York Botanical Garden, New York 58, N.Y.

Public health. Nominations for the sixth Kimble Methodology Research Award are being accepted until 1 June. This award, made in recognition of the application of scientific knowledge in the public health laboratory, was established by the Kimble Glass Company of Toledo, Ohio (subsidiary of the Owens-Illinois Glass Company) and is sponsored by the Conference of State and Provincial Public Health Laboratory Directors. The cash award of \$1000 and silver plaque will be presented at the annual meeting of the Conference, to be held in Atlantic City, N.J., in October 1959.

To be considered for nomination, a candidate should have done work which is either (i) a fundamental contribution that serves as a base line for development of diagnostic methods which fall within the province of the public health laboratory, or (ii) the adaptation of a fundamental contribution to make it of use in a diagnostic laboratory. For information, write to E. T. Bynoe, Chairman Nominating Committee, Kimble Award, Laboratory of Hygiene, Department of National Health and Welfare, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Steroid biochemistry. The fourth session of the Training Program for Steroid Biochemistry, sponsored by the U.S. Public Health Service, will begin on 1 October. Applications are invited at the postdoctoral level for a 1-year tenure with a stipend of \$5500. The program consists of lectures, planned laboratory, and 8 months of research at the Worcester Foundation for Experimental Biology and Clark University or the University of Utah. Inquiries should be addressed to William R. Ness, Department of Chemistry, Worcester, Mass., or to Kristen Eik-Nes, College of Medicine, University of Utah, Salt Lake City. A predoctoral program also will be carried out in Worcester, with stipends of \$1800 for 6 months. All applications must be received before 1 June.

Scientists in the News

CHARLES L. WISSEMAN, JR., professor of microbiology and head of the department at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, left on 19 April for a month in Tokyo, where he will work with Japanese investigators at the Japanese National Institute of Health on immunization problems involving dengue fever and related viruses.

LAURENCE PICKEN, assistant director of research in zoology at the University of Cambridge, England, and a fellow of Jesus College, has been appointed Walker Ames professor of zool-

ogy at the University of Washington for the spring semester. He will present a series of graduate seminars entitled "Topics in Biological Organization."

Seventeen awards for outstanding contributions to chemistry and chemical engineering, most of them for \$1000, were presented at the American Chemical Society's 135th national meeting.

HERMANN I. SCHLESINGER of the University of Chicago has received the Priestley Medal, highest honor in chemistry in the United States.

DORÓTHY V. NIGHTINGALE of the University of Missouri department of chemistry has received the Garvan Medal for outstanding service to chemistry by a woman chemist.

ALTON L. BLAKESLEE, science writer for the Associated Press, New York, has received the James T. Grady Award for distinguished reporting of chemical progress.

JOHN P. MIXNER, professor of dairy husbandry at Rutgers State University, has received the 1959 New York Farmers Award. The \$500 prize is awarded to a resident of Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, or New York, for outstanding achievement in the field of agriculture.

B. J. MASON, professor at the Imperial College of London and research fellow of the Royal Society, will spend this summer and fall in the department of meteorology at the University of California, Los Angeles, as visiting professor and research meteorologist.

Five American scientists, members of a biochemistry delegation, left this country on 25 April for a 4-week visit to the U.S.S.R. The trip was arranged by the Public Health Service under the U.S.-U.S.S.R. Exchange Program. Members of the delegation are HERBERT CAR-TER, head, department of chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana; KON-RAD E. BLOCH, professor of biochemistry, Harvard University; ARTHUR KORNBERG, professor of microbiology, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis; ALBERT L. LEHNINGER, chairman, department of physiological chemistry, Johns Hopkins University; and BERNARD D. DAVIS, professor of bacteriology, Harvard Medical School.

RALPH A. SAWYER, professor of physics and dean of the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies at the University of Michigan, has been named chairman of the governing board of the American Institute of Physics. He succeeds FREDERICK SEITZ, professor of physics at the University of Illinois.

SHINYA INOUE, associate professor of biology at the University of Rochester, has been appointed professor of cytology and chairman of the department at Dartmouth Medical School. WAYNE THORNBURG of the department of anatomy at the University of Washington School of Medicine will join Dartmouth Medical School as associate professor of cytology.

DONALD H. FLEMING, formerly professor of history at Brown University and a specialist on the impact of science on American thought, will become professor of history at Harvard University, effective 1 July.

WILBUR A. THOMAS, associate professor of pathology at Washington University School of Medicine, has been named chairman of the department of pathology at Albany Medical College and pathologist in chief at Albany Hospital, effective 1 July. He will succeed ARTHUR W. WRIGHT, who has been department chairman for 25 years. Wright will continue as professor of pathology and as an active member of the department.

ROBERT E. ZINN, senior chemical engineer with Vern E. Alden Company, Chicago, and professor of chemical engineering on leave of absence at Northwestern University, has joined the senior staff of Arthur D. Little, Inc., Cambridge, Mass.

LOUIS L. RUSOFF, dairy nutritionist at Louisiana State University, has been awarded the Coates Memorial Award of the American Chemical Society and American Institute of Chemical Engineers. The prize is awarded to the outstanding chemist or chemical engineer in the Baton Rouge area.

STANFIELD ROGERS, director of the Memorial Research Center at the University of Tennessee, has received the third annual \$1000 award of the American Society for Experimental Pathology.

PARKHURST A. SHORE, head of the section on biochemistry of drug action, Laboratory of Pharmacology, National Heart Institute, Bethesda, Md., recently received the John Jacob Abel Prize for the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics. The \$1000 award is sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company.

I. E. WALLEN, foreign training officer in the Atomic Energy Commission's Division of International Affairs, has joined the commission's Division of Biology and Medicine as aquatic biologist in the environmental sciences branch.