Scientists in the News

R. Huisgen, director of the Institute for Organic Chemistry at the University of Munich, will be the Baker Lecturer in Chemistry at Cornell University for the 1962 fall term.

James R. Balsley, assistant chief geologist at U.S. Geological Survey, has been named professor of geology at Wesleyan University.

At National Aeronautics and Space Administration:

Robert L. Barre, private consultant in operations research and economic development, has been appointed scientist for social, economic, and political studies in the Office of Plans and Program Evaluation.

Hugh L. Dryden, deputy administrator for NASA, will receive the 1963 John Fritz medal of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for his "scientific, engineering, and administrative leadership in all phases of aeronautics and of space exploration."

Edward T. Auer, associate professor of psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania, will become director of the department of neurology and psychiatry at St. Louis University in September.

Ira B. Whitney, former assistant director of the analytical division of the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission, New York, has joined the research and development division of the National Dairy Products Corporation, Glenview, Ill.

Rudolph N. Griesheimer, research director for the Mead Corporation, has been appointed senior physicist at Franklin Systems, a nuclear research and development company in West Palm Beach, Fla.

Ray L. Edwards, retired professor and chairman of the department of physics at Miami University, Oxford, Ohio, will serve as visiting professor of physics at Harvey Mudd College, Claremont, Calif., for the 1962–63 academic vear.

David V. Ragone, professor of metallurgical engineering at the University of Michigan, has been appointed chairman of the metallurgy department at General Dynamics Corporation's general atomic division, San Diego.

21 SEPTEMBER 1962

Andrew D. Suttle, Jr., director of the Mississippi Industrial and Technological Research Commission, has been appointed vice president for research at Texas A&M College.

Robert B. Edward, formerly with Olin Mathieson Chemical Corporation, has been appointed scientific director of Kremers-Urban, a pharmaceutical manufacturing company in Milwaukee.

Thomas J. Moran, director of laboratories for Presbyterian University Hospital, has resigned to become chief pathologist at Memorial Hospital, Danville, Va. He is succeeded by **Robert H. Fennell**, associate professor of pathology at the University of Pittsburgh.

Paul M. Newberne, animal pathologist at Auburn University, has been appointed associate professor in the department of nutrition at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Leo A. Adams, supervisor of analytical chemistry for the Austenal Company, Dover, N.J., has been named chief chemist at Metallurgical International Inc., Wallington, N.J.

John I. Peterson, a chemist with Melpar, Inc., Falls Church, Va., has been named supervisor of the physical analytical chemistry program at Woodard Research Corporation, Herndon, Va.

Donald G. Crosby, of Union Carbide Chemicals Company research department, South Charleston, W. Va., has been appointed chairman of the Pesticide Residue Research Laboratory at the University of California (Davis).

I. Murray Rossman, director of the Gowanda State Hospital, Helmuth, N.Y., has been appointed director of the new Bronx (N.Y.) State Hospital, scheduled to open in 1963.

James F. Hornig, of the University of California (Riverside), has been appointed associate professor of chemistry at Dartmouth College.

Abram S. Benenson, former director of the divisions of communicable disease and immunology at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Washington, D.C., is serving as director of the Pakistan-SEATO Cholera Research Laboratory, Dacca, East Pakistan. Henry M. Leicester, head of the department of physiological sciences at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, San Francisco, has received the American Chemical Society's \$1000 Dexter award for his "contributions to the advancement of the history of chemistry."

Edward K. Kaprelian, deputy director of research at the Army's Signal Research and Development Laboratory, Fort Monmouth, N.J., has been named technical director of the Army's recently established Limited War Laboratory, Aberdeen, Md.

Robert Shapiro, associate clinical professor of radiology at Yale University School of Medicine, has become professor of radiology at Harvard. He succeeds **Felix G. Fleischner**, who retired in 1960.

R. Byron Bird, professor of chemical engineering at the University of Wisconsin, is the 1962 recipient of the William H. Walker award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Austin G. Boldridge, formerly with Dumont Laboratories, has been named vice president and director of research for the newly formed Aerospace Electronics Division of Breeze Corporations, Inc., Union, N.J.

Otto E. Lobstein, visiting research professor at the University of Redlands (Calif.) department of chemistry, has opened the Lobstein Biochemical Laboratory in Santa Monica, Calif.

Carl W. Bruch, laboratory director for the Wilmot Castle Company, Rochester, N.Y., has been appointed chief microbiologist at Schwarz Laboratories, Inc., Mount Vernon, N.Y.

Curt R. Schneider, formerly with the National Academy of Sciences' Division of Medical Sciences, has joined the research staff of the Gorgas Memorial Laboratory, Panama.

Theodore J. Bauer, retired chief of the U.S. Public Health Service's Bureau of State Services, has become medical director of the Becton-Dickinson Company, Rutherford, N.J.

Erratum: In the report "Deoxyribonucleic acid mediates sensitization of penicillin-resistant *Staphylococcus*," by R. B. Nathanson [*Science* 135, 916 (1962)], the quantity of antiserum in the reaction mixture (last paragraph, column 2, line 3) should have been 0.05 ml, not 0.5 ml.