determinations by other investigators showed that the other 40 per cent. was 70 per cent. protein, 24 per cent. lipid and 6 per cent. carbohydrate. From this analysis influenza virus resembles a small organism more than a large molecule.

By using a separation cell in the ultracentrifuge it was possible to show that biological activity of influenza virus is associated with the 115 mµ spheres and their aggregates and not with the small granules. This cell has a barrier about half way down, so that after ultracentrifugation, top and bottom layers can be removed and tested separately. Correlation between biological activity and content of particles can then be established in the two layers.

The conclusion that influenza virus is a particle 115 mµ in diameter was confirmed by the finding that this particle and biological activity migrated with the same speed under an electric field in the Tiselius apparatus.

The Eli Lilly and Company award of \$1,000 and a bronze medal is made annually to an American scientist under thirty-five years who has accomplished outstanding research in biological chemistry. The purpose of the award is to stimulate fundamental research in biological chemistry in the United States.

THE INTER-AMERICAN TYPHUS CONFER-ENCE IN MEXICO

The Public Health and Welfare Department (Secretaría de Salubridad y Asistencia) of Mexico is calling an Inter-American Typhus Conference to be held in Mexico City from October 7 to 13, sponsored jointly by the Institute of Inter-American Affairs and the Pan American Sanitary Bureau.

The purpose of the conference is to bring together leading workers in the typhus field in the American Republics in order that they may present and discuss the latest developments, both in the field of research and in the practical control of the disease.

Inasmuch as epidemic typhus is a serious problem in many of the American Republics and leaders of the typhus control program in the United States Armed Forces have experienced success in the control of this disease, it is believed that the calling of such a conference is opportune.

Invitations to leading scientists are being issued, but other individuals who have an interest in this subject will be welcome to attend the meeting. Correspondence should be directed to the Secretaría de Salubridad y Asistencia, Mexico, D. F.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. T. Wayland Vaughan, emeritus director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, has been awarded the Mary Clark Thompson Medal and honorarium of the National Academy of Sciences for 1945, in "recognition of outstanding achievement in his purposeful and ingenious coordination of observations and generalizations made in and bearing on the fields of stratigraphic geology and paleontology."

Dr. Francis G. Blake, Sterling professor of medicine and dean of the School of Medicine of Yale University, was presented with the Charles V. Chapin Memorial Award for 1945 of the City of Providence during the one hundred and thirty-fourth annual meeting of the Rhode Island Medical Society. The presentation was made by Hon. Dennis J. Roberts, mayor of Providence, following the delivery of the annual Charles V. Chapin oration. This lecture was entitled "Some Recent Advances in the Control of Infectious Diseases."

COLONEL EDWARD T. WENTWORTH, M.C., A.U.S., organizer and commander in Europe of the nineteenth General Hospital, has been named Albert David Kaiser medalist of 1945 by the Rochester Academy of Medicine "for outstanding services to the medical profession of county and state and for zeal in ministering to the defenders of our country in two wars."

THE Legion of Merit of the Army has been awarded to Lieutenant Colonel John A. Geddes, formerly research chemist of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company.

THE Osler Memorial Medal of the University of Oxford for 1945 has been awarded to Professor C. G. Douglas, F.R.S., tutor in natural sciences and fellow of St. John's College.

The gold medal of the British Royal Society of Medicine was presented on July 4 to Brigadier Sir Lionel Whitby at the annual meeting of the society. The medal is awarded triennially to "a man or woman who has made valuable contributions to the science and art of medicine." It was awarded to Sir Lionel Whitby in recognition of his distinguished work in relation to the problems of wound shock and the transfusion of blood and the blood derivatives.

The American Society of Plant Physiologists has elected the following officers for terms beginning July 1: President, Dr. Paul J. Kramer, Duke University; Vice-president, Dr. Earl S. Johnston, Smithsonian Institution; Secretary, Dr. Robert B. Withrow, Purdue University; Member of Executive Committee, Professor D. R. Hoagland, University of California; Member of Editorial Board of Plant Physiology, Dr. H. A. Spoehr, Carnegie Institution of Washington.