dent-elect of the Division for next year. Sam Shushan, University of Colorado, Boulder, succeeds Shine as president. Michelle Balcomb, Colorado Mountain College, will continue as executive officer. Future SWARM meetings are scheduled for: 1981–University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, 22-25 April; and 1982–New Mexico Highlands University, Las Vegas, New Mexico, 21-24 April.

> J. A. SCHUFLE New Mexico Highlands University Secretary, SWARM

## Chautauqua Short Courses for Nonacademic Scientists and Engineers

Ten Chautauqua Short Courses will be open to audiences of undergraduate faculty and nonacademic professionals in science and engineering during the 1980-81 academic year. Course topics are wide-ranging and include:

- alternative fuels from an engineering perspective;
- risk-benefit analysis;
- biological and social implications of recent advances in genetics and fetal development;
- frontiers of neurosciences;
- immunobiology: evolutionary, developmental, and molecular perspectives;
- remote sensing of the earth;
- chemical oceanography; and
- advances in coherent optical science and engineering.

Seven courses will be held at the Polytechnic Institute of New York and five at the Oregon Graduate Center for Study and Research.

These short courses differ from the regular series in that they are open to nonacademic science and engineering professionals. The Chautauqua Short Courses for College Teachers, which will offer ten subjects in the 1980–81 academic year, are open only to college faculty (see *Science*, page 489, 2 May 1980).

Brochures describing the Chautauqua Short Courses for Nonacademic Scientists and Engineers, and the short courses for college teachers, giving schedules and an application form, will be available mid-summer from the Office of Science Education at the AAAS address.

The program, developed annually by the AAAS, is funded by the National Science Foundation.

## Obituaries

Andrew D. Althouse of Oxford, Michigan, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1962, 3 January 1980.

**Raymond Thayer Birge**, of Berkeley, California, member of Section B (Physics) since 1916, 22 March 1980.

Kenneth B. Brown of Columbia, Missouri, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1962, 12 January 1980.

Rachel F. Brown of Albany, New York, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1935, 14 January 1980.

Lee Christie of Los Angeles, California, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1963, 3 February 1980.

William Gemmell Cochran, professor of statistics, emeritus, Harvard University, member of Section U (Statistics) since 1955, 29 March 1980.

**Barton J. Dozier** of Davis, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1975, 3 December 1979.

James C. Drye of Louisville, Kentucky, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1956, 5 March 1980.

Lawrence P. Eblin of Athens, Ohio, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1961, 9 March 1980.

Milton H. Erickson of Phoenix, Arizona, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1958, 25 March 1980.

**Robert Kendall Fahnestock**, professor of geology, State University of New York at Freedonia, member of Section E (Geology and Geography) since 1961, 20 April 1980.

**Peter Farb** of Amherst, Massachusetts, member of Section H (Anthropology) since 1958, 8 April 1980.

**Donald F. Flick** of Arlington, Virginia, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1966, 15 February 1980.

James W. Gaither of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1968, 30 March 1980.

Sheldon Glueck, Harvard University School of Law, member of Section K (Social and Economic Sciences) since 1969, 10 March 1980.

George F. Grannis of Columbus, Ohio, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1963, 14 January 1980.

**O. M. Helff** of Delray Beach, Florida, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1924, 14 February 1980.

**Franz J. Ingelfinger**, Department of Medicine, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1945, 26 March 1980.

Kenneth H. Jehn, Atmospheric Science Group, University of Texas, Austin, member of Section W (Atmospheric and Hydrospheric Sciences) since 1948, 5 February 1980. **Charles E. Kellogg** of Hyattsville, Maryland, member of Section O (Agriculture) since 1931, and vice president of the Section in 1952, 9 March 1980.

**Richard D. Meyer** of Greenville, South Carolina, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1979, 7 February 1980.

Edward J. Morrison of Columbus, Ohio, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1969, 23 February 1980.

Lyle W. Phillips of Chevy Chase, Maryland, member of Section B (Physics) since 1971, 31 March 1980.

**Richard B. Roberts** of Washington, D.C., member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1938, 4 April 1980.

William Robertson of Sudbury, Ontario, member of Section B (Physics) since 1966, 3 March 1980.

Arlene M. Robinson of Columbia, Missouri, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1959, 17 January 1980.

Alexis L. Romanoff, Cornell University, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1931, 24 January 1980.

Frank D. Schwarz of Somerset, New Jersey, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1960, 11 February 1980.

George W. Spangler of Lookout Mountain, Tennessee, member of Section B (Physics) since 1966, 4 February 1980.

William H. Stein, Rockefeller Institute, New York, New York, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1940, 2 February 1980.

Newton A. Teixeira of Boston, Massachusetts, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1949, 31 December 1979.

**Raymond C. Truex** of Narberth, Pennsylvania, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1941, 6 February 1980.

Leo J. Vollmayer, Xavier University, member of Section B (Physics) since 1928, 7 April 1980.

Richard D. Wakely of Hereford, Texas, member since 1976, 18 March 1980.

Harriet Cutler Waterman of Westerly, Rhode Island, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1929, 19 March 1980.

Sherwin F. Wood of Thousand Oaks, California, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1935, 8 February 1980.

**Ralph J. Zecca** of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1967, 8 February 1980.

For more information about the activities and publications described in AAAS News, write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.

11 JULY 1980