(Continued from page 55)

forts, the AAAS has recently received a grant from the Polaroid Foundation.

Atlanta is the area which has most recently begun a local network. A preliminary meeting of Atlanta minority women scientists was held 10 July at Spelman College. Arranged by Etta Falconer, chair, Mathematics Department, Spelman College, and member, AAAS Committee on Opportunities in Science, the meeting resulted in a decision to organize a local network of minority women scientists. Toward this end, minority women scientists, engineers, science teachers, and others in science-related activities were invited to an organizational meeting 20 September in Atlanta.

This regional effort follows the establishment of a network in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area and parallels a similar attempt to organize National Network members in New Jersey.

Women scientists who are American Indian, Asian, Black, Mexican American, or Puerto Rican are urged to join the Network to keep informed about local and national developments, opportunities, and projects. Persons seeking information or wishing to join the Network should contact Paula Quick Hall, OOS, at the AAAS address.

Obituaries

John H. Arbegast of Carlisle, Pennsylvania, member of Section Q (Education) since 1963, 4 August 1980.

Joseph E. Barmack of Mamaroneck, New York, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1965, 30 May 1980.

Virginia Bartow of Urbana, Illinois, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1934, 7 July 1980.

Bryn Beorse of San Francisco, California, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1976, 29 April 1980.

Andrew W. Breindenback, vice president of Western Environmental Consultants-Designers, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1969, 21 May 1980.

Donald G. Brennan of Croton-on-Hudson, New York, member of Section X (General) since 1960, 18 April 1980.

G. Kent Burson of Tekoa, Washington, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1969, 21 June 1980.

Kenneth L. Calder of Raleigh, North Carolina, member of Section W (Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences) since 1961, 11 March 1980. James D. Cobine of Rexford, New York, member of Section B (Physics) since 1958, 17 August 1980.

Norbert Enzer of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1960, 30 May 1980.

Gordon G. Evans, Department of Chemistry, Tufts University, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1956, 19 May 1980.

William T. Fitts, Jr., Department of Surgery, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1951, 17 June 1980.

Alan I. Fleischman of Montclair, New Jersey, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1958, 7 January 1980.

Lee W. Gregg, Psychology Department, Carnegie Mellon University, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1952, 4 June 1980.

James D. Hamilton of Hampstead, Quebec, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1953, 18 April 1980.

Donald G. Herzberg, dean, Graduate School, and vice president, Graduate Studies and Research, Georgetown University, member of Section K (Social and Economic Sciences) since 1969, 11 August 1980.

John R. Hertzler of Mansfield Center, Connecticut, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1966, 4 April 1980.

Louis Jordan of Lewiston, Maine, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1945, 26 June 1980.

William T. Keeton, Department of Biology, Cornell University, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1962, 17 August 1980.

George A. Lescisin of Washington, D.C., member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1942, 24 May 1980.

A. W. Lindquist of Lindsborg, Kansas, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1947, 11 March 1980.

Majel M. MacMasters of Tucson, Arizona, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1929, 3 May 1980.

George S. O'Brien of Lake Forest, Illinois, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1965, 17 July 1980.

Francis E. Payne, Department of Epidemiology, University of Michigan School of Public Health, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1966, 7 July 1980.

Max Petersen of Winchester, Massachusetts, member of Section B (Physics) since 1970, 25 April 1980.

David Pressman, Department of Immunology Research, Roswell Park Memorial Institute, member of Section G

(Biological Sciences) since 1943, 16 June 1980.

Joseph Samachson of Chicago, Illinois, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1945, 2 June 1980.

M. George Scheck of Elmira, New York, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1928, 27 July 1980.

P. F. Scholander of La Jolla, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1951, 13 June 1980.

R. E. Showers of Green Bay, Wisconsin, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1965, 24 May 1980.

Walt R. Simmons of Alexandria, Virginia, member of Section U (Statistics) since 1966, 12 January 1980.

Arthur W. Sloan of Washington, D.C., member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1948, 17 June 1980.

Roger C. Smith of Arcadia, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1917, 20 May 1980.

Roger C. Smith of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1967, 14 July 1980.

Walter H. Snell of Providence, Rhode Island, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1921, 23 July 1980.

J. F. Socolofsky, Research Department, Mobil Research and Development Corporation, member of Section P (Industrial Science) since 1970, 1 May 1980.

William A. Stephen of Worthington, Ohio, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1948, 2 April 1980.

William E. Stephens, Department of Physics, University of Pennsylvania, member of Section B (Physics) since 1946, 16 July 1980.

Elizabeth Stern of Los Angeles, California, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1964, 9 August 1980.

Roger Stretch of Ottawa, Ontario, member since 1974, 16 June 1980.

James F. Sullivan of Omaha, Nebraska, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1965, 16 May 1980.

Roland Walter Ure, Jr., of Salt Lake City, Utah, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1973, 24 January 1980.

M. M. Welch of Winnetka, Illinois, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1932, 8 June 1980.

Leonidas Zervas, Laboratory of Organic Chemistry, University of Athens, member since 1972, 10 July 1980.

For more information about the activities and publications described in AAAS News, write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.