judgment have been reached and there is no reliable basis on which discretion could be exercised in determining a safe threshold for the established carcinogen.

After the 1960 hearings, the Delaney debate was more or less quiescent until the cyclamates affair of 1969, the first occasion on which the clause was invoked to rule a product off the market. Senior HEW officials decided the Delaney clause was somehow to blame for the debacle that resulted from their handling of cyclamates. They set afoot a legislative inquiry to see if the clause could be adulterated or otherwise rendered harmless, as well as a scientific inquiry to see if this course of action was justifiable. The scientific inquiry, known as the Ad Hoc Committee on the Evaluation of Low Levels of Environmental Chemical Carcinogens,

was entrusted to a group of NCI and university scientists chaired by Umberto Saffiotti, the NCI's associate scientific director of carcinogenesis.

The report of Saffiotti's committee was completed in April 1970 but has never been published in the scientific literature because of the objection of one of its members, Philip Shubik of the Eppley Institute for Research on Cancer. (Shubik told Science that his objections were confined to points of literary style, not principle. In the 1960 hearings, however, Shubik testified against the Delaney clause, which the Saffiotti report endorses.) Saffiotti, however, seems to have included the report in his testimony every time he visited Capitol Hill, a mode of publication that has given it quite wide circulation.

The distinctive features of the Saffioti

report are its definitive support of the Delaney clause and a full-throated attack on the NAS Food Protection Committee for espousing concepts that are "scientifically unacceptable," "of dubious merit in any life science," and of "absolutely no validity in the field of carcinogenesis." The target of these strictures was not the report that Stewart had criticized 10 years earlier, but a more recent study, Guidelines for Estimating Toxicologically Insignificant Levels of Chemicals in Foods, prepared by a task force of the Food Protection Committee. The study appears to assert that certain chemicals can be considered safe in small doses without actually having been tested. For example, it recommends that, if a chemical has been in commercial production for 5 years or more without evidence of haz-

Roster of Top Science Committee Posts Filled

The Nixon Administration caught up with its appointments schedule in recent weeks and announced 21 new and reappointed members to the President's Science Advisory Committee (PSAC), the National Science Board (NSB), and the President's Committee on the National Medal of Science. There still seems to be some discussion about a possible altered role for PSAC (see Science, 23 July), and about new ways of presenting the National Medal of Science; but apparently these plans are not holding up the routine business of appointments. As usual, the selection of the additional members seeks to balance out academic disciplines, industry and university representation, and, in the case of the NSB, geographic distribution. Also, a fair number of the appointees, particularly to NSB, would appear to be new to the government science advisory scene.

On PSAC, replacing Herbert A. Simon, of Carnegie-Mellon University, and Harland G. Wood, of Case Western Reserve, will be Luis W. Alvarez, the Nobel prizewinning physicist of the University of California at Berkeley, and James B. Wyngaarden, chairman of the department of medicine at Duke University. Gerald F. Tape, president of Associated Universities, Inc., whose partial term had expired, is being reappointed for a full term. The most unusual addition to PSAC is Howard S. Turner, president of Turner Construction Company, New York. Turner is a chemist by training who has in the past held technical advisory posts with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the Department of Commerce, the Post Office Department, and the National Research Council. The last PSAC appointments were made in January 1971.

The new appointees to the NSB, which oversees the National Science Foundation, are from business administration, basic science, aerospace, and other fields. They are Wesley G. Campbell, director of the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace; T. Marshall Hahn, Jr., president of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and

State University, Blacksburg; Anna Jane Harrison, professor of chemistry at Mount Holyoke College; Hubert Heffner, of Stanford University, formerly deputy director, Office of Science and Technology; William H. Meckling, dean at the Graduate School of Management at the University of Rochester; William A. Nierenberg, director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, at La Jolla, California; Russell D. O'Neal, executive vice president for aerospace of the Bendix Corporation; and Joseph M. Reynolds, vice president for instruction and research of Louisiana State University, who is being reappointed.

The Administration still seems to be scratching its head over what to do about the National Medal of Science, the annual trophy passed out to distinguished scientists. The awards have been given every year since 1963—but this year there appears to be something extra in the works. Although ceremonies for the 1970 award took place in May 1971, a new committee to search for the 1971 medalists was not announced until a few weeks ago. The new group has already met once, and consideration is apparently being given to upgrading and glamourizing the award, which has in the past not exactly been front-page news. The new committee members are William D. McElroy, chancellor of the University of California at San Diego; Thomas S. Smith, president of Lawrence University; James H. Boggs, vice president for academic affairs and research coordinator at Oklahoma State University; Howard O. McMahon, former president of Arthur D. Little, Inc.; Nathan M. Newmark, head of the department of engineering at the University of Illinois, Urbana; H. Guyford Stever, director of the National Science Foundation; and William P. Lear, Sr., chairman of the board of Lear Motors. Edwin H. Land, president of Polaroid Corporation, is being reappointed, as is Charles P. Slichter, professor of physics, University of Illinois, who is also being made chairman of the committee.—D.S.

590 SCIENCE, VOL. 177