for any other national purpose. It is proposed that the 2,000,000 acres of existing woodlands, so far as they are privately owned, should be either "dedicated" by their owners to forestry or acquired by the State.

The planning of the further 3,000,000 acres would mean the transfer to timber growing of this area from the 16,000,000 acres of uncultivated land at present classified as "rough grazings." The land for afforestation would be drawn only gradually from its present use and the loss to food production would be relatively small. The maximum area of bare land to be planted in the first post-war decade would be 500,000 acres.

It is proposed that the attainment of the 5,000,000 acres of effective forest should be spread over fifty years, though the rate of progress be subject to review and amendment.

The policy is also considered from the point of view of employment. It is estimated that the employment that would be provided by 5,000,000 acres of forest in full working order would be 50,000 men in the forests working full time and 200,000 in forest industries, a total of 250,000. These figures would be attained very gradually.

There are at present three national forest parks. The report suggests that without special effort one new park of this kind might be established every year for the next ten years at a capital outlay not exceeding £50,000; and that for the expenditure of £150,000 the total number of national forest parks could be increased to twenty by the end of the first post-war decade. There are twelve youth hostels in the existing national forest parks, and the report foreshadows an extension of the provision for recreational facilities in the new parks, with semi-permanent camps. It suggests that, if in view of the large schemes here outlined, Parliament should desire to place forestry under the direct control of a Minister, the Minister chosen should be the Lord President of the Council, and that he should be assisted by a committee, including the Secretary of State for Scotland, the Minister of Agriculture and the chairman of the Forestry Commission.

The chairman of the Forestry Commission is Sir Roy Robinson, and its members include representatives of all political parties.

THE RESEARCH COUNCIL ON PROBLEMS OF ALCOHOL

A GENERAL plan of reorganization of the Research Council on Problems of Alcohol was approved by the council on November 23. The provisions of the plan are as follows:

- (1) The officers will consist of a president, six vice-presidents, a secretary and a treasurer. The president, secretary and treasurer shall be *ex-officio* members of the Board of Directors.
- (2) The Board of Directors will consist of 40 members, 28 to be chosen on a regional basis, and 12 to be members at large. It will be made up of an increasing number of businessmen. The board will meet annually—if practicable, at the time of the council's annual business

meeting and the annual meeting of the scientific commit-

- (3) An executive committee of seven members of the board will meet quarterly, with additional meetings as required.
- (4) The new board and its executive committee will give special attention to the business and financial affairs of the council
- (5) An executive committee of seven members of the scientific committee will be appointed to give closer attention to research on the treatment of alcoholism.
- (6) A new committee on alcoholism will be created. It will be composed of doctors treating alcoholics, liquor control administrators and representatives of the church, the distilling industry and the alcoholics anonymous group, together with others having some special interest in the problem of alcoholism. Sub-committees will be appointed to deal with the following subjects: The dissemination of the results of research, the treatment of alcoholism, the development of hospital facilities, state and local organizations, and the legal aspects of alcoholism.

REORGANIZATION OF THE PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICE

As reported in the *Journal* of the American Medical Association, Dr. Thomas Parran, surgeon general of the U. S. Public Health Service, has announced the appointment of heads of the five new bureaus and divisions set up through the reorganization of the U. S. Public Health Service by Congress on November 11.

The reorganization was authorized in the enactment of a bill (S. 400). Dr. Lewis R. Thompson, medical director serving in the surgeon general's office, has been named assistant surgeon general in charge of the new Bureau of States Services. Dr. Ralph C. Williams, formerly district director with headquarters in New York, has been named assistant surgeon general in charge of the new Bureau of Medical Services. Dr. Rolla E. Dyer, director of the National Institute of Health, Bethesda, Md., will in addition serve as assistant surgeon general in charge of the new Bureau of Scientific Research. John K. Hoskins, senior sanitary engineer, under the new set-up will become chief of the division of sanitary engineering and William T. Wright, Jr., D.D.S., chief of dental work in the Marine Hospital Division of the Public Health Service, will become chief of the division of dentistry. All five will hold rank comparable to an army brigadier general. They have been in a grade comparable to a full colonel in the army. Mr. Hoskins is said to be the only non-doctor or dentist to hold a rank in the Public Health Service comparable to brigadier general. S. 400 provides that the surgeon general of the Public Health Service, under the supervision and direction of the Federal Security Administrator, is authorized and directed to assign to the Office of the