Science Legislation

Statement Concerning S. 1850

Committee Supporting the Bush Report

On behalf of the 5,000 scientists and others who signed or endorsed our letter to the President dated November 24, 1945, we appeal to the Congress to enact S. 1850, the National Science Foundation Bill introduced February 21, 1946, by Senators Kilgore, Magnuson, Johnson, Pepper, Fulbright, Saltonstall, Thomas, and Ferguson, and recently reported out with approval by a majority of the Senate Committee on Military Affairs. (*Science*, 1946, **103**, 192; 382.)

For the reasons stated in the Bush Report and in the Report on Science Legislation of the Committee on Military Affairs, we are in favor of Federal support for scientific research and education. We are in favor of a National Science Foundation. We are satisfied that, given appointments by the President to the National Science Board solely on the basis of demonstrated capacity and fitness, the Foundation described in S. 1850 will promote and protect the interests of science and will thus serve the public welfare.

While S. 1850 is a compromise, it is a compromise on which most scientists have agreed. Most of the principles for which this Committee has consistently stood have been accepted. Thus there is provision for a strong National Science Board. Though the Administrator will be appointed by the President, the President must consult with and receive the recommendations of the National Science Board concerning the appointment. And the Administrator must consult and advise with the Board on all matters of major policy, program, or budget. The Board has the power to make recommendations to the President and to the Congress independently of the Administrator. The advice and approval of the Board are required for appointment to the Divisional Scientific Committees, the chairmen of which will serve as members of the Board. Except in the case of National Defense, there is no provision for *ex officio* appointments either to the Board or to the Divisional Committees. The Foundation will be endowed with powers sufficient to initiate and carry out an effective program in aid of scientific research and education.

In endorsing S. 1850 and appealing for its prompt enactment, we recognize that many scientists doubt the wisdom of (a) the inclusion of the social sciences in this legislation, (b) the provisions affecting the Government's patent policy, and (c) the arrangement for mandatory geographical distribution of funds to statesupported and land grant colleges. While many would be better satisfied if these provisions were dropped, protracted delay or failure to enact this legislation would be far more prejudicial to the public interest than the inclusion of the provisions objected to.

We believe that the creation of a National Science Foundation to support fundamental scientific research and the education of scientists is of the utmost importance for the health, security, and welfare of the nation. Moved by this conviction and recognizing the public responsibility of men of science in these matters, we have, to the full extent of our ability, endeavored to aid the Congress in the formulation of workable legislation. Believing the matter to be of great urgency, we recently joined with other groups in an appeal to the Chairman and members of the Senate Committee on Military Affairs to report a bill on which the majority of scientists could agree. S. 1850 is the result. We endorse this bill and appeal now to the Congress as a whole to create a National Science Foundation by the enactment of S. 1850 before the end of the present session.

Signatories of the Statement which was mailed to the President and the Congress, 23 April 1946

Isaiah Bowman, Chairman, Roger Adams, William P. Anslow, Jr., Boris A. Bakhmeteff, G. W. Beadle, Francis G. Blake, D. W. Bronk, William B. Castle, Alfred Chanutin, Walter C. Coffey, Robert E. Doherty, Edward A. Doisy, L. A. DuBridge, F. Malcolm Farmer, Herbert S. Gasser, Ernest Goodpasture, Farnham P. Griffiths, R. F. Griggs, C. P. Haskins, A. C. Ivy, Chauncey D. Leake, E. M. MacEwen, Charles E. MacQuigg, H. L. Marshall, C. S. Marvel, J. S. Nicholas, Alton Ochsner, J. Hugh O'Donnell, Walter W. Palmer, Linus Pauling, A. N. Richards, Homer W. Smith, Kenneth B. Turner, James J. Waring, Bethuel M. Webster, and Lewis H. Weed.

The AAAS Council vote, authorized at the St. Louis meeting, resulted in a clear majority supporting S. 1850; the vote was 223 to 10. This is the time for action. If you favor S. 1850, telegraph or write to *your* Senator now! Mention The National Science Foundation and the number, S. 1850.