of pharmacy at the same institution from 1891 to 1904. From 1904 to 1907 he was an analytical chemist in Boston. He was then called to head the analytical department of Parke, Davis and Company in Detroit, in which capacity he served until his retirement in 1934.

Dr. Scoville held many important positions in national pharmaceutical bodies. He was a member of the Revision Committee of the U. S. Pharmacopoeia from 1900 to 1940. He served as vice-chairman of that committee during the period 1920–30. He was a member of the Committee of Revision of the National Formulary for the third, fourth, fifth and sixth editions. He served as chairman of the latter for the fourth and fifth revisions. His work on these two national standards for the purity of drugs was outstanding.

Dr. Scoville was awarded many honors, including the honorary doctor of science degree from the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy in 1927, the honorary master of pharmacy degree from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in 1929, the Ebert Prize in 1923 and the Remington Medal in 1929. He was an honorary member of the Pennsylvania Pharmaceutical Association and the Michigan Pharmaceutical Association. He was a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Chemical Society and the American Pharmaceutical Association. He had been a member of the latter for more

than fifty years. Dr. Scoville was the author of a widely used pharmaceutical text-book on the "Art of Compounding." The deceased is survived by his wife, Mrs. Lillie W. Scoville, two daughters, Mrs. Ralph D. Pearson, of Royal Oak, Mich., and Mrs. Thomas G. Spriggs, of Detroit, Mich., and four grandchildren.

P. A. FOOTE

UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

RECENT DEATHS

Dr. Arthur Newell Talbot, emeritus professor of municipal and sanitary engineering at the University of Illinois, died on April 3, at the age of eighty-four years.

JEROME HINDS RAMSKILL, professor of forestry at the University of Montana, died on March 31. He was sixty years old.

Dr. Joseph Bolivar De Lee, emeritus professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Chicago, died on April 2, at the age of seventy-two years.

Francis James Selby, from 1918 to 1932 secretary of the National Physical Laboratory, Great Britain, died on March 5, at the age of seventy-four years. He joined the staff of the laboratory in 1903 and was in charge of tide-prediction from 1903 to 1919 and of optics from 1903 to 1909. He was secretary of the Advisory Committee for Aeronautics from 1909 to 1919.

SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

THE INSTITUTE OF FOOD TECHNOLOGY

The third annual meeting of the Institute of Food Technology will open at the Hotel Nicollet, Minneapolis, on June 15. There will be four half-day sessions, two luncheon sessions and one round-table session.

Dr. J. C. Drummond, chief scientific adviser of the British Ministry of Food, is one of the speakers at the opening session, which is devoted to various aspects of food technology.

Monday afternoon will be given over to papers on substitute materials for food processing, on Tuesday morning the dehydration of foods will be discussed, and packaging and materials will be the subject in the afternoon.

"Industrial Sabotage," by C. W. Stein, F.B.I., special agent in charge, St. Paul, Minn., will be discussed at the Monday luncheon and "Labor Relations and the Food Technologist," by N. W. Shefferman, of Sears, Roebuck and Company, Chicago, at the Tuesday luncheon session. The subject of the round-table discussion on Wednesday morning is "Educational Requirements of Food Technologists." Industrial plant

trips will be arranged for those not attending the round-table session.

The address of the president, L. V. Burton, will be delivered at the banquet on Tuesday evening, when presentation will be made of the first Nicholas Appert Medal Award, sponsored by the Chicago Section of the institute.

The Institute of Food Technologists was organized in Cambridge, Mass., in July, 1939, at the close of the Second Conference on Food Technology, held under the auspices of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Its officers are: Retiring-President, Dr. S. C. Prescott, dean of science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; President, Dr. L. V. Burton, editor of Technology; President, Dr. L. V. Burton, editor of Food Industries, New York, N. Y.; Vice-president, Dr. E. H. Harvey, director of research, Anheuser-Busch, Inc., St. Louis, Mo.; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. G. J. Hucker, N. Y. State Agricultural Experiment Station, Geneva, N. Y.

The institute's first meeting was held in Chicago from June 16 to 19, 1940, and its second meeting was in Pittsburgh, Pa., from June 15 to 18 of last year. Its growing membership consists of more than 1,200