

Gladys M. Keener Executive Editor

## AAAS EDITORIAL BOARD

(Terms expire June 30, 1952)

Howard A. Meyerhoff, Chairman

William R. Amberson Karl Lark-Horovitz
Bentley Glass Lorin J. Mullins

Malcolm H. Soule

F. A. Moulton, Advertising Representative

## AAAS Administration

THE July 6 issue, the first in volume 114 of Scitures and the Association committees. The persistence of a few members in addressing letters to officers long since retired and to addresses no longer valid will probably continue, but the Washington office will try to provide a directory of key personnel at frequent intervals. The list of general, or elected, officers may be found on page 3 (advertising section) of the January 5 issue of Science. Administrative officers are:

In Washington at 1515 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.:

Administrative Secretary, Howard A. Meyerhoff Assistant Administrative Secretary, Raymond L. Taylor Business Manager, Hans Nussbaum Executive Editor, Gladys M. Keener

## Section Secretaries:

Section A (Mathematics): Raymond W. Brink, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn.

Section B (Physics): F. S. Brackett, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.

Section C (Chemistry): Edward F. Degering, 939 West Sunnyside, Chicago 40, Ill.

Section D (Astronomy): Frank K. Edmondson, Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind.

Section E (Geology and Geography): Leland Horberg, University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill.

Section F (Zoological Sciences): J. H. Bodine, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa.

Section G (Botanical Sciences): Stanley A. Cain, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Section H (Anthropology): Marian W. Smith, Columbia University, New York, N. Y.

Section I (Psychology): Delos D. Wickens, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Section K (Social and Economic Sciences): Conrad Taeuber, Bureau of the Census, Washington, D. C.

Section L (History and Philosophy of Science): Raymond J. Seeger, Bureau of Ordnance, Navy Department, Washington, D. C.

Section M (Engineering): Frank D. Carvin, Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Ill.

Section N (Medical Sciences):

Subsection Nm (Medicine): Gordon K. Moe, University of Syracuse, New York.

Subsection Nd (Dentistry): Russell W. Bunting, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Subsection Np (Pharmacy): Glenn L. Jenkins, Purdue University, Lafayette, Ind.

Section O (Agriculture): C. E. Millar, Michigan State College, East Lansing, Mich.

Section P (Industrial Science): N. V. Hendricks, Esso Laboratories, Linden, N. J.

Section Q (Education): Dean A. Worcester, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, Neb.

The work of the several committees is directed by the Executive Committee, comprising the three presidents, the Administrative Secretary, and eight members elected by the Council (Science, 113, 3 [advertising section January 5, 1951). Efficiency within the Executive Committee is enhanced by means of subcommittees—namely, Budget (Kirtley F. Mather, chairman), Building (Roger Adams, chairman), Publications (Fernandus Payne, chairman). Other Association committees, charged with important tasks, include Finance (Frederick P. H. Siddons, chairman); Affiliation and Association (Malcolm H. Soule, chairman); Bylaws and Constitution (Kirtley F. Mather, chairman); Evaluation of Scientific Merit (Paul B. Sears, chairman); AAAS-George Westinghouse Science Writing Awards (Howard A. Meyerhoff, chairman); Thousand Dollar Prize (John R. Dunning, 1950 chairman); Theobald Smith Award (Malcolm H. Soule, chairman); Symposia at the Philadelphia Meeting (Kirtley F. Mather, chairman); World Federation of Associations for the Advancement of Science (Kirtley F. Mather, chairman); Relations with Scientific Organizations (Roger Adams, chairman). Between Executive Committee meetings an Emergency Committee consisting of the three presidents acts on matters requiring prompt attention.

SCIENCE, founded in 1880, is published each Friday by the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the Business Press, 10 McGovern Ave., Lancaster, Pa. Entered as second-class matter at the Post Office at Lancaster, Pa., January 13, 1948, under the Act of March 3, 1879. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate postage provided for in the Act of February 28, 1925, embodied in Paragraph (d-2) Section 34.40 P. L. & R. of 1948.

All correspondence should be sent to SCIENCE, 1515 Massachusetts Ave., N.W., Washington 5, D. C. The AAAS assumes no responsibility for the safety of manuscripts or for the opinions expressed by contributors. Four weeks'

notice is required for change of address, and an address stencil label from a recent issue must be furnished. Claims for a missing number will be allowed only if received within 60 days from date of issue.

Annual subscriptions, \$7.50; single copies, \$.25; foreign postage, outside the Pan-American Union, \$1.00; Canadian postage, \$.50. Special rates to members of the AAAS.

The AAAS also publishes THE SCIENTIFIC MONTHLY. Subscription and advertising rates on request.