Donald W. Riegle (D-Mich.); Jack M. Clough, Jr., AAAS/Biophysical Society/ American Society of Photobiology, Subcommittee on Energy and Power, House of Representatives Interstate and Foreign Commerce Committee; Daniel Craig, Duke Round Table on Science and Public Affairs (Duke), office of Senator Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii); Stanislaus J. Dundon, American Philosophical Association (APA), office of Representative George E. Brown (D-Calif.); Robinsue Frohboese, American Psychological Association, office of Senator Jacob K. Javits (R-N.Y.); Eli Fromm, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Subcommittee on Science, Research, and Technology, House of Representatives Committee on Science and Technology; David Garin, American Chemical Society (ACS), office of Representative Albert Gore, Jr. (D-Tenn.); Lillian K. Gibbons, SRCD, office of Senator Robert Dole (R-Kan.); James C. Greene, ACS, Subcommittee on Natural Resources and Environment, House of Representatives Committee on Science and Technology; Carroll Ann Hodges, American Geophysical Union, office of Representative James D. Santini (D-Nev.); Sidney Katz, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology, office of Representative George E. Brown (D-Calif.); Catherine Lewis,

Duke. Subcommittee on Child and Human Development, Senate Committee on Labor and Human Resources; Edna Mitchell, SRCD, office of Representative Elizabeth Holtzman (D-N.Y.); Burton Muller, APS, Senate Foreign Relations Committee; J. Craig Peery, SRCD, office of Senator Orrin G. Hatch (R-Utah); William Puka, APA, office of Senator Gaylord Nelson (D-Wis.); Joshua Reichert, Duke, office of Representative Clarence Long (D-Md.); Robert Riebling. American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, office of Senator Strom Thurmond (R-S.C.); Rosalie Schwartz, American Historical Association (AHA), office of Representative Lee Hamilton (D-Ind.); Theodore R. Simpson, IEEE, Subcommittee on Science, Technology, and Space, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation; Raymond H. Starr, Jr., SRCD, office of Representative Stephen J. Solarz (DL-N.Y.); Donald G. Stein, AAAS, office of Senator Howard Metzenbaum (D-Ohio); Ruby Takanishi, SRCD, office of Senator Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii); Duane Tananbaum, AHA. Senate Foreign Relations Committee; Cheryl Tropf, American Mathematical Society/Mathematical Association of America/Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, Senate Committee on Science, Commerce, and



Congressional Science and Engineering Fellows. Picture taken during orientation. Front row, left to right: Lillian Gibbons, Eli Fromm, Samuel Baldwin (fellowship begins January 1981), Donna Porter, Raymond Starr, Ruby Takanishi; second row, left to right: Daniel Craig, Stanislaus Dundon, Duane Tananbaum, Rosina Bierbaum, Cheryl Tropf, Gene Smith (fellowship began January 1980), Gerd Kleinenberg, Joshua Reichert; third row, left to right: Thomas Fagan (fellowship began January 1980), Rosalie Schwartz, Catherine Lewis, James Greene, Edna Mitchell, J. Craig Peery, James Ryan, Sidney Katz, Jonathan Bloom-Feshbach, Robert Riebling, Phyllis Windle, David Garin, Donald Stein, Arthur Kohrman. Not shown: John Clough, Robinsue Frohboese, Carroll Ann Hodges, Burton Muller (fellowship begins January 1981), Bill Puka, Theodore Simpson (fellowship begins January 1981), Frederick Twogood (fellowship begins January 1981), Henry Williams, Norman Balmer, Judith Randal, Barbara Baum, Margaret Gould.

Transportation; Frederick Twogood, IEEE (placement in January); Henry N. Williams, American Society for Microbiology, office of Senator Charles McC. Mathias (R-Md.).

The Science, Engineering, and Diplomacy Fellows sponsored by the AAAS and the U.S. State Department are assigned to offices in the Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs. Barbara Baum will work in the Office of Food and Natural Resources, Margaret S. Gould with the Policy Assessment Staff, and Phyllis Windle in the Office of Environmental Affairs.

Donna Porter, the Nutrition and Food Safety Fellow sponsored by the AAAS, will spend her fellowship year at the Congressional Research Service of the U.S. Library of Congress.

Reminder to Members . . .

AAAS records for many of our members do not show a section affiliation. In addition to being the electorates in which members vote, the 21 disciplinary sections arrange many of the symposia for the AAAS Annual Meeting and serve as the focal point for Fellowship selection. (See Science, 1 August 1980, pages 581-582.) All AAAS members will be receiving their annual membership nomination campaign mailing soon. For those of you who are not now enrolled in one of the disciplinary sections, the mailing will include a form for you to indicate the section of your choice. The AAAS encourages you to take this opportunity to join your colleagues in section membership.

Mass Media Science Fellows Report on Summer Experiences

From fledgling to full-fledged science journalist: that is the transformation many of the 1980 AAAS Mass Media Science Fellows seemed to have undergone during the 3-month program in which they participated this summer.

The 21 fellows reconvened in Washington recently to discuss and evaluate their experiences. (See *Science*, 11 July 1980, page 263.) The fellows, all advanced students in the natural and social sciences, spent the summer working to produce radio and television programs, writing feature and news articles, and