Experience will be offered in areas outside the boundaries of the state, as well, in the South, East and West, the arrangement in the more distant areas to provide direction by expert workers in local public health units.

The advanced degree of doctor of public health will be granted to those who make contributions in special fields.

Drs. Thomas Francis, Jr., and Lowell T. Coggeshall, of the Rockefeller Foundation, New York, will be professor and chairman of the department of epidemiology and professor of epidemiology, respectively. Dr. John Sundwall, formerly professor and director of the Division of Hygiene and Public Health, has been named professor of hygiene and public health. Other transfers into the new unit include:

Nathan Sinai, professor of public health.

Dr. Emory W. Sink, assistant professor of public health. Kenneth A. Easlick, assistant professor of public health dentistry.

Marguerite F. Hall, assistant professor of biometrics. Lloyd R. Gates, instructor in public health engineering. Dr. Lavinia G. MacKaye, instructor in child health.

Dr. David A. VanderSlice, instructor in school health.

THE ENGINEERS' COUNCIL FOR PROFES-SIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Four hundred and sixty-one engineering curricula at one hundred and twenty-nine colleges and universities in the continental United States have now been accredited by the Engineers' Council for Professional Development, through the inspection program of its committee on engineering schools. Provisional accrediting has been given one hundred and four additional curricula. These figures were announced on October 30 at the ninth annual meeting of the Engineers' Council for Professional Development.

Committee reports on major activities of the council were made at the meeting, at which also officers were elected for 1941–42. R. E. Doherty, president of Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pittsburgh, Pa., was elected chairman for a second term; H. T. Woolson, executive engineer, Chrysler Corporation, was reelected vice-chairman. H. H. Henline, national secretary of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, was elected secretary of the council and A. B. Parsons, secretary of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, New York, N. Y., assistant secretary.

Newly elected committee chairmen are: D. B. Prentice, president, Rose Polytechnic Institute, committee on engineering schools; E. S. Lee, engineer, general engineering laboratory, General Electric Company, committee on professional training; G. Ross Henninger, editor, American Institute of Electrical Engineers, committee on information. The following com-

mittee chairmen were re-elected for the coming year; R. L. Sackett, dean emeritus of engineering, Pennsylvania State College, committee on student selection and guidance; C. F. Scott, professor emeritus of electrical engineering, Yale University, committee on professional recognition; D. C. Jackson, professor emeritus of electrical engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, committee on engineering ethics.

Nearly all the institutions in the United States which grant degrees in engineering have voluntarily submitted curricula for inspection by the committee on engineering schools since the beginning of the accrediting program in 1933. In 143 of 166 such institutions, 896 curricula have been inspected, including reinspection, since 1939, of 157 curricula. One or more curricula have been accredited in 129 schools. Accredited curricula number 461; provisionally accredited 104; action was deferred on 6; and accrediting has been refused to 167. Reinspections resulted in change of status for only 26 curricula. With the inspection program virtually complete, the committee is now engaged chiefly with reinspections of those curricula provisionally accredited.

THE EIGHTEENTH EXPOSITION OF CHEMICAL INDUSTRIES

The eighteenth Exposition of Chemical Industries will be held at the Grand Central Palace, New York, from December 1 to 6. Dr. M. C. Whitaker, of the American Cyanamid Company, is chairman of the advisory committee. Among other members of the committee are: Dr. Raymond F. Bacon; Dr. L. H. Backeland; Dr. W. S. Landis, president of the Chemists' Club; Dr. Raymond R. Ridgway, president of the Electrochemical Society, and Dr. E. R. Weidlein, director of the Mellon Institute.

The exhibits will demonstrate the rapid advance of chemical technology, raw materials, machinery and products in the following categories: chemical products, processing materials, manufacturing ingredients, manufacturing equipment, machinery and supplies, process control, technology, containers and plant construction.

According to the official announcement, significant facts which many of the exhibits will reflect bear out the following points:

Partly chemical industries are becoming more chemical. Nonchemical industries are consuming more chemical products and adopting chemical methods. Artificial materials are rapidly replacing natural products.

Synthetics, so much in the foreground just now, are no longer regarded merely as substitutes, but as new competitive materials. Many of them are created for specific purposes and serve those purposes better than the conventional materials they replace.

From laboratories and pilot plants not merely new