the end of the second term of the mayor's incumbency in office, so that he might return to his duties as Dean of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University on January 1, 1942.

To the difficult task of Commissioner of Hospitals, Dr. Rappleye brought his recognized administrative ability, vigor, persuasive powers and a high civic spirit. These qualifications blended very well with the pattern which had been developed by his predecessor and as a result the work of the Department of Hospitals has continued on a high plane to the benefit of the sick, of medical education and of community relationships.

In view of the pending resignation of Dr. Rappleye, the New York Academy of Medicine wishes to go on record as urging him to continue as Commissioner of Hospitals, particularly in view of the exceptionally heavy responsibilities which the Department of Hospitals is to face during this period of national peril.

Copies of the resolution were addressed to President Butler, of Columbia University, and to the mayor, Fiorello La Guardia.

THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHAN-ICAL ENGINEERS

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers at its annual dinner on December 3 conferred five honorary memberships, which were presented by William A. Hanley, the retiring president. These were Clarence Decatur Howe, minister of munitions and supplies for Canada; Rear Admiral Samuel M. Robinson, chief of the Bureau of Ships, U. S. Navy; Major General Charles M. Wesson, chief of ordnance, U. S. Army; Leon Pratt Alford, chairman of the department of administrative engineering, New York University, and Aurel Stodola, formerly professor of mechanical engineering, Technical University, Zurich, Switzerland.

James W. Parker, vice-president in charge of engineering of the Detroit Edison Company, took office as president on December 5. He succeeds William A. Hanley as president of the society.

Four newly elected vice-presidents and three new managers of the society also took office as members of the council. The vice-presidents, who will serve until December, 1943, are Clarke F. Freeman, of Providence, R. I., senior vice-president and engineer of the Manufacturers Mutual Fire Insurance Company; Clair B. Peck, managing editor of Railway Mechanical Engineering; W. H. Winterrowd, vice-president in charge of operations, Baldwin Locomotive Works, Eddystone, Pa., and W. R. Woolrich, dean of the College of Engineering of the University of Texas.

The new managers, elected until December, 1944, are; William G. Christy, smoke abatement engineer of Hudson County, N. J.; Herbert L. Eggleston, manager of gas and refining departments, Gilmore Oil

Company, Los Angeles, and Thomas S. McEwan, consulting management engineer of Chicago.

AWARD TO THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY

The 1941 Award for Chemical Engineering Achievement was presented on December 2 at a dinner at the University Club, New York City, to the Dow Chemical Company, Midland, Mich., for its pioneering research in the recovery of metallic magnesium from sea water. The presentation was made by Colonel Alfred H. White, chairman of the award committee and head of the department of chemical and metallurgical engineering of the University of Michigan. The award is presented biennially by the McGraw-Hill magazine, Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering, to the company which in the opinion of the Committee of Award has contributed the most meritorious advance to the industry and profession. In presenting the award to Dr. Dow, Colonel White said:

The company which receives this award has a wonderful record of past achievement in development of processes and also in development of men. The award is made for a very recent specific achievement, but this achievement would not have been possible without the organization built up through many years.

Since 1940 this company has built on the coast of Texas a huge plant constructed primarily to extract metallic magnesium from the ocean water, but also to manufacture bromine, ethylene bromide and a number of other chemicals. This is the first plant in the world to extract metal commercially from ocean water. It is for this specific achievement that the 1940 Award for Chemical Engineering Achievement is conferred.

Dr. Willard H. Dow, president and chairman of the board of the company, accepted the bronze plaque symbolizing the award in behalf of his company. S. D. Kirkpatrick, editor of *Chemical and Metallurgical Engineering* and president-elect of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, acted as toastmaster and introduced the speakers. The dinner was held in connection with the eighteenth National Exposition of the Chemical Industries, at Grand Central Palace.

The award was established in 1933 and is presented biennially in recognition to group effort and accomplishment of a company rather than to an individual. Previous recipients of the award are:

1933, Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation for the development of synthetic organic chemicals from petroleum and natural gas. 1935, Organic Chemicals Department of the du Pont Company, for the development of synthetic rubber from acetylene and synthetic camphor from American turpentine. 1937, Standard Oil Development Company for synthetic aviation fuels and related products from petroleum. 1941, the Dow Chemical