## 1980 AAAS Awards Presented in Toronto

Three AAAS-sponsored prizes were presented during the 1981 Annual Meeting in Toronto. The Socio-Psychological Prize and the Newcomb Cleveland Prize were presented immediately preceding the AAAS president's Public Lecture, Tuesday, 6 January. The AAAS-Westinghouse Science Writing Awards were given during the National Association of Science Writers annual banquet at the meeting, Monday, 5 January.

AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize: Bibb Latané of Ohio State University, Stephen G. Harkins of Northeastern University, and Kipling D. Williams of Drake University received the AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize for 1980.

The \$1000 prize was awarded to Latané, Harkins, and Williams for their paper, "Many hands make light the work: Causes and consequences of social loafing." The article, first published in 1979 in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, describes a series of experiments which indicate that individuals perform at a higher level when alone than when performing as members of a group.

Bibb Latané, who won the AAAS Socio-Psychological Prize with John M. Darley in 1968, is director of the Behavioral Sciences Laboratory at Ohio State University. Prior to joining the faculty at Ohio State University in 1968, he was affiliated with Columbia University. Latané received the B.A. degree from Yale University in 1958 and the Ph.D. degree from the University of Minnesota in 1963.

Stephen G. Harkins is an assistant professor at Northeastern University where he has been since 1977. He received the B.A. degree from the University of Texas in 1970, and the M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Missouri in 1972 and 1975, respectively.

Kipling D. Williams, an instructor of psychology at Drake University, is completing the Ph.D. requirements at Ohio State University. He received the B.S. degree from the University of Washington in 1975 and the M.A. degree from Ohio State University in 1977.

AAAS-Newcomb Cleveland Prize: A

6 FEBRUARY 1981

report on an international program that has led to new discoveries of exotic deep-ocean marine life and mineral-enriched hydrothermal seawater circulation off Mexico was selected for the 1980 AAAS-Newcomb Cleveland Prize. Fred Noel Spiess of Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego, accepted the award for himself and 21 other authors who participated in the project and production of the research paper. Winners will each receive a bronze medal and a portion of the \$5000 prize.

The prizewinning article, "East Pacific Rise: Hot springs and geophysical experiments," was published in *Science* (pages 1421-1433), 28 March 1980. The article described a series of dives conducted off the coast of Baja California from March through May 1979. Scientists found extraordinary life forms and geological structures surrounding hot springs, or hydrothermal vents.

Results of this and related programs are, according to Speiss, revolutionizing concepts of ocean circulation and mineral deposition, as well as challenging old theories of life in the deep sea through the discovery of food chain systems that do not depend on plant life.

Co-chief scientists for the diving program were Speiss and Kenneth C. Macdonald, formerly of Scripps and now with the University of California, Santa Barbara. Other authors of the article who participated in the dives or were consultants on the program in addition to Speiss and Macdonald, are: Charles Cox, James Hawkins, Rachel Havmon, Robert Hessler, Miriam Kastner, Douglas Macdougall, Stephen Miller, and John Orcutt of Scripps Institution of Oceanography; Tanya Atwater and Bruce Luyendyk of the Department of Geological Sciences, University of California, Santa Barbara; Robert Ballard of Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution; Roger Larson of Lamont-Doherty Geological Observatory; William Normark of the Office of Marine Geology, U.S. Geological Survey; Arturo Carranza and Victor M. Diaz Garcia of the Centro de Ciencias del Mar y Limnologia, Ciudad

Universitaria; Diego Cordoba and Jose Guerrero of the Instituto de Geologia, Universidad Nacional Autonóma de Mexico; Jean Francheteau of the Centre National pour l'Exploitation des Océans, Centre Océanologique de Bretagne; Thierry Juteau of the Laboratoire de Minéralogie-Pétrographie, Université Louis Pasteur; and Claude Rangin, of the Intitut de Géologie, Université de Paris.

AAAS Westinghouse Science Writing Awards: The three 1980 AAAS-Westinghouse Science Writing Awards of \$1000 each were given in recognition of outstanding writing on the natural sciences and their engineering and technological application, excluding medicine, in newspapers and general circulation magazines.

The 1980 winners and their entries are:

• For science writing in newspapers with more than 100,000 daily circulation—Mark Bowden, for an article, "Breeding the better cow," published 17 March 1980 in the Philadelphia *Inquirer*. An honorable mention went to Lewis Cope, for three articles about radiation leaks at the Prairie Island nuclear plant, published 25 November 1979 in the Minneapolis *Tribune*.

• For science writing in newspapers with under 100,000 circulation—David Crisp, the Palestine (Texas) *Herald*-*Press*, for a series of articles, "Nuclear waste: A problem that won't go away," published 24-28 February 1980.

• For science writing in general circulation magazines—C. P. Gilmore, *Popular Science*, for an article, "After 63 years, why are they still testing Einstein?," published December 1979. An honorable mention went to Alan Hall and team for an article, "The second Green Revolution," published 25 August 1980 in *Business Week*.

## Washington Meeting in 1982

It is not too early to begin thinking about the Washington Annual Meeting (3-8 January 1982). If you have suggestions for a symposium for the Washington Meeting, please submit the following information no later than 15 March 1981:

a) Name, address, affiliation, and phone number of the person who