Twenty-One Media Fellows in

1980 Program

Twenty-one students in the natural and social sciences are participating this summer in the sixth year of the AAAS Mass Media Science Fellows Program. Administered by the AAAS, the program is funded by the Association, the National Science Foundation, and private foundations and corporations.

The Mass Media Science Fellows Program was established in 1974 as a part of the Association's public understanding of science activities. Its purposes are twofold: to help the media by providing on-site scientific expertise, and to allow scientists to see first-hand how science gets translated to the general public. The ultimate goal, of course, is to create better public understanding of science and technology.

The fellows, chosen through a highly competitive nationwide selection process, will spend 10 weeks helping to produce radio and television programs, writing feature and news articles, and conducting interviews. They will be placed at newspapers, magazines, and radio and television stations across the country. At their media sites the fellows will be able to apply their scientific knowledge while learning to explain complex issues of science and technology to a lay audience.

Before undertaking their summer assignments, the fellows gathered for a 3day orientation program at AAAS headquarters in Washington, D.C., 3-6 June, where they participated in workshops on science communications; heard talks by print and broadcast reporters; met with congressional press aides; toured radio, television, and print media facilities; and discussed careers and issues in science journalism with professionals in the field.

The 1980 participants in the Mass Media Science Fellows Program, their most recent academic affiliations, and their



AAAS Mass Media Science Fellows for 1980. Pictured left to right, first row: Stephen Watson, Judith Greenberg, Leslie Reinherz, Nancie Caraway, Kelly Anderson, and Rachelle H. B. Fishman; second row: Mitchell Marks, Louisa Flander, Richard Friedhoff, Jane Zimmerman, and Pamela Zurer; third row: Richard Harris, Louis Borie, Mitchel Zoler, Howard Laten, Erica Goode, Pamela Sankar, Richard McCourt, and Nancy Wendlandt Stein. Not pictured: David Kahne and Catherine Stieff.

Michigan, KUNC-FM, Greeley, Colorado; Nancie Caraway, Department of Political Science, University of Hawaii, KPIX-TV, San Francisco, California; Rachelle H. B. Fishman, Department of Biology, City University of New York, WDSU-TV, New Orleans, Louisiana; Louisa Flander, Department of Anthropology, University of Colorado, Raleigh (North Carolina) News and Observer; Richard Friedhoff, Department of Psychology, Yale University, "Universe," CBS News, New York; Erica Goode, Department of Psychology, University of California, Santa Cruz, San Francisco Chronicle; Judith Greenberg, Department of Sociology, University of California, San Diego, Atlanta (Georgia) Journal; Richard Harris, Department of Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz, Washington (D.C.) Star; David Kahne, Department of Mathematics, Harvard University, Business Week, New York; Howard Laten, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Milwaukee (Wisconsin) Journal; Mitchell Marks, Institute of Social Research, University of Michigan, KPBS-TV, San Diego, California; Richard McCourt, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Arizona, WGBH-FM, Boston, Massachusetts; Leslie Reinherz, Department of Zoology, Duke University, WCCO-TV, Minneapolis, Minnesota; Pamela Sankar, Department of Anthropology, Boston University, WOSU Radio, Columbus, Ohio; Nancy Wendlandt Stein, Department of Sociology, University of Minnesota, WDVM-TV, Washington, D.C.; Catherine Stieff, Department of Biology, Mount Holyoke College, Richmond (Virginia) News Leader; Stephen Watson, Department of Crop Science, North Carolina State University, (Portland) Oregonian; Jane Zimmerman, Department of Psychology, University of Arizona, KSAT-TV, San Antonio, Texas; Mitchel Zoler, Department of Microbiology, Roswell Park Memorial Institute, State University of New York, Buffalo, Newsweek, New York; and Pamela Zurer, Department of Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University, Provi-

fellowship sites are: Kelly Anderson, the Science Writing Program, University of California, Santa Cruz, *Charlotte* (North Carolina) *Observer*; Louis Borie, School of Natural Resources, University of

dence (Rhode Island) Journal-Bulletin.