gestions from scientists in all fields. Correspondence should be addressed to William N. Woodward, Association of Los Alamos Scientists, P. O. Box 1663, Santa Fe, New Mexico.

AWARDS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

THE American Society of Mechanical Engineers, holding its four-day 66th annual meeting in New York on November 27, conferred its annual honors and awards for distinguished work in engineering, education, research or literature, at a dinner and honors night held at the Hotel Astor. More than 1,500 members and guests attended. Lieutenant General Ira C. Eaker, Deputy Commander, Army Air Forces, was the speaker. Alex D. Bailey of Chicago, president of the society, presided.

The medal of the society, given for distinguished service in engineering and science, was awarded to Dr. William Frederick Durand, professor emeritus of mechanical engineering at Stanford University, in recognition of his work in forwarding the design and application of principles of jet propulsion and for his effective leadership of the division of engineering and industrial research of the National Research Council, of which he is the former chairman.

The Holly Medal, presented for "some great and unique act of genius of an engineering nature," was awarded to Dr. Sanford Alexander Moss, General Electric engineer of West Lynn, Mass., for his many contributions to the development and application of turbosuperchargers to internal combustion engines.

Joseph M. Juran, professor of and chairman of the department of administrative engineering, New York University, was recognized for his contribution to the problem of quality control in mass production, and other writings, with the Worcester Reed Warner Medal, given for noteworthy contributions to engineering literature.

William Julian King, of the fuels division, Battelle Memorial Institute, Columbus, Ohio, was presented with the Melville Prize Medal for an original work, for his paper, "The Unwritten Laws of Engineering." His research is concerned chiefly with the fundamentals of combustion liquid fuels and the development of gas turbines.

Bruce Eugene Del Mar, of Santa Monica, Calif., received the junior award for his paper: "Presentation of Centrifugal Compressor Performance in Terms of Non-dimensional Relationship."

Jack Drandell, of Milwaukee, Wis., won the Charles T. Main Award for his paper entitled "Engineering in the New South."

The undergraduate student award was presented to Ensign John Waldemar Erickson, of Chicago, for

his paper on "Increasing the Efficiency of Gas Turbines."

Elected to honorary membership were:

Rear Admiral Harold Gardiner Bowen, U.S.N., Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D. C., for his service to his country: "his valiant and successful fight to introduce steam of high pressures and high temperatures into the United States Navy. The resulting performance to-day is making naval history."

Dugald Caleb Jackson, professor emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 5 Mercer Circle, Cambridge, Mass., for outstanding leadership in education and consulting engineering fields.

Andrey Abraham Potter, acting president and dean of engineering, Purdue University, for leadership in adjusting engineering education to the needs of the war training as chairman of the ASMWT Program of the U. S. Office of Education.

Dr. Wong Wen-hao of Chungking, China, was honored in absentia for his preeminence in the field of professional public service, as vice-president of the Executive Yuan and Minister of Economic Affairs and head of the National Reconstruction Commission of his country.

Sir William Arthur Stanier, F.R.S., London, was also honored in absentia. The actual presentation had been made to him at a joint meeting of engineers in Canada recently. The award was for influencing "in an outstanding fashion the technique of railway transport."

HALF CENTURY MEMBERS

For a half century of membership in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, fifty-year citations were awarded to the following: J. Francis Booraem, Greenwich, Conn.; George W. Colles, Rosharon, Texas; Fred H. Colvin, Point Pleasant, N. J.; William S. Conant, Washington, D. C.; Edward Richard Gnade, Oil City, Pa.; Frederick A. Goetze, New York; John W. Gray, Wayne, Pa.; Arthur M. Greene, Jr., Princeton, N. J.; George F. Hardy, New York; Albert C. Larkin, Montreal; Peder Lobben, Norway; William E. Mathews, Birmingham, Ala.; John A. Pilcher, Roanoke, Va.; Arthur Louis Rice, Wilmette, Ill.; A. M. Robeson, Marlow, England; George B. Willcox, Saginaw, Mich., and Howard E. Williams, Calumet, Mich.

THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE fifty-eighth annual meeting of the Geological Society of America will be held under the auspices of the Geological Society of Pittsburgh, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, December 27, 28 and 29, at the Hotel William Penn, Pittsburgh.

All those attending the meetings are requested to register promptly on arriving.

The annual dinner will be held on Friday evening, December 28, at 7 o'clock in the ballroom. A complimentary dance will be arranged if this is found to be desired.