CONSULTANTS TO THE SURGEON GENERAL OF THE U. S. ARMY

Among those recently appointed as consultants to the Surgeon General, U. S. Army, in matters pertaining to preventive medicine and public health are:

Dr. George K. Strode, director of the International Health Division of the Rockefeller Foundation.

Dr. C.-E. A. Winslow, Lauder professor of public health, School of Medicine of Yale University; editor, *Journal* of the American Public Health Association.

Dr. Hugh H. Smith, regional director for the United States, Canada and Mexico, International Health Division, the Rockefeller Foundation. For the past three years Dr. Smith has represented the Rockefeller Foundation in England where he has worked closely with the Ministry of Health.

Dr. Ernest L. Stebbins, commissioner of health, New York City; professor of epidemiology (on leave) De-Lamar Institute of Public Health, Columbia University.

Dr. Abel Wolman, professor of sanitary engineering, the School of Hygiene and Public Health of the Johns Hopkins University; chairman of the Executive Board, American Public Health Association.

Dr. Claude E. Forkner, director of the China Medical Board. Dr. Forkner has recently returned from a year's assignment in China where he has been adviser to the Committee on Medical Education of the Ministry of Education. While in China he was also professor of medicine at the National Central University of the West China Union University at Chengtu.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry has awarded the Chemical Industry Medal to Colonel Bradley Dewey, in recognition of "his work in colloid chemistry, especially pertaining to rubber latex, and his accomplishment in administering the synthetic rubber program during a critical war period."

The Sir William Schlich Forestry Medal has been awarded to Professor Henry S. Graves, dean emeritus of the School of Forestry of Yale University, "in recognition of distinguished services in his profession." The medal has been awarded to an American on two previous occasions. In 1935 it was given to President Roosevelt and in 1940 to Gifford Pinchot.

Professor George D. Birkhoff, Perkins professor of mathematics at Harvard University, has been elected a corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences of Mexico.

THE following officers of the Chapter of the Society of the Sigma Xi of the University of Oregon have been elected for the academic year 1944-45: President, Dr. J. M. McGee, associate professor of chemistry; Secretary, Dr. L. E. Detling, assistant professor of botany; Treasurer, Dr. A. L. Soderwall, instructor in zoology. Dr. W. B. Youmans, associate professor of physiology, has been serving as vice-president of the chapter at the Medical School in Portland. The initiation of new members was held on May 13 and was followed by the annual joint banquet of the Phi Beta Kappa and Sigma Xi chapters. The twenty-first annual Phi Beta Kappa-Sigma Xi lecture was given by Dr. H. A. Spoehr, chairman of the Division of Plant Biology of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, D. C. His subject was "Some Responsibilities of Science."

The retirement is announced of Dr. E. B. Hart, professor of agricultural chemistry at the University of Wisconsin and chemist at the Agricultural Experiment Station.

Dr. James A. Bizzell, professor of soil technology in the department of agronomy of Cornell University, retired on July 1 with the title emeritus. He joined the faculty of the university in 1903 as an assistant chemist in the Agricultural Experiment Station. He is known for his work on the loss of plant nutrients in drainage water and on the influence of various crops on nitrate accumulation in soils.

Dr. Julius Hays Hess, of the College of Medicine of the University of Illinois, who has been a member of the faculty for thirty years, is retiring as professor of pediatrics and head of the department with the title emeritus. He will be succeeded by Dr. Henry George Poncher. Dr. Milan Vaclav Novak has been promoted to a professorship, and to be head of the department of bacteriology and public health.

Professor Edmund M. Spieker has been named chairman of the department of geology of the Ohio State University, succeeding Professor J. Ernest Carman, who is relinquishing his administrative responsibilities to devote full time to teaching. Dr. Spieker has leave of absence until January 1 to work with the U. S. Geological Survey on a survey of strategic minerals in Alaska.

Dr. T. C. Daniels, professor of pharmaceutical chemistry, has been appointed dean of the College of Pharmacy at San Francisco of the University of California.

W. W. WILCOX, research professor of agricultural economics in the Iowa State College and Station, has