18th annual meeting. More than 40 authorities will address the representatives of the 360 member companies of the Foundation. They will present new material in the field of industrial health, and will lead discussions that afford a valuable exchange of information on specific problems encountered in a wide variety of industries.

The Interamerican Society of Psychology (sIp) has been invited by the Dominican Republic to celebrate its first meeting from Dec. 10 to 20 at the University of Santo Domingo, the oldest University of the Americas. Sixty delegates from all of the American countries, among them 15 representatives of the United States and Canada, will be guests at the Hotel Jaragua in Ciudad Trujillo.

There will be 5 general inter-American round-table discussions: (1) tasks and limits of psychological disciplines; (2) the professional and legal situation of the psychologist; (3) the present state of psychology in the various countries of the Americas; (4) psychology of culture and of values; and (5) controversial problems of psychology, education, and psychiatry. Delegates will be asked to present papers which will be published. Applications of citizens of the United States and Canada for membership in the sIp should be sent, accompanied by a curriculum vitae in triplicate, to Werner Wolff, vice president of the sIp, Dept. of Psychology, Bard College, Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y.

During the 19th International Physiological Congress at Montreal a meeting open to all pharmacologists attending the Congress was held at McGill University. At this meeting, it was decided to set up a council of seven members from seven different nations, to look after the interests of pharmacologists in future international congresses, to explore the possibility and desirability of affiliating with the newly formed International Union of Physiological Sciences, to collect and distribute information about the activities of pharmacological organizations, and to perform such other functions as might seem necessary and advisable. The following council members elected: Daniel Bovet, Italy; J. H. Burn, England; C. Heymans, Belgium; K. O. Möller, Denmark; E. Rothlin, Switzerland; C. F. Schmidt, USA; and H. Weese, Germany. This council subsequently selected Dr. Heymans as president, Dr. Schmidt as secretary. and adopted the name International Council of Pharmacologists.

The Mycological Society of America has elected the following officers for 1953-54: pres., Leland Shanor, University of Illinois; v. pres., Donald P. Rogers, New York Botanical Garden; sec.-treas., C. J. Alexopoulos, Michigan State College (for 3-year term). Representatives to the AAAS Council are Wesley G. Hutchinson, Laboratory of Microbiology, University of Pennsylvania and Grant D. Darker, Ben Venue Laboratories, Bedford, Ohio. William W. Diehl, Division of Mycology, Plant Industry Station, Beltsville,

Md., has been appointed to replace Dr. Hutchinson on the Council beginning Jan. 1, 1954.

The National Shellfisheries Association has elected the following officers for 1953-54: pres., A. F. Chestnut, Institute of Fisheries Research, Moorhead City, N.C.; v. pres., G. Francis Beaven, Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, Solomons, Md.; sec.-treas., M. R. Carriker, Dept. of Zoology, Rutgers University.

The Texas Academy of Science will hold its annual meeting, as guests of the Medical Branch of the University of Texas at Galveston on Dec. 3-5. The Collegiate Division and the Junior Academy will meet with the Senior Section.

Miscellaneous

Recent visitors from abroad at the National Bureau of Standards:

Severino Parientes, Sales Manager, Clay Products Company, Panama.

Frederic G. Foster, Statistician, University of London, London, England.

Masashi Hom-ma, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, Tokyo University, Tokyo, Japan.

Fojiro Ishihara, Professor, Civil Engineering Department, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan.

H. J. Schoemaker, Associate Director, Hydraulic Laboratory, Delft, The Netherlands.

Umberto Colombo, Research Chemist, Montecatini Chemical Company, Nouara, Italy.

Wilfred Abson, Harwell Laboratory, Harwell, England.

Denis Taylor, Director of Electronic Division, Harwell Laboratory, Harwell, England.

Toshimitsu Murasaki, Instructor in Aeronautics, Tokyo University, Tokyo, Japan.

Evert Aulin, Aktiebolaget Gas Accumulator, Lidingo, Sweden.

Maurice V. Wilkes, Director, The University Mathematical Laboratory, University of Cambridge, Cambridge, England.

D. I. Lawson, Assistant Director, Fire Research Station, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Hertz, England.

Rolando Salvadorini, Research Laboratory, Radio Italiana, Torino, Italy.

Ikhtiar-ul-Mulk, Chief Research Officer, Government of Pakistan, Karachi.

Saburo Muroga, Research Engineer, Nippon Telephone and Telegraph Corporation, Tokyo, Japan.

Chujoe Yamanaka, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan. Jamished Maneshka, Deputy Director of the India Supply Mission, Lahore, Pakistan.

Erratum: In News and Notes, Sept. 25, there was an error in the listing of the officers of The Kansas Academy of Science. D. J. Ameel, Head of the Department of Zoology, Kansas State College, is vice president, and C. A. Rogerson, Assistant Professor of Botany, Kansas State College, is secretary.