## Scientists in the News

Jean Rostand, French geneticist, science writer, and philosopher, has won the annual international Kalinga Prize for the popularization of science, which is administered by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. The prize of 1000 pounds sterling is offered by the Kalinga Foundation of Orissa, India. Its winner is selected by an international jury appointed by UNESCO. The purpose of the award is to offer recognition to leading interpreters of science and also to strengthen links between India and scientists of all nations.

Rostand, 66-year-old member of the Académie Française, is known for his work in genetics, based upon 30 years of experimentation with frogs and toads, and for his approximately 40 books. These are devoted to three major areas in addition to heredity and genetics—trends of scientific thought, natural history, and pure science.

Aage Bohr, professor at the Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, has been named the second recipient of the \$2500 Dannie Heineman Prize in Mathematical Physics, given by the American Physical Society and the American Institute of Physics in behalf of the Heineman Foundation. The award will be presented in Washington on 27 April during the dinner of the APS spring meeting.



Aage Bohr

M. Ingram and C. H. Lea, senior scientific officers of the Low Temperature Research Station, Cambridge, England, will arrive in the United States on 9 May to present papers at the San Francisco meeting of the Institute of Food Technology, 15–19 May. Ingram will also visit Washington, Chicago, Urbana (Ill.), Ann Arbor (Mich.), and Corvallis (Ore.) before returning to England on 8 June. Lea plans to visit Washington, New York, Minneapolis, Tallahassee (Fla.), and Davis (Calif.) before his return on 28 May.

Aden B. Meinel, director of the Kitt Peak National Observatory, has resigned to return to research activities as an associate director in charge of the stellar and space divisions. C. D. Shane, president of AURA, Inc., is acting director of the observatory.

Edmunds Grey Dimond, professor and chairman of the department of medicine and director of the cardiovascular laboratory at the University of Kansas Medical Center, has been named director of the Heart-Lung Institute and head of the division of cardiology at the Scripps Clinic and Research Foundation, La Jolla, Calif.

John P. Craven, former contract research administrator at the Department of the Navy's David Taylor Model Basin, Montgomery County, Md., is now chief scientist in the special projects office of the Department of the Navy, Washington, D.C. Marshall C. Harrington, former head of the fluid dynamics branch at the Basin, has succeeded Craven.

M. R. J. Salton, of the department of bacteriology of the University of Manchester, will discuss microbial cell walls when he delivers the 1960 CIBA lectures in microbial biochemistry at the Institute of Microbiology, Rutgers University, on 25, 26, and 27 April.

Clifford C. Furnas, chancellor of the University of Buffalo and former Assistant Defense Secretary for research, was named chairman of the Army Scientific Advisory Panel on 5 April.

Hugh C. Wolfe, head of the physics department at Cooper Union School of Engineering, has been named director of publications of the American Institute of Physics, effective 1 August.

M. Stanley Livingston, professor of physics at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, received the Glover Memorial Award, a symbol of the Glover Lectureship, from Dickinson College on 8 April. As 1960 lecturer, Livingston's topic is "Beyond Nuclear Physics."

## **Recent Deaths**

Franz A. Colmers, Stamford, Conn.; 84; German-born New York surgeon who taught and conducted research in traumatic surgery before he emigrated to this country in 1936; 12 Apr.

Donald J. Hughes, Upton, N.Y.; 45; internationally known specialist in neutron physics, senior physicist at Brookhaven National Laboratory, and a member of the AAAS editorial board; former director of the nuclear physics division at Argonne National Laboratory, where he and his co-workers originated the method of measuring neutron interactions that was later the basis for G. Gamow's theory of the elements, and that was applied in the design of breeder reactors; member of the group at the University of Chicago that developed the first atomic bomb, 1943-45; was responsible for the compilation and editing of Neutron Cross Sections, now a standard source book: 12 Apr.

J. Warren Lee, Baton Rouge, La.; 51; protozoologist and chairman of the department of biology at Southern University since 1941; 1 Apr.

Sir Archibald Hector McIdoe, London, England; 59; internationally known plastic surgeon who had been honored by Czechoslovakia, Poland, the Netherlands, and France; 12 Apr.

William Sharpe, St. Petersburg, Fla.; 82; director of neurosurgery and neurology at the Manhattan General Hospital; developed treatments for cerebral-palsied and retarded children; a founder of the Pan-American Medical Association; 29 Mar.

Erratum. In the news article about the Satellite Pioneer V [Science 131, 815 (18 Mar. 1960)] it is incorrectly stated (p. 816, col. 2) that rechargeable mercury batteries are used in the vehicle. The batteries are sintered-plate, hermetically sealed nickel-cadmium batteries manufactured by the Sonotone Corporation.

Erratum. The address of the American Institute of Biological Sciences is 2000 P.S. NW. Weeh

Erratum. The address of the American Institute of Biological Sciences is 2000 P St., NW, Washington 6, D.C., rather than 200 P St., as shown in the news item "High-school biology" [Science 131, 977 (1 Apr. 1960)].

Erratum. The Society for American

Erratum. The Society for American Archeology will meet 5-7 May in New Haven, Conn., not in Salt Lake City, Utah, as is stated in "Forthcoming events" in recent issues.