THE AMERICAN ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

THE annual business meeting of the American Astronomical Society was held at the Harvard Observatory on June 8. The general meeting was preceded by a dinner meeting of the council at the Harvard Faculty Club.

Owing to restrictions on conventions, the meeting was of local character and no scientific program was attempted. Members cast their ballots for the election of officers by mail. The number of members who attended in person was thirty-nine, of whom seven were members of the council. Only four persons traveled more than a hundred miles, and three of these were councilors.

New officers of the society were elected as follows: Vice-president, 1945-1947, Alfred H. Joy, Mount Wilson Observatory

Secretary, 1945-1946, Dean B. McLaughlin, University of Michigan

Treasurer, 1945-1946, Keivin Burns, Allegheny Observatory

Councilors, 1945-1948, N. T. Bobrovnikoff, Perkins Observatory

> A. D. Maxwell, University of Michigan

R. M. Petrie, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory

Officers who continue unexpired terms are as follows:

President, 1943-1946, Harlow Shapley, Harvard Observatory

Vice-president, 1944-1946, J. A. Pearce, Dominion Astrophysical Observatory

Councilors, 1943-1946, Harold D. Babcock, Mount Wilson Observatory

1943–1946, Dirk Brouwer, Yale University Observatory1943–1946, J. J. Nassau, Case School

1945–1940, J. J. Nassau, Case School 1944–1947, N. U. Mayall, Lick Observatory

1944-1947, Peter Van de Kamp, Swarthmore

1944-1947, John S. Hall, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ex-presidents, 1940-1946, R. G. Aitken, University of California

1943-1949, Joel Stebbins, University of Wisconsin

A nominating committee was elected as follows: Joel Stebbins, *Chairman*; B. J. Bok, Dirk Brouwer. It is the duty of this committee to prepare the list of candidates for the next election of officers, which will take place at the annual business meeting of the society in 1946.

Certain special actions of the council will be announced to the membership at a later date.

DEAN B. McLAUGHLIN,
Secretary

HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED BY COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY

As reported last week in SCIENCE Dr. Edwin Joseph Cohn, of Harvard University, and Dr. Herbert Spencer Gasser, director of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, received the degree of Doctor of Science at the one hundred and ninety-first commencement of Columbia University on June 5. The citations made by Dr. Nicholas Murray Butler, president of the university, in conferring the degrees follow:

EDWIN JOSEPH COHN:

Professor of biological chemistry in the Medical School of Harvard University; student at Amherst College who later received the degrees of Bachelor of Science and Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Chicago; then pursued advanced studies in his chosen field of physical chemistry of proteins at Carlsberg Laboratory in Copenhagen and Cambridge University; now engaged in productive research in the physiology and chemical composition of the blood, the results of which have not only greatly increased fundamental scientific knowledge, but have saved many thousands of lives among those wounded in the war.

HERBERT SPENCER GASSER:

Director of Rockefeller Institute; received the degrees of Bachelor of Arts, Master of Arts and Doctor of Science from the University of Wisconsin and that of Doctor of Medicine from Johns Hopkins University; since 1935 director of the Rockefeller Institute; awarded in 1944 the Nobel Prize for work in medicine and physiology; outstanding in the organization and conduct of scientific research in his chosen field of physiology of the nervous system; constantly making important contribution to the understanding of the mechanisms of the nerve impulse and its action in the human body.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

WILLIAM FONDILLER, assistant vice-president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, was awarded on June 5 the University Medal at the commencement exercises of Columbia University in recognition of "his important contribution to the development of the telephone."

THE Eli Lilly and Company Award in Bacteriology and Immunology for 1945 was conferred on May 26 at Austin, Texas, on Dr. Esmond E. Snell, a member of the research staff of the Clayton Biochemical Institute of the University of Texas. The award, which consists of a check for one thousand dollars and a