April 2, Dr. P. J. Wilson, Jr., "Progress in Industrial Waste Disposal."

April 23, R. D. Hoak, "Major Problems in Sanitation"

May 7, Dr. H. B. Meller, "The Maintenance of Health in the Chemical Industry."

## THE WISCONSIN MEETING OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

The autumn meeting of the National Academy of Sciences will be held at the University of Wisconsin on October 13, 14 and 15. There will be an address of welcome on Monday morning, October 13, by President Clarence A. Dykstra, of the university, and a response by Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the academy. In the afternoon there will be a reception by President and Mrs. Dykstra.

The public lecture will be given in the evening by Dr. Zay Jeffries, of the Nela Park Laboratory at Cleveland of the General Electric Company. Preceding the lecture there will be an informal subscription dinner at the Wisconsin Union. A reception is planned for Tuesday evening, followed by a second subscription dinner. Each day luncheon will be served at the Wisconsin Union. On the afternoon of Wednesday a visit is planned to the Forest Products Laboratory.

Scientific sessions are planned for each morning. Members of the academy who expect to present papers or to introduce guests presenting papers are requested to send to Dr. Joel Stebbins, Washburn Observatory, University of Wisconsin, the full titles and three abstracts of each paper. In accordance with the custom of the academy a maximum of fifteen minutes will be allowed for the presentation of each paper.

Members of the committee of arrangements are: B. M. Duggar, *chairman*; C. E. Allen, Gregory Breit, E. B. Fred, L. R. Jones, C. K. Leith, Joel Stebbins, E. B. Van Vleck, all of the University of Wisconsin, and, *ex-officio*, F. E. Wright, home secretary of the academy.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE American Association for the Advancement of Science meets in Chicago from September 22 to 27 in conjunction with the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the University of Chicago. The program consists mainly of the symposia and addresses, full accounts of which have been printed in the issues of Science for July 4 and August 15. The executive committee of the association will meet on Sunday, September 21. From September 27 to 29 following the meeting of the association there will be an academic festival of the University of Chicago, the principal events of which will include an alumni assembly, a service of thanksgiving and commemoration, a reception of delegates, a festival concert and a convention, at which honorary degrees will be conferred.

During the recent visit of Dr. Arthur H. Compton, professor of physics of the University of Chicago, to South America as director of the Andean Cosmic Ray Expedition, honorary degrees were conferred on him by the University of San Marcos at Lima and by the University of Arequipa. He was made an honorary member of the Peruvian Chemical Society and a corresponding member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and of the Academy of Exact Sciences at Lima.

THE Franklin Medal, awarded for the first time by the Scientific Society of San Antonio, Texas, was presented at the annual dinner of the society to Colonel Charles F. Craig, in recognition of his distinguished work in science. Dr. Craig retired in 1938 as professor of tropical medicine and head of the department at the Medical School of Tulane University, New Orleans.

On the occasion of the final exercises on September 17 of the celebration of the centenary of Fordham University the degree of doctor of science was conferred on Dr. Gustav Ernst Frederick Lundell, chief chemist of the National Bureau of Standards, and on Dr. N. H. Heck, chief of the Division of Terrestrial Magnetism and Seismology of the U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Dr. B. F. Kingsbury, emeritus professor of histology and embryology at Cornell University, has been appointed guest professor in the department of anatomy of the University of North Carolina.

Dr. Adolf Meyer, who retired on September 1 as Henry Phipps professor of psychiatry and director of the Psychiatric Clinic of the Johns Hopkins Hospital, is succeeded by Dr. John C. Whitehorn, formerly physiological chemist and director of laboratories at McLean Hospital, Belmont, Mass., since 1938 professor of psychiatry at the Medical School of Washington University, St. Louis.

Dr. Walter Reece Berryhill has been elected dean of the School of Medicine and chairman of a newly established division of medical sciences of the University of North Carolina. He has been acting dean of the Medical School since the resignation a year ago of Dr. W. de B. MacNider.