## Scientists in the News

The winners of the American Heart Association's 1959 Howard W. Blakeslee Awards are as follows:

Ben Pearse, free-lance writer, for two articles in the Saturday Evening Post: "The Pill with the Built-in Surprise," published 4 October 1958, and describing the use of the new drug chlorothiazide in the treatment of heart failure, kidney disease, and high blood pressure; and "Spare Parts for Defective Hearts," published 30 August 1958, and relating to the development of plastic materials for use in treating improperly operating heart valves.

"Open-heart surgery," a CBS-TV film presented a part of the Conquest series on 9 March 1958. It showed the teamwork of Walton Lillehei and his associates in open-heart surgery on a 6-year-old girl at the University of Minnesota Medical School. The program was sponsored by Monsanto Chemical Company.

"Operation tracer," a television program in the Heart of a Child series, presented by WBBM-TV, Chicago, which began 9 June 1958. It described a disease-protection program through which a child was safeguarded from rheumatic fever and possible rheumatic heart disease.

Each of the winners received an honorarium of \$500.

Owen T. Gribbin, product development manager with Standard Brands, Inc., Sherburne, N.Y., has been named chief food chemist with Foster D. Snell, Inc., New York.

Scientific visitors to the United States from the United Kingdom include the following:

- J. S. Garside, senior principal scientific officer on the staff of the Houghton Poultry Research Station (Agricultural Research Council), arrived 15 October and will leave 25 November. His itinerary includes: Canada, California, Michigan, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and New Jersey.
- E. Orr, senior scientific officer of the Economics Division at the Tropical Products Institute, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, London, arrived 11 October and will leave 30 October. Her itinerary includes Washington, D.C., and San Francisco.
- H. E. Newall, principal scientific officer, Warren Spring Laboratory, Department of Scientific and Industrial Re-

search, London, arrived 6 October and will leave 28 October. His itinerary includes: Washington, D.C., Pennsylvania, Ohio, Illinois, Utah, California, Tennessee, and New York.

Frank Manov, senior technical staff member at Space Technology Laboratories, has been appointed supervisor of a newly formed satellite and space defense studies group at Electro-Optical Systems, Inc., Pasadena, Calif.

**B. H. Colvin**, mathematician of the Physical Research Unit at Boeing Airplane Company, has been appointed head of the Mathematics Research Laboratory, Boeing Scientific Research Laboratories, Seattle, Wash.

Rev. Placidus Reischman has been appointed head of the department of biology at St. Martin's College, Olympia, Wash.

The National Science Foundation has appointed the following new program directors in its Division of Biological and Medical Science:

Roy P. Forster, on leave of absence as professor of zoology at Dartmouth College, has been appointed program director for regulatory biology. He will administer research grants for the study of regulative processes in organs and organ systems.

**Dwight D. Miller**, on leave of absence as professor of zoology at the University of Nebraska, has been appointed program director for genetic biology. He will administer research grants for study of the nature, action, and transmission of genes and chromosomes in individuals, families, and populations of living organisms.

Meredith N. Runner, research scientist with the Roscoe B. Jackson Memorial Laboratory, has been appointed program director for developmental biology. He will administer grants for the study of plant and animal embryology, fertilization, morphogenesis, differentiation, growth, regeneration, and physiology of reproduction.

Francis J. Reithel, on leave of absence as professor and head of the department of chemistry at the University of Oregon, has become program director for molecular biology. He will administer grants studying the structure and reactivity of biologically important macromolecules such as proteins, nucleotides, and hormones, as well as various aspects of physical biology.

Edwin J. Wellhausen, director of the Rockefeller Foundation's agricultural program in Mexico, has been appointed associate director for the agricultural sciences. In his new position he will direct the foundation's recently created inter-American corn improvement program, which will chiefly involve research in Latin America.

The recipients of the 1960 awards of the American Chemical Society include the following:

Herbert C. Brown, professor of chemistry at Purdue University—ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, sponsored by the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturers Association.

Charles D. Coryell, professor of chemistry at Massachusetts Institute of Technology—ACS Award for Nuclear Applications in Chemistry, sponsored by the Nuclear—Chicago Corporation.

E. L. Jack, professor of dairy industry at the University of California, Davis—ACS Award in the Chemistry of Milk, sponsored by the Borden Company Foundation, Inc.

Elias J. Corey, professor of chemistry at Harvard University—ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, sponsored by Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity.

Arthur F. Scott, professor of chemistry at Reed College—Scientific Apparatus Makers Award in Chemical Education.

Neal R. Amundson, professor and head of the department of chemical engineering at the University of Minnesota—ACS Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry, sponsored by the Esso Research and Engineering Company.

Arthur B. Pardee, associate professor of biochemistry and virology, University of California, Berkeley—Paul-Lewis Laboratories Award in Enzyme Chemistry.

James D. Watson, associate professor of biochemistry at Harvard University
—Eli Lilly and Company Award in Biological Chemistry.

Robert W. Taft, Jr., professor of chemistry at the Pennsylvania State University—ACS Award in Petroleum Chemistry, sponsored by Precision Scientific Company.

P. J. Elving, professor of chemistry at the University of Michigan—Fisher Award in Analytical Chemistry.

The presentation of the awards will take place at the spring meeting of the association in Cleveland, Ohio.