Scientists in the News

A Festschrift of scientific articles on medical radiology has been published to honor ROBERT R. NEWELL, who recently became emeritus professor of radiology at Stanford Medical School. More than 20 articles contributed by some 30 colleagues and former students of Newell are contained in a special issue of the Stanford Medical Bulletin (August 1957), which also includes a paper on radiation hazards by Newell himself.

Newell retired this fall after 37 years as a member of the Medical School faculty. He was a former head of Stanford's department of radiology, and early this year received the gold medal of the American College of Radiology, the organization's highest honor.

MORRIS S. MACOVSKY has resigned as head of the fluid dynamics branch in the Hydromechanics Laboratory of the David Taylor Model Basin, Washington, D.C., to accept a position as consulting specialist, systems engineering, Sunnyvale, Calif.

MARSHALL C. HARRINGTON, who prior to joining the David Taylor Model Basin 2 years ago was head of the department of physics at Drew University, has been appointed as Macovsky's successor.

JOHN R. GREGG, formerly of Columbia University, has been appointed associate professor of zoology at Duke University. He succeeds GEORGE W. NACE, who has accepted a position in the zoology department of the University of Michigan.

RAGNAR FANGE of the department of zoophysiology, University of Lund, Sweden, will spend a year at Duke working on problems of water balance and salt metabolism as a research associate of Knut Schmidt-Nielsen.

DONALD J. FLUKE, who is at present a research associate in the Donner Laboratory, Berkeley, Calif., and who is on leave from Brookhaven National Laboratory, has been appointed associate professor of zoology at Duke, effective 1 Feb. 1958. During the academic year he will be in charge of the zoological department's training program in biophysics; in the summer he will direct the radiation biology course for high school teachers that is offered annually at the Duke University Marine Laboratory.

CLARENCE M. ZENER, director of research at Westinghouse, will receive the Bingham Medal of the Society of Rheology during its 1957 annual meeting in Princeton, N.J., 7–9 November. Zener is being honored for his work on the viscoelastic behavior of metals.

RAY Q. BREWSTER, research chemist who has taught at the University of Kansas for 38 years, has won the 1957 Midwest Award of the American Chemical Society's St. Louis Section "for his achievements as an outstanding educator, a counselor of students, a research director, an administrator, a textbook writer and as an ambassador of chemistry."

JACK H. SCHULMAN of Cambridge University, England, is the first incumbent of Columbia University's newly established Stanley-Thompson chair of chemical metallurgy. The chair, which has been endowed by the International Nickel Company, honors two alumni of Columbia's School of Mines—ROBERT C. STANLEY, who was chairman of the Board and chief officer of International Nickel until his death in 1951, and JOHN F. THOMPSON, chairman of the board and chief officer since that time

LEWIS THOMAS has been named professor and chairman of the department of medicine in the New York University College of Medicine and director of the Third Medical Division of New York City's Bellevue Hospital Center. The appointment will become effective with the retirement of WILLIAM S. TILLETT at the close of the 1957–58 academic year. At present Thomas is professor and chairman of the department of pathology, a position he has held since he jointed the N.Y.U. faculty in 1954.

ALEX G. OBLAD, oil chemist, has been elected vice president in charge of research and development activities for the M. W. Kellogg Company, New York. The company is known for the engineering, design, and construction of oil refineries and petrochemical plants and processing units and has long been a leader in petroleum refining research.

ROBERT D. COGHILL, an organic chemist who formerly was director of research for Abbott Laboratories, Chicago, Ill., has been appointed special assistant for industrial research at the Cancer Chemotherapy National Service Center, National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, Md. Within the past year industry has greatly increased its participation in the national cancer chemotherapy program sponsored by Government and nonprofit agencies. The National Cancer Institute shares expenses with industry through contracts. Coghill will assume responsibility for all of these contracts and for recommending solutions to problems arising from cooperative research involving the National Cancer Institute, industrial firms, and investigators in academic institutions.

ARTHUR KNUDSON recently returned to this country after a 2-year assignment in Indonesia, where he was visiting professor of biochemistry at the University of Indonesia under the University of California's University of Indonesia Project in Medical Education. Knudson has already gone back to Indonesia for another 2-year assignment. He will be with the University of Kentucky Project as professor of biochemistry, aiding in the agricultural and veterinary science program at the University of Indonesia in Bogor.

ALBERT E. WHITFORD, director of the Washburn Observatory at the University of Wisconsin, has been named director of the University of California's Lick Observatory, effective 1 July 1958. He succeeds C. D. SHANE, who has been director since 1945 and who will continue at Mount Hamilton in the position of astronomer. Shane is retiring from the directorship in order to devote full time to a special research program that he has carried on for a number of years in connection with Lick's new 120-inch telescope.

For 12 years Shane has devoted a large part of his time to the task of bringing the 120-inch telescope to completion. This instrument, the second largest telescope in the world, is scheduled to begin operation soon after the first of the year.

GEOFFREY F. CHEW, formerly of the University of Illinois, and KEN-NETH M. WATSON, formerly of the University of Wisconsin, have been appointed full professors in the department of physics at the University of California, Berkeley.

AMOS J. SHALER, professor and head of the metallurgy department at Pennsylvania State University, is the 1957 winner of the annual \$2000 Metallurgy Teaching Award that is given by the American Society for Metals for the best teaching performance on the part of a young instructor or professor in this engineering curriculum.

WILLIAM J. LACY, supervisory chemist, formerly of the Engineer Research and Development Laboratories, Fort Belvoir, Va., has been appointed to the research staff of the Health Physics Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, which is operated by Union Carbide Nuclear Company.

HANS F. WINTERKORN, professor of civil engineering at Princeton University, recently received the Federal Republic of Germany's Cross of Merit, first class, in a ceremony at Princeton. The cross was presented by the German consul general, D. Adolph Reifferscheidt.