National Committees and (3) unofficial National Committees that are affiliated with the International Institute of Intellectual Cooperation in Paris. The United States delegates will be in the third category, representing the National Committee of the United States of America on International Intellectual Cooperation, which has been actively associated with the Institute of Intellectual Cooperation of the League of Nations since 1926. Since the invitations to the conference came from the Cuban National Committee and not from the Cuban government, the United States government will not be officially represented, but Dr. Charles A. Thomson, chief of the Division of Cultural Relations of the State Department, will attend as an unofficial observer.

## AWARD OF THE PENROSE MEDAL OF THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

Professor Norman Levi Bowen, of the University of Chicago, has been awarded the Penrose Medal by the Council of the Geological Society of America "in recognition of his achievements in the application of the principles of physical chemistry to the study of the origin of igneous rocks." The presentation will be made at the annual meeting of the society at Boston on December 30.

The late Dr. R. A. F. Penrose, Jr., established the medal named in his honor in 1927 so that the Geological Society might signalize "eminent research in pure geology and outstanding original contributions or achievements which mark a decided advance in the science of geology." The distinguished company of geologists who have preceded Professor Bowen in receiving this honor include Thomas Chrowder Chamberlin, of the University of Chicago; Jakob Johannes Sederholm, director of the Geological Survey of Finland; François Alfred Antoine Lacroix, of Paris, France; William Morris Davis, of Harvard University; Edward Oscar Ulrich, of the U. S. Geological

Survey; Waldemar Lindgren, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Charles Schuchert, of Yale University; Reginald Aldworth Daly, of Harvard University; Arthur Philemon Coleman, of the University of Toronto; Andrew Cowper Lawson, of the University of California; William Berryman Scott, of Princeton University, and Nelson Horatio Darton, of the U. S. Geological Survey.

The official announcement reads:

Professor Bowen, since 1937 Charles L. Hutchinson distinguished service professor of petrology at the University of Chicago, is a truly international figure in the field of petrologic research. A Canadian by birth, he took his baccalaureate degree at Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, in 1907 and 1909. He was recalled to serve as professor of mineralogy, 1918-1920, and again in 1941 to receive an honorary degree at the centenary celebration of the university. He served as field geologist with the Ontario Department of Mines and the Geological Survey of Canada during the summers of 1907-1912. Advanced study at Massachusetts Institute of Technology brought the degree of doctor of philosophy in 1912, following which he became a member of the scientific staff of the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington. Here he remained, with the exception noted, until 1937 and here, with the inspiring leadership and cooperation of colleagues, he carried out his successful researches upon artificial melts simulating molten rocks which have won him high distinction including the Bigsby Medal of the Geological Society of London, and honorary membership in scientific societies of Russia, Belgium, Germany and India.

A long list of books and scientific papers published in American and European journals, testifying to productive scholarship, include contributions of significant value to the ceramic and glass-making industries. He is a co-discoverer of mullite, one of the fundamental constituents of fire clay refractories. During the world war the War Industries Board of the United States requisitioned his services in the control of production of optical glass strategically important in the successful prosecution of the war.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

A DINNER in honor of Dr. Harlow Shapley to mark the twentieth anniversary of his directorship of the Harvard College Observatory was given on November 7. More than a hundred astronomers and members of the faculty of Harvard University were present. The speakers were President Conant and Dr. A. Lawrence Lowell, president emeritus; Professor James R. Jewett, emeritus professor of Arabic; George Russell Agassiz, of the Museum of Comparative Zoology; Dr. Richard Prager, formerly of the observatory at Berlin-Babelsberg, and Professor Henry Norris Russell, of Princeton University, under whose direction Dr.

Shapley worked for his doctorate. Speakers from the observatory staff were Dr. Cecilia Payne-Gaposchkin, Miss Henrietta H. Swope, Professor Bart J. Bok and Leland Cunningham.

Dr. Elmer K. Bolton, chemical director of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, who was associated with the research leading to the development of nylon and synthetic rubber, received the Chemical Industry Medal for 1941 at a joint meeting on November 7 of the American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry, the New York Section of the American