Section T-Information, Computing, and Communication

Council Delegate: Rita G. Lerner Chairperson-Elect: Marilyn C. Brack-

Member-at-Large of the Section Committee: Everett M. Rogers

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee: Marcia J. Bates and Toni Carbo Bearman

Section U-Statistics

Council Delegate: Paul Meier Chairperson-Elect: Joan R. Rosenblatt Member-at-Large of the Section Committee: David V. Hinkley

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee: Theodore W. Anderson and Fred C. Leone

Section W-Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences

Council Delegate: Joost A. Businger Chairperson-Elect: Frederick Sanders Member-at-Large of the Section Committee: Robert A. Duce

Members of the Electorate Nomi-

nating Committee: Duncan C. Blanchard and W. Lawrence Gates

Section X-General

Council Delegate: Herbert Scoville, Ir

Chairperson-Elect: Daniel Alpert Member-at-Large of the Section Committee: Dael Wolfle

Members of the Electorate Nominating Committee: Dean Abrahamson and Arlene Blum

AAAS Establishes Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility

The establishment of a new Award for Scientific Freedom and Responsibility was announced by AAAS executive officer William D. Carey on 23 October 1980. The award, which will be presented for the first time at the 1982 AAAS Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.,

will consist of a plaque and a cash prize of \$1000. The award was established by action of the AAAS Board of Directors in June 1980.

Under the criteria approved by the AAAS Board, the purpose of the award is to honor scientists and engineers whose actions, often at significant personal cost, have outstandingly exemplified principles of scientific freedom and responsibility. The new prize will recognize scientists and engineers who have

- acted to protect the public's health, safety, or welfare; or
- focused public attention on important potential impacts of science and technology on society by their responsible participation in public policy debates; or
- established important new precedents in carrying out the social responsibilities or in defending the professional freedoms of scientists and engineers.

As noted by John T. Edsall, professor emeritus of Harvard University and chairman of the AAAS Committee on Scientific Freedom and Responsibility, which proposed the award, "Those scientists and engineers who act on behalf of scientific freedom and responsibility under difficult circumstances are performing services of exceptional value to society. Often such actions also involve high risks to the career of the individual who undertakes them, and require courage beyond the usual call of duty. All of us on the Committee believe that the exceptional people who have performed such services should receive some appropriate recognition. This is in part to honor them, but it also is to spread, among the scientific public and the public in general awareness of the importance of maintaining scientific freedom and responsibility.'

Members of the AAAS or its affiliated professional societies are invited to nominate candidates for the award by providing the following information: the name and address of their nominee; a brief statement (about 100 words) describing the action(s) of their nominee which they believe merits recognition; general background information about their candidate (no longer than three pages); and names and addresses of one or two other persons (one of whom must be a scientist) who support the nomination. Nominations will be reviewed by the Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award Committee, which may recommend a nominee or nominees to the Chairman of the AAAS Board for final approval.

Nominations should be sent to: Scientific Freedom and Responsibility Award,

Short Courses at the Toronto Annual Meeting

The AAAS Office of Science Education has arranged four 1-day Short Courses in the Sciences, to be held in conjunction with the AAAS Annual Meeting in Toronto. Two courses will be addressed to college and university science teachers, and two courses to high school science teachers.

The purpose of the courses is to bring teachers together with scholars for an intensive review of interesting and timely topics. The short courses are opportunities for teachers to update and enliven their classroom teaching with the spirit and findings of current research.

For college and university teachers:

• Food, Energy, and Society

David Pimentel, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University

• Cognition and Teaching

Ruth S. Day, Department of Psychology, Duke University

For high school teachers:

• Cells and Evolution

Lynn Margulis, Biological Science Center, Boston University

• Atmospheric Sciences

Volker A. Mohnen, Atmospheric Sciences Research Center, State University of New York at Albany

Courses will be offered on 3 January from 9:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. at the Royal York Hotel, 1100 Front Street West, Toronto. Registration for each course is \$43 (U.S.) or \$50 (Can.). Each course will be limited to 25 participants. Applications will be honored on a first-come, first-served basis.

To register, send a letter of application and check or money order to Joseph M. Dasbach, Office of Science Education, at the AAAS address. Your letter should include name, address, telephone number, name of school, academic field, and the classes you teach. Make check or money order payable to American Association for the Advancement of Science (or AAAS).

Letters of application must reach AAAS by 19 December 1980. For further information write Joseph M. Dasbach or call 202-467-4464.

5 DECEMBER 1980 1115