professor of preventive medicine and epidemiology. Ingalls will direct a Kellogg Foundation research project aimed at evaluation of periodic health examinations for the early detection and prevention of chronic diseases.

In addition, he will develop projects for evaluating radiation hazards, and for the control of congenital defects. As part of this program, a registry of inherited and acquired abnormalities will be instituted at the new West Philadelphia Health Center. A clinical registry of congenital anomalies, or defects, will also be maintained for counseling purposes.

ROBERT B. HOWARD has succeeded HAROLD S. DIEHL, as dean of the University of Minnesota's College of Medical Sciences. Diehl has retired after holding the deanship since 1935. He has accepted an appointment with the American Cancer Society as senior vice president for research and medical affairs and deputy executive vice president.

CHARLES W. BUGGS, professor of microbiology in the Howard University College of Medicine, became head of the department of microbiology on 1 July.

The American Society for Engineering Education has honored four engineering educators for their outstanding contributions in teaching and research.

LINTON E. GRINTER, dean of the Graduate School and director of research at the University of Florida, received the Lammé Medal for distinguished service in engineering education.

WILLIS W. HARMAN, professor of electrical engineering at Stanford University, received the \$1000 George Westinghouse Prize, which is given to a young teacher of outstanding ability.

HUNTER ROUSE, director of the Institute of Hydraulic Research at the State University of Iowa, received the Vincent Bendix Award for outstanding research contributions.

CEDOMIR M. SLIEPCEVICH, head of the department of chemical engineering and associate dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Oklahoma, received the \$1000 Curtis W. McGraw Award, which is given to an outstanding young college research worker.

The Scientific Committee of the National Neurological Research Foundation has announced that three men have been named National Neurological Research Foundation scientists and will receive awards of from \$10,000 to \$12,000 a year for 5 years. These unusual awards mark the first time (except in Government) that basic research has been united in the following areas: multiple sclerosis, Parkinson's syndrome, amyo-

trophic lateral sclerosis, muscular dystrophy, cerebral palsy, and epilepsy. The award recipients are: MICHAEL V. L. BENNETT, research associate, department of neurology, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University; BYRON H. WAKSMAN, assistant professor of bacteriology and immunology, Harvard Medical School, and associate bacteriologist, Neurology Service, Massachusetts General Hospital; and DIXON M. WOODBURY, associate research professor of pharmacology, University of Utah College of Medicine.

The National Neurological Research Foundation, founded in 1956, is a nonendowed, voluntary, tax-exempt organization with headquarters at 3255 N St., NW, Washington, D.C.

ELI LILLY, chairman of the board of directors of Eli Lilly and Company, has been selected by the past presidents of the American Pharmaceutical Association to become the recipient of the 1958 award of the Remington Honor Medal. He will be the 35th recipient of this medal, which was established by the New York Branch of the American Pharmaceutical Association in 1918, to be presented annually to the individual who has done most for American pharmacy in the previous year, or whose continuing contributions to the advancement of the profession over a period of years have been most outstanding.

NOBUHIKO SAITO and TSUNE-NOBU YAMAMOTO of Japan will be visiting professors of chemistry at the University of Oregon, Eugene, during 1958-59. Saito is an assistant professor in the department of applied physics, Waseda University. Yamamoto is professor of chemistry at the University of Kyoto. Both are working in solid-state physics and theoretical chemistry.

JOSEPHINE M. GLEASON has retired from her post as professor of psychology at Vassar College.

TROY L. PEWE, staff geologist, Alaskan Geology Branch, U.S. Geological Survey, and associate professor of geology at the University of Alaska, recently returned to College, Alaska, after spending a season in Antarctica. Péwé was in charge of a glacial geology party of the U.S. National Committee of the International Geophysical Year. He served in the McMurdo Sound area, where observations were made with regard to Quaternary glacial chronology, permafrost, and polygonal ground.

H. LUBINSKI of Jewish General Hospital, Montreal, Canada, has been named emeritus professor of bacteriology by the government of the Federated Republic of West Germany.

ROBERT L. STUBBINGS, research associate professor of chemistry at Lehigh University, is this year's recipient of the Alsop Award of the American Leather Chemists Association. He was selected for "making science and research a useful tool for the tanner."

Recent Deaths

KURT ALDER, Cologne, Germany; 55; former director of research with I. G. Farben, Cologne, Germany; named professor at Kiel University in 1934 and director of the Chemical Institute at the University of Cologne in 1940; one of the 18 Nobel Prize winners who in 1955 signed a declaration warning against a nuclear catastrophe; 20 June.

HALBERT P. GILLETTE, Los Angeles, Calif.; 88; engineer and hydrologist; founder and president of the Gillette Publishing Company of Chicago; performed research on rain and earthquake cycles; 18 June.

SETH G. HESS, New York, N.Y.; 65; director and chief engineer of the Interstate Sanitation Commission; taught at the graduate school of New York University; 18 June.

ALMA E. HILLER, Lynbrook, N.Y.; 66; associate professor of biological chemistry at the Medical College of the University of Illinois until her retirement in 1957; biochemist at the hospital of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research in New York 1918-48; author of a textbook, Practical Clinical Chemisty; 19 June.

JAROSLAV H. HULKA, Queens, N.Y.; 64; director of the opthalmology department of St. John's Hospital, Long Island City; associate surgeon at the Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital; established in 1947 an ophthalmology clinic in Czechoslovakia under the American relief program; author of Statistics of Tuberculosis in Czechoslovakia and Medicine in America; 18 June.

UMPHREY LEE, Dallas, Tex.; 65; chancellor emeritus of the Southern Methodist University and president from 1938 to 1954; 23 June.

ROBERT M. LEWIS, New Haven, Conn.; 72; associate clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the Yale University School of Medicine, from 1925 until his retirement in 1954; 20 June.

JOHN A. MACDONALD, Interlaken, N.Y.; 81; emeritus professor of clinical Medicine at the Indiana University School of Medicine; 18 June.

J. LOUIS RANSOHOFF, Cincinnati, Ohio; 78; professor of clinical surgery in the College of Medicine at the University of Cincinnati and director of surgery at the Jewish Hospital in Cincinnati; practiced surgery for more than a halfcentury; 17 June.