legislation, and Santa Clara, California, now runs the nation's first solar municipal facility.

Cosponsors for the seminar, along with AAAS, were Sigma Xi; The Scientific Research Society; California State University, Northridge; the Energy Fair Foundation; and KPBS-TV Science Center, San Diego State University.

Scroll of Honor Presented to Teague

A scroll of honor, awarded to former Congressman Olin E. Teague by the AAAS Board of Directors at the Association's 1979 meeting in Houston, Texas, was presented to him in Washington, D.C., on 20 November 1979.

Teague, who served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1946 until his retirement in 1978, was long involved in scientific and technological activities of the Congress. He chaired the Committee on Science and Technology and its predecessor, the Committee on Science and Astronautics.

In presenting the scroll to Teague, the Board of Directors acknowledged his many contributions to science and his leadership in enacting the National Science and Technology Policy, Organization, and Priorities Act of 1976.

Pacific Division to Meet at Davis 22–27 June

The Pacific Division of the AAAS plans several events of interest to a variety of scientific disciplines during its annual meeting to be held 22-27 June 1980 on the Davis campus of the University of California. This year's symposia topics, which are being arranged by the Division's affiliate societies and sections, include the use and protection of San Francisco Bay, man and the atmosphere in semiarid regions, public health microbiology, fire ecology, 17th- and 18th-century science, effects of off-road vehicles, amphibian physiology, and "metamorphic education." Contributed papers organized into theme sessions by the program coordinators will also be presented. Abstracts of papers, due by 31 March, should be sent to the appropriate program coordinator.

To complement the symposia, field trips are being arranged to Mono Lake and the Tahoe basin, San Francisco Bay estuary, Sacramento Valley and the Sierra foothills, and the California Botanical Gardens at the University of California, Berkeley. Among the special events for the meeting will be a tour of the Folsom gold rush site and the traditional division barbecue, held this year at Putah Creek.

The Pacific Division began as the Pacific Science Association and became a AAAS branch in 1915. It covers British Columbia and the states of California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and part of Montana. As usual, a number of science groups based in the area will meet jointly with the Division, including the Society for the Protection of Old Fishes (devoted to the study of coelacanths and other primitive and ancient fish groups), West Coast History of Science Society, Western Society of Crop Sciences, Western Society of Soil Science, and Western Society of Malacologists. Many West Coast divisions of national science groups will be with the Division this year, including those of the American Meteorological Society, American Phytopathological Society, American Society for Microbiology, Botanical Society of America, and Ecological Society of America. The Division's Sections, E (Geology and Geography), G (Biological Sciences), K (Social and Economic Sciences), and O (Education), are also planning sessions. The meeting encourages interdisciplinary exchanges among its members.

For a copy of the preliminary program, including instructions for submission of contributed papers and abstracts, write Alan E. Leviton, secretary-treasurer, Pacific Division AAAS, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, California 94118.

50-Year Members Acknowledged

Each year the AAAS expresses its appreciation to those persons who have remained members of the Association for 50 years. Upon reaching this anniversary, members receive a certificate of recognition and are exempt from further payment of dues.

AAAS members reaching the 50-year mark in 1980 are: Georgian Adams, Brewster, Massachusetts; Robert Ballentine, Baltimore, Maryland; Helen Battle, London, Ontario; Raymond Frank Blount, Galveston, Texas; Marion E. Bunch, St. Petersburg, Florida; Leslie A. Chambers, Houston, Texas; David B. Charlton, Portland, Oregon; H. H. Dukes, Des Moines, Iowa; H. Emory Fenimore, Muncie, Indiana; Frederick K. Herpel, Laguna Hills, California; Carroll A. Hochwalt, St. Louis, Missou-

ri; Sewell H. Hopkins, Gloucester, Virginia; Wendel F. Jackson, Annapolis, Maryland; Hans Jenny, Berkeley, California; Nelson E. Jodon, Crowley, Louisiana; Emanuel B. Kaplan, Teaneck, New Jersey; Sidney W. McCuskey, Cleveland, Ohio; T. M. McMillion, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania; Robert Mitchell, New Concord, Ohio; Daniel Luzon Morris, Seattle, Washington; L. C. Norris, Davis, California; G. F. Otto, College Park, Maryland; Katherine V. Palmer, Ithaca, New York; Lasetta Pickard, Toledo, Ohio; Ervin J. Prouse, Austin, Texas; W. A. Shands, Salem, South Carolina; Hamilton Southworth, New York, New York; George F. Sprague, Urbana, Illinois; Charles Allen Thomas, St. Louis, Missouri; Paul C. Wilbur, San Jose, California; Hans Wilkens, Reading, Pennsylvania; and Cecil E. Yarwood, Berkeley, California.

Elvin Charles Stakman

<u>1885-1979</u>

Elvin C. Stakman, former AAAS president and board chairman, died 22 January 1979. At the time of his death, Stakman was emeritus professor of plant pathology at the University of Minnesota.

In a tribute to Stakman prepared by Theodore C. Byerly, former vice president and chairman of Section O (Agriculture), the AAAS Board of Directors noted:

"E. C. Stakman was a major participant in the development and implementation of methods and institutions for the control of wheat rusts. His contribution to their control is a major and continuing factor in the assurance of the world's bread supplies.

Stakman was co-discoverer of the first biological race of *Puccinia graminis tritrici*, the phytopathogen. More than 200 such races are now known. He organized the Federal Cereal Rust Laboratory and participated in the establishment of International Rust Nurseries that are now operated in more than 50 countries. Stakman participated in the establishment of the cooperative Mexico-Rockefeller Foundation corn and wheat improvement program (CIMMYT) in 1943. Wheats developed in that program have increased the bread supplies for Mexico and for many other countries."

For more information about the activities and publications described in AAAS News, write to the appropriate office, AAAS, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20036, unless otherwise indicated.