for January and December and an extremely marked dislike for Christmas week, the period during which AAAS met prior to 1973. There was a slight preference for the period just after the end of the spring semester.

Looking at academic calendars, it was ascertained that some 50 percent of the major institutions were between terms during the Memorial Day holiday weekend (the weekend which includes the last Monday in May). It was also determined that this weekend was not an active one for hotels, since at that time people tend to go to resorts rather than to downtown hotels and hotels thus would be willing to negotiate better guestroom rates than for periods before or after that weekend. By scheduling the Meeting so that it spans the entire holiday weekend, we make it possible for those members whose institutions are still in session to at least attend the middle 3 days of the Meeting, and allow those who can attend the entire Meeting to avail themselves of the lower midweek air fares. These arguments persuaded the AAAS Board of Directors to change the Annual Meeting dates to the Memorial Day weekend effective in 1983, the earliest year it was possible to make the change. For more information contact the Meetings Office at the AAAS address or 202-467-4487.

ARTHUR HERSCHMAN
Meetings Office

Science 81 Announces 675,000 Rate Base, Effective in July

After publishing for less than 18 months, *Science 81* has grown from its initial rate base of 250,000 to 675,000 paid subscribers.

This spectacular growth has been accomplished largely through direct mail campaigns, but has now been augmented by national newsstand distribution and national television advertising.

Future Annual Meeting Dates Changes

The AAAS Board of Directors, at its April meeting, voted to change the future Annual Meeting dates, beginning with 1983, to the Memorial Day holiday weekend (the weekend that includes the last Monday in May). This change was made in response to the desires of the membership as determined in a recent survey (see accompanying report). To date, the AAAS Annual Meetings are scheduled as follows:

1982 Washington, D.C. 3–8 Jan. 1983 Detroit 26–31 May 1984 New York 24–29 May

1985 Los Angeles 23-28 May

The forthcoming Annual Meeting in Washington will be the last held in early January. Negotiations for sites beyond 1985 are in progress.

AAAS Annual Elections: Preliminary Announcement

The Association's 1981 elections will be held in September. All members will receive ballots in the general election for president-elect, members of the Board of Directors, and members of the Committee on Nominations. Each member who is enrolled in one of the 21 electorates corresponding to the AAAS sections will receive an electorate ballot for section chairperson-elect, member-at-large of the section committee, and members of the electorate nominating committee. In addition, seven electorates will elect Council delegates this year. Members who have not yet enrolled in an electorate are invited to inform the Association of the electorate (section) of their choice.

Biographical information concerning the candidates listed

below will be published in the 21 August issue of *Science*. Additional names may be placed in nomination for any position by petition submitted to the Executive Officer not later than 16 July.

Petitions nominating candidates for president-elect, members of the Board, or members of the Committee on Nominations must bear the signatures of at least 100 members of the Association. Petitions nominating candidates for any electorate or section position must bear the signatures of at least 50 members of the electorate. A petition to place an additional name in nomination for any position must be accompanied by the nominee's curriculum vitae and statement of acceptance of nomination.

General Election

President-Elect

Anna J. Harrison, Mount Holyoke College

Gardner Lindzey, Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences

Board of Directors

Lawrence Bogorad, Harvard University

Thelma Estrin, University of California, Los Angeles

Sheila E. Widnall, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

J. Tuzo Wilson, Ontario Science Centre

Committee on Nominations

Jordan J. Baruch, Jordan Baruch Associates, Inc.

Robert W. Berliner, Yale University School of Medicine

Phyllis L. Kahn, Minnesota House of Representatives

William Kruskal, University of Chicago

William F. Nelson, GTE Laboratories

Rolf M. Sinclair, National Science Foundation

A. K. Solomon, Harvard Medical School

Linda S. Wilson, University of Illinois, Urbana

Electorate Elections

SECTION A—Mathematics

Chairperson-Elect

Lipman Bers, Columbia University James B. Serrin, University of Minnesota

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee

Mary W. Gray, American University

Branko Grünbaum, University of Washington

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee

Donald L. Burkholder, University of Illinois, Urbana

Patricia James Eberlein, State University of New York, Buffalo