of Modular Functions and Theorems on Partitions" at a joint session of Section A, the Mathematical Society and the Mathematical Association. At the Mosque at 11:00 A.M., on Wednesday, Professor R. C. Archibald, of Brown University, will deliver his retiring address as vice-president and chairman of Section L. He will speak on "Mathematicians, and Poetry and Drama."

AWARD OF THE PENROSE MEDAL TO PROFESSOR LAWSON

THE Penrose Medal, the highest honor of the Geological Society of America, has been awarded to Dr. Andrew Cowper Lawson, professor emeritus of geology and mineralogy at the University of California, "for eminent research in pure geology, and outstanding original contributions and achievements which mark a decided advance in the science of geology."

Dr. Lawson, authority on earthquake phenomena and continental border movements, is the tenth recipient of the medal since its founding in 1927 by the late Dr. R. A. F. Penrose, Jr., of Philadelphia. Presentation will be made at a dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, New York City, on December 30 during the semi-centennial meeting of the society.

Engaged in many different phases of research in geology since 1882, Dr. Lawson has studied and published reports on numerous regions of the United States and Canada. After the great California earthquake in 1906 he organized and directed investigations in seismology, advancing the science of predicting earthquakes. He has recently devoted much attention to fundamental theories concerning the nature and process of certain types of earth movements, and is author of a series of papers on the applications and implication of the theory of isostasy, a subject involving the theoretical condition of equilibrium which the earth's surface assumes under gravitation. He has been on the faculty of the University of California for forty-eight years.

Dr. Lawson was born in Anstruther, Scotland, on July 25, 1861. He was graduated from the University of Toronto in 1883. He took the master of arts degree at Toronto in 1885, and the doctor's degree at the Johns Hopkins University in 1888. Harvard University conferred the honorary degree of science upon

him in 1936, the University of Toronto having similarly honored him in 1923. He received the honorary degree of doctor of laws from the University of California in 1934.

He became assistant professor of mineralogy and geology at the University of California in 1890, having been on the Canadian Geological Survey eight years. In 1892 he was named associate professor, and in 1899 full professor, continuing until his retirement from active duty in 1928. He was dean of the College of Mining from 1914 to 1918. Besides being chairman of the California State Earthquake Committee in 1906, he was a member of the U. S. Assay Commission in 1916; chairman of the Division of Geology and Geography of the National Research Council in 1923–24, and delegate to the International Geological Congress in 1888 in London, 1897 in St. Petersburg, 1913 in Toronto and 1928 in Madrid.

Dr. Lawson was president of the Geological Society in 1926, vice-president in 1908, chairman of the Cordilleran Section from 1906 to 1912 and secretary of the same section from 1899 to 1906. He was president of the Seismological Society of America in 1909. He is also a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society and the National Academy of Sciences.

The award committee, in addition to Dr. Vaughan, was composed of Professors Nevin M. Fenneman, of the University of Cincinnati; Douglas Johnson, of Columbia University; Donald H. McLaughlin, of Harvard University; Adolph Knopf, of Yale University; John P. Buwalda, of the California Institute of Technology, and James Gilluly, of the University of California at Los Angeles.

Previous recipients of the medal have been: Thomas C. Chamberlin, 1927; Jakob J. Sederholm, 1928; Francois A. A. Lacroix, 1930; William M. Davis, 1931; Edward O. Ulrich, 1932; Waldemar Lindgren, 1933; Charles Schuchert, 1934; Reginald A. Daly, 1935, and Arthur P. Coleman, 1936. No medal was awarded in 1929 and 1937.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Nobel prize in physics has been awarded to Professor Enrico Fermi, of the University of Rome, "in recognition of his discovery of new elementary radioactive substances engendered by irradiation of neutrons." It is announced that Nobel prizes for physiology and medicine and for chemistry will not be awarded this year.

The following awards of medals have been made by the President and Council of the Royal Society, London: The Copley Medal to Professor Niels Bohr, For Mem.R.S., in recognition of his distinguished work in theoretical physics and particularly in the development of the quantum theory of atomic structure. The Rumford Medal, as announced in SCIENCE