disciplinary summaries of R&D in the social and behavioral sciences, physics, chemistry, chemical engineering, biology, the mathematical and computer sciences, electrotechnology, and the atmospheric and oceanographic sciences were included.

A limited supply of single copies is available from the Office of Public Sector Programs at the AAAS address.

AAAS Begins Nutrition Fellowship

Political decision-makers increasingly have to concern themselves with food safety, human nutrition, and related health issues. To promote a more effective liaison between policy-makers and nutritionists, AAAS recently announced the establishment of a Nutrition Research and Food Safety Fellowship.

One postdoctoral nutritionist will be selected to spend 1 year, beginning 1 September 1980, working as an analyst with the Science Policy Division of the Congressional Research Service, a part of the U.S. Library of Congress. Potential assignments may include researching and writing reports on general issues associated with nutrition and cancer, human nutrition and food safety, problems specifically related to nutrition for the elderly, and food additive issues of legislative interest.

Prospective candidates, in addition to exceptional competence in their field, should demonstrate an ability to work independently and write clearly. Payment for the year, which is fully taxable, will range as high as \$25,000.

Deadline for receipt of applications is 30 April 1980. For application materials, write Nutrition Research and Food Safety Fellowship Program at the AAAS address.

Science in Sri Lanka

The 35th annual meeting of the Sri Lanka Association for the Advancement of Science (SLAAS) was held at the Colombo campus of the University of Sri Lanka, 15-19 December 1979. AAAS was represented by Frances M. Dyro, chief, Neurophysiology Laboratory, Veterans Administration, West Roxbury, Massachusetts.

The theme of the meeting was "Planning for Health," and the chief guest was V. T. Herath Gunaratne, regional director of the Southeast Region of the World Health Organization. The inaugural ad-4 APRIL 1980 dress was given by the Honorable Gamini Jayasuruja, minister of health of Sri Lanka. The general president of the SLAAS, Professor S. R. Kottegoda, dean of the faculty of medicine, discussed planning for health in his opening address. The organization has evolved a health plan for the Mahaweli region of Sri Lanka.

The subsequent 4 days were divided into presentations by foreign delegates and by presidents of the six major divisions of the Association. Many of the sessions dealt with economic and agricultural problems in a developing country.

Popular science lectures were presented to the general public by foreign delegates and translated into Sinhala, one of the languages of Sri Lanka, by local members. Topics ranged from discussions of the effects of shift work on circadian rhythms to reports on scientific measurements of yogis.

Dyro gave a lecture on modern and ancient methods of treating pain.

Social events were held at the new headquarters building, designed by SLAAS member Justin Samareskera and opened in time for the meeting. The Sri Lanka Association was represented at the AAAS annual meeting in San Francisco by H. S. D. Soysa. Soysa is currently pursuing postdoctoral research in chemistry at the University of California, Davis.

Obituaries

The obituary column has been reinstituted to inform readers about the deaths of AAAS members. It will appear quarterly.

Frederick L. Browne of Madison, Wisconsin, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1921, 20 November 1979.

Charlene M. Burrell of St. Petersburg, Florida, member of Section G (Biological Sciences) since 1940, 14 February 1980.

Morgan J. Davis of Houston, Texas, member of Section E (Geology/Geography) since 1968, 31 December 1979.

Fred G. Drommond of the School of Pharmacy, University of Colorado, member of Section S (Pharmaceutical Sciences) since 1938, 13 January 1980.

Thomas F. Dwyer of Newton, Massachusetts, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1960, 26 November 1979.

Walter F. Friend of New York City, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1929, 2 November 1979. **Claire E. Graham** of Washington, D.C., member of Section S (Pharmaceutical Sciences) since 1941, 29 October 1979.

K. C. Hickman of Rochester, New York, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1938, 3 November 1979.

John R. Huffman of Seattle, Washington, member of Section M (Engineering) since 1941, 24 December 1979.

Philip M. Johnson of New York City, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1959, 21 October 1979.

Robert E. Lafamme of Framingham, Massachusetts, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1978, 22 December 1979.

Sears Lehmann, Jr., of Pueblo, Colorado, member of Section A (Mathematics) since 1968, 12 December 1979.

Morton Levitt of the School of Medicine, University of California, Davis, member of Section J (Psychology) since 1967, 13 January 1980.

Harold W. Martin of Delmar, New York, member of Section K (Social and Economic Sciences) since 1958, 30 November 1979.

Paul J. McInerney of Millersville, Pennsylvania, member of Section Q (Education) since 1965, 12 February 1980.

Lowell H. Milligan of Orleans, Massachusetts, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1925, 11 January 1980.

Richard G. Mraz of Wilmington, Delaware, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1948, 19 November 1979.

Bruce D. Mudgett of Montecito, California, member of Section K (Social and Economic Sciences) since 1958, 6 February 1980.

Benedict B. O'Malley of Teaneck, New Jersey, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1979, 21 December 1979.

Alva Theodore Stewart of Redwood City, California, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1958, 10 December 1979.

R. Stuart Tobias, Department of Chemistry, Purdue University, member of Section C (Chemistry) since 1963, 19 February 1980.

Ray D. Williams of St. Louis, Missouri, member of Section N (Medical Sciences) since 1977, 21 October 1979.

For more information about the activities and publications described in "AAAS News," write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.