dustrial, research, and government organizations. Deadline: *I March 1963*. Associate Dean for Graduate Studies, State University College of Forestry at Syracuse University, Syracuse 10, N.Y.)

The American Library Association is accepting applications for the biennial Oberly Memorial award for the best **bibliography in the field of agriculture or the related sciences**. Points for judgment will include accuracy, scope, usefulness, format, and special features. Seven copies of the bibliography plus an accompanying letter should be submitted. Applicants for the award must be U.S. citizens. Deadline: 15 March. (Francis P. Allen, University of Rhode Island Library, Kingston, R.I.)

Travel grants are available from the American Institute of Nutrition for U.S. scientists who need financial aid to attend the 6th International Congress of **Nutrition** in Edinburgh, Scotland, 9–15 August. Recipients will be required to pay registration fees and all other expenses. Deadline for receipt of applications: 15 March. (A. E. Schaefer, Secretary, American Institute of Nutrition, Bldg. 16, NIH, Bethesda 14, Maryland)

The graduate school of arts and sciences, St. Johns University, Jamaica, N.Y., is offering assistantships and teaching fellowships in chemistry, biology, mathematics, pharmaceutical sciences, and physics. Stipends for assistantships are \$1800 to \$2000, plus tuition fees and an additional \$600 for summer sessions. Research assistantships carry \$2400 to \$3000 stipends, and tuition fees; teaching fellowship stipends are \$2000 to \$2400, with an additional \$600 for summer sessions. All are renewable, contingent upon scholarship and satisfactory service. (Rev. Joseph E. Hogan, Dean, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, St. Johns University, Grand Central and Utopia Parkways, Jamaica 32, N.Y.)

Applications are being accepted for the \$500 A. E. Bennett **neuropsychiatric research** award for recently accomplished and unpublished work by a young investigator. Part of the award is to be used for traveling expenses to the annual meeting of the Society of Biological Psychiatry. Deadline for receipt of manuscripts: 31 March. (Harold E. Himwich, Galesburg State Research Hospital, Galesburg, Ill.)

11 JANUARY 1963

Scientists in the News

Theodore von Karman, chairman of NATO's aeronautical research and development advisory group, has been named first recipient of the National Medal of Science, "for leadership in science and engineering of aeronautics." Von Karman was formerly director of the California Institute of Technology Guggenheim aeronautical laboratory.

At the University of Michigan:

Joseph T. Hartsook, professor in the school of dentistry, has become professor of pedodontia in the pediatrics department. He will hold both positions simultaneously.

James B. Lackey, of the University of Florida's department of civil engineering, has been named visiting professor of environmental health.

F. Albert Cotton, chemistry professor at M.I.T., has been named recipient of the 1963 Leo Hendrik Baekeland award. The award, sponsored by Union Carbide Plastics Co., and administered by the North Jersey section of the American Chemical Society, carries a \$1000 honorarium and a gold medal. It commemorates the technical and industrial achievements of Leo Hendrik Baekeland, and is conferred biennially upon an American chemist under 40 years of age "in recognition of accomplishments in pure or industrial chemistry."

Theodore O. Sippel, a researcher in the University of Michigan Medical School, department of anatomy, has been awarded the Fight for Sight Citation, presented by the National Council to Combat Blindness. The \$500 award was presented for his paper, "Respiration and glutathione in the growing rat lens."

Bernard D. Davis, head of the department of bacteriology and immunology at Harvard Medical School, has been named first Adele Lehman professor at Harvard's faculty of medicine.

James A. Perkins, vice president of the Carnegie Corporation, New York, and of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, last week was elected president of Cornell University. He is to take office 1 July, succeeding Deane W. Malott, who will become president emeritus. Lathan A. Crandall, Jr., former director of research at Miles Laboratories, has been appointed professor of clinical psychiatry at Tulane University. He will work at the Southeast Louisiana Hospital, Mandeville.

Michael J. S. Dewar, chemistry professor at the University of Chicago, has been appointed to the Robert A. Welch chair in chemistry at the University of Texas. He will join the university faculty for the September academic term.

Philip R. White, of the Roscoe B. Jackson Memorial Laboratory, has been named distinguished visiting professor of botany at Pennsylvania State University, for January to June 1963.

G. J. Goodrich, principal scientific officer in the ship division, National Physical Laboratory, Teddington, England, is working at the Webb Institute of Naval Architecture, Long Island, N.Y., until 1 April.

Recent Deaths

Clayton W. Botkin, 83: retired chemistry professor, New Mexico State University and former president, AAAS Rocky Mountain Division; 4 Dec.

Royal C. Bryant, 55; director of the electromechanical division, Atlantic Research Corp.; 27 Dec.

Howard Dellinger, 76; retired chief, Central Radio Propagation Laboratory of the National Bureau of Standards and pioneer in radio and telecommunications research; 29 Dec.

Guy S. Ford, 89; former president, University of Minnesota, and executive secretary, American Historical Association; 29 Dec.

John A. Kolmer, emeritus professor of medicine and director, Institute for Preventive Medicine and Public Health, Temple University; 11 Dec.

Otto Schubart, 62; biologist, Estação Experimental de Biologia e Piscucultura, Pirassununga, São Paulo, Brazil; 8 Nov.

Alexander V. Topchiev, 55; research chemist and vice president of the Academy of Sciences of the U.S.S.R.; 27 Dec.

Erratum: Acknowledgment is due the New York Academy of Sciences for permission to publish Figs. 2, 4, 5, and 6 in the report "Search for organized elements in carbonaceous chondrites," by E. Anders and F. W. Fitch [*Science* 138, 1392 (28 Dec. 1962)].