



TROUGHTON & SIMMS, Inc. 91 WAITE STREET, MALDEN 48, MASSACHUSETTS

Announcements

The AAAS invites newspaper and magazine science writers to enter the 1964 AAAS-Westinghouse science writing awards competition. Two \$1000 awards will be presented, one for magazine writing, the other for newspaper articles, on the natural sciences and their engineering and technological applications, exclusive of medicine. Entries must have appeared in a U.S. publication between 1 October 1963 and 30 September 1964; articles from trade or professional journals are not eligible. Magazine nominations may consist of a single story or a series; newspaper entries may be a single story, a series, or a group of three unrelated articles, editorials, or columns. Each competitor may submit up to three separate entries, and nominations may be made by persons other than the author. All entries must be received by 10 October. Additional information on the competition is available from E. G. Sherburne, Jr., AAAS, 1515 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington, D.C. 20005.

The AAAS-Westinghouse awards are provided by the Westinghouse Electric Corporation through a grant from the Westinghouse Educational Foundation.

Scientists in the News

The 1964 R. D. Conrad award was presented recently to Herbert Friedman, superintendent of the Naval Research Laboratory's atmosphere and astrophysics division and chief scientist at the E. O. Hulburt Center for Space Research. He was cited for "outstanding technical and scientific achievement in research and development for the United States Navy."

Raymond U. Lemieux, professor of organic chemistry at the University of Alberta, has been chosen to receive the Chemical Institute of Canada medal, the organization's highest award.

Jack B. Bresler, associate professor of biology at Boston College, has been appointed director of research development at the university, as of 1 August.

The recently elected president of the Society for American Archaeology is Paul S. Martin, chief curator of the department of anthropology, Chicago Natural History Museum.

The National Science Foundation has appointed Henry W. Riecken associate director for scientific personnel and education, succeeding Bowen C. Dees, who recently became associate director for planning. Riecken had been division director for NSF's division of social sciences.

Recent Deaths

Henry W. Cave, 76; former chief of the first surgical division at Roosevelt Hospital, New York, and former clinical professor of surgery at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia; 20 May.

James Franck, 81; professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Chicago; winner, with Gustav Hertz, of the 1925 Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of the laws governing the impact between electrons and atoms; 21 May.

Louis Alan Hazeltine, 77; former chairman of the physics department at Stevens Institute of Technology; 24 May.

Clarence E. Libby, 71; retired professor of pulp and paper technology at the North Carolina State College forestry school, Raleigh; 26 May.

William MacCarty, 83; professor emeritus of pathology at the Mayo Foundation graduate school, University of Minnesota: 17 May.

Frank Neumann, 72; retired seismologist at the University of Washington, Seattle; 22 May.

Leo Szilard, 66, a nuclear physicist instrumental in research on nuclear fission which led to the development of the atomic bomb, died in La Jolla, California 30 May. Following World War II he was actively involved in matters of arms control and disarmament and in promoting the peaceful uses of nuclear power. He helped organize the Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists. Dr. Szilard, professor of biophysics at the University of Chicago, since 1946, was appointed recently as a research associate at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla. He and Eugene Wigner shared the 1959 Atoms for Peace award for their part in the development of nuclear reactors.

Norman Treves. 70: associate professor emeritus of clinical surgery at Cornell Medical College and recently retired clinician in breast surgery at Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research; 17 May.

SCIENCE, VOL. 144