The award will be given to the laboratory (non-clinical) or clinical research worker in the United States or Canada, who, in the opinion of the judges, has published during the previous calendar year, January 1 to December 31, the most meritorious scientific report dealing with the field of the "B-complex" vitamins. While the award will be given primarily for publication of specific papers, the judges will be given considerable latitude in the exercise of their function. If in their judgment circumstances and justice so dictate, it may be recommended that the prize be divided between two or more persons. It may also be recommended that the award be made to a worker for valuable contributions over an extended period, but not necessarily representative of a given year. Membership in the American Institute of Nutrition is not a requisite of eligibility for the award.

To assist the committee of judges in its deliberations relative to this award, nominations are solicited for their consideration. These may be sent any time to the secretary (undersigned) of the American Institute of Nutrition. For a nomination to be considered for the award to be bestowed at any given spring meeting of the institute, however, it must be received by the secretary not later than January 15. The nomination should be accompanied by such data relative to the nominee and his research as will facilitate the task of the committee of judges in its consideration of the nomination.

L. A. MAYNARD.

Secretary, American Institute of Nutrition
LABORATORY OF ANIMAL NUTRITION,
CORNELL UNIVERSITY,
ITHACA, NEW YORK

THE FIFTH INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS FOR THE UNITY OF SCIENCE AT HARVARD UNIVERSITY

THE fifth International Congress for the Unity of Science is to be held at Harvard University from September 5 to 10, 1939.

The theme of the congress is "The Logic of Science"; interest will center upon the relation of the concepts, laws and methods of the various sciences. Attention will be devoted to general problems connected with the unification of science, and, in particular, with the logic of the physical sciences, the relation of the physical and biological sciences and the relation of the biological and socio-humanistic sciences. There will also be a number of special sessions and symposia concerned with special problems and fields.

The International Organizing Committee is composed of R. Carnap, P. Frank, J. Joergensen, C. W. Morris, O. Neurath, H. Reichenbach, L. Rougier and L. S. Stebbing. The American Organizing Committee includes E. T. Nell, P. W. Bridgman, R. Carnap,

A. Church, M. Cohen, J. Dewey, H. Feigl, L. J. Henderson, C. J. Herrick, E. V. Huntington, H. S. Jennings, W. Köhler, S. K. Langer, C. H. Langford, K. S. Lashley, V. F. Lenzen, C. I. Lewis, R. S. Lillie, A. O. Lovejoy, R. M. MacIver, W. M. Malisoff, W. P. Montague, C. W. Morris, E. Nagel, F. S. C. Northrop, W. V. Quine, H. Reichenbach, E. Sapir, G. Sarton, H. Schultz, E. C. Tolman, W. Weaver and L. Wirth.

Professor P. W. Bridgman is the chairman and Dr. W. V. Quine is the secretary of the committee on arrangements at Harvard University. The congress is sponsored by the International Committee of the Congresses for the Unity of Science, by the International Institute for the Unity of Science, and, in America, by the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Philosophy of Science Association, the Association for Symbolic Logic and the American Philosophical Association.

A series of twenty monographs, entitled "Foundations of the Unity of Science" (and constituting the first two volumes of the "International Encyclopedia of Unified Science"), is now being issued by the University of Chicago Press. It helps to provide a background for the congress. Three monographs have already appeared, and it is hoped that all twenty will be in print by the time of the opening of the congress.

Those who wish later notices of the congress are requested to send their names and address to Professor C. W. Morris, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois.

INSTALLATION OF THE FLORIDA CHAPTER OF THE SOCIETY OF SIGMA XI

THE Florida Chapter of the Society of the Sigma Xi, national honorary society fostering research in the sciences, was installed at the University of Florida, Gainesville, on October 28, by Dr. Edward Ellery, of Union College, national secretary of the society.

Dr. Charles Carroll Brown, the oldest living past president of Sigma Xi, honored a luncheon by discussing the history and objectives of the society since it was founded in 1886 at Cornell University.

The address of the day by the Honorable M. L. Wilson, Under-Secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture, commemorated installation of the chapter and at the same time celebrated fifty years of service by the Florida Agricultural Experiment Station. He praised the research work of the station in soil science, particularly in the field of minor minerals, plant disease and insect control, plant and animal nutrition, providing techniques and facts of service over a wide area. He also commended the principles of education fostered by the general college, which give broader training to students in keeping with the trend of modern times.