 1982.

Ismail N. Shimi, U.S. Air Force Office of Scientific Research, member of Section U (Statistics) since 1978, 3 August 1982.

Richard C. Talamo, professor of pediatrics, Tufts New England Medical Center, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1973, 23 July 1982.

Chauncey G. Tillman, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1963, 7 May 1982.

John S. Wahl of Ridgefield, Connecticut, member of Section B (Physics) since 1969, 11 August 1982.

John W. Weigl of Webster, New York, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1948, 1 August 1982.

Vladimir Zworykin of Princeton, New Jersey, member of Section B (Physics) since 1934, 3 August 1982.