EDUCATION

The American Association of Medical Social	
Workers, Chicago	35,000
University of Minnesota, the Medical School,	
Minneapolis	9,213
Children's Hospital Society, Los Angeles	5,700
The American Physiotherapy Association, New	
York City	5,000
Teachers College, Columbia University, New	
York City	1,800

FELLOWSHIPS IN THE MEDICAL SCIENCES OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

Fellowships in the Medical Sciences, similar to those which have been administered by the Medical Fellowship Board of the National Research Council since 1922, will again be available for the year beginning July 1, 1945. These fellowships, supported by grants from the Rockefeller Foundation to the National Research Council, are designed to provide opportunities for training and experience in research in all branches of medical science. They are open to citizens of the United States or Canada who possess an M.D. or a Ph.D. degree, and are intended for recent graduates who are not yet professionally established.

In addition to these fellowships the Medical Fellowship Board administers two groups of research fellowships, made available through a grant from the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis, Inc. The first group, open to applicants who hold either the Ph.D. or M.D. degree, is for the purpose of providing opportunities for special training and experience in the study of filterable viruses. The second group, open only to graduates in medicine who have completed one or more years of hospital experience in clinical surgery and are planning a career in orthopedic surgery, is designed to provide opportunities for training and research in those basic medical sciences which will be of particular value in furthering progress in the field of orthopedic surgery.

Fellows will be appointed at a meeting of the Medical Fellowship Board late in February, 1945. Applications to receive consideration at this meeting must be filed on or before January 1. Appointments may begin on any date determined by the board.

For further particulars concerning these fellowships, address the Secretary of the Medical Fellowship Board, National Research Council, 2101 Constitution Avenue, Washington 25, D. C.

THE NEW YORK ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE one hundred and twenty-seventh annual meeting of the New York Academy of Sciences was held on December 14 at the American Museum of Natural History.

At this meeting presentation was made of the two

annual A. Cressy Morrison Prizes of the value of \$200 each "for the two most acceptable papers in any field of science, within the scope of the academy and its affiliated societies." Dr. Eleanor Alexander-Jackson, of the Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine of the Cornell University Medical College, New York, received the award in recognition of her work on the tubercle bacillus, and Dr. Alexander Sandow, of the department of biology of New York University, for his paper on the mechanism of muscular contraction.

Two other papers received honorable mention "for their general excellence," one by Dr. Lela V. Barton, of the Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research, Yonkers, N. Y., on "respiration and germination studies of seeds in moist storage," and the other by Dr. William A. Ritchie, Rochester, N. Y., Museum of Arts and Sciences, on "an early site in Cayuga County, N. Y., type station of the Frontenac Focus, Archaic Pattern."

Dr. Peter Debye, professor of chemistry at Cornell University, gave the principal address.

Dr. Walter H. Bucher, professor of geology at Columbia University, was elected president of the academy. New vice-presidents elected were Dr. Joseph S. Fruton, associate in chemistry of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, and Dr. Raymond L. Zwemer, of the Division of Cultural Relations of the Department of State, Washington.

Dr. Florence Sabin, member emeritus of the Rocke-feller Institute for Medical Research; Professor Robert H. Lowie, professor of anthropology at the University of California, and Professor Paul Niggli, professor of mineralogy and petrography at the University of Zurich, were elected to honorary life membership.

IN HONOR OF JAMES MURRAY LUCK

AT a meeting of the Executive Committee of the Pacific Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, held in San Francisco on November 17, the following resolution was adopted:

The Pacific Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, through its Executive Committee, expresses to Professor James Murray Luck, of Stanford University, its appreciation of his services as Secretary of the Pacific Division from 1929 to 1944.

Through a period of fifteen years of continuous growth in the membership of the Division, with a corresponding increase in the duties and responsibilities of the Secretary, Professor Luck carried on the work of his office with a quiet efficiency equalled only by his unfailing graciousness, good-humor and goodwill. It should not pass without remark that, at the urgence of the Executive Committee, he continued in the secretary-ship a number of years after he had expressed a desire

¹ See Science, April 14, 1944, p. 307.