- pital. "Some Reasons for the Recent Increase in Bronchial Carcinoma."
- January 4.—Nathan Lewis Hatfield Lecture XXI. Walter Bauer, associate professor and tutor in medicine, Harvard Medical School; physician, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston. "Studies Pertaining to the Origin and Nature of Hypertrophic Arthritis."
- February 1.—Nathan Lewis Hatfield Lecture XXII. C. N. H. Long, Sterling professor of physiological chemistry, Yale University. "Diabetes Mellitus in the Light of Our Present Knowledge of Metabolism."
- March 1.—Mary Scott Newbold Lecture XLII. W. B. Castle, professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School; associate director, Thorndike Memorial Laboratory, Boston City Hospital. "The Diagnosis and Treatment of Anemia."
- April 5.—Claude S. Beck, associate professor of surgery, Western Reserve University; associate surgeon, University Hospitals, Cleveland. "The Surgical Approach to Diseases of the Heart."
- May 3.—Mary Scott Newbold Lecture XLIII. William J. Kerr, professor of medicine, University of California; physician-in-chief, University Hospital, San Francisco. "A New Approach to the Etiology and Treatment of Angina Pectoris."

LECTURES FOR THE GENERAL PUBLIC

- November 18.—Alfred Stengel, vice-president in charge of medical affairs, University of Pennsylvania. "Currents and Counter-Currents in the Progress of Medicine."
- January 20.—George P. Muller, professor of surgery, Jefferson Medical College. "Surgical Trends and Medical Progress."
- April 14.—Earl D. Bond, professor of psychiatry, University of Pennsylvania; director, Institute for Mental Hygiene, Pennsylvania Hospital. "The Modern Interpretation of Mental Disorders."

NOMINATIONS FOR THE PRESIDENCY OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

Dr. Charles L. Parsons, secretary of the American Chemical Society, has announced the nomination of fourteen candidates for the presidency of the society. The nominations are made by the local sections and they will be voted upon in a pool of the 23,000 members of the society. The names of the four members receiving the largest number of votes will be brought before the council for election.

The president-elect of the society will take office on January 1, 1939, and will become president a year later. Professor Charles A. Kraus, of Brown University, now president-elect, will be president during 1939, succeeding Dean Frank C. Whitmore, of Pennsylvania State College.

The list of candidates follows:

- Erle M. Billings, business and technical personnel director of the Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, N. Y.
- Professor H. S. Booth, of Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio.
- Gustav Egloff, director of research of the Universal Oil Products Company, Chicago.
- Gustavus J. Esselen, president of Gustavus J. Esselen, Inc., Boston.
- Francis C. Frary, director of research of the Aluminum Company of America, New Kensington, Pa.
- Per K. Frolich, director of the Chemical Laboratories of the Standard Oil Development Company, Elizabeth, N. J.
- Professor Harrison Hale, of the University of Arkansas. Professor W. D. Harkins, of the University of Chicago. Professor Samuel C. Lind, dean of the Institute of Technology of the University of Minnesota.
- E. Emmet Reid, emeritus professor of chemistry, the Johns Hopkins University.
- Walter A. Schmidt, president and general manager of the Western Precipitation Company, Los Angeles.

Professor Hugh S. Taylor, of Princeton University.

Ernest H. Volwiler, vice-president of Abbott Laboratories, Chicago.

Professor Hobart H. Willard, of the University of Michigan.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The John Fritz Gold Medal has been awarded to Dr. Frank Baldwin Jewett, vice-president of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company and president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, for "vision and leadership in science and for notable achievement in the furtherance of industrial research and development in communication." The award is made by a committee composed of representatives of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers.

LOUIS SHATTUCK CATES, president of the Phelps Dodge Corporation, was elected William Lawrence

Saunders gold medallist at a meeting on October 17 of the board of directors of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers.

DR. JOHN VAN NOSTRAND DORR, president of the Dorr Company, Incorporated, will be presented with the Medal of the Society of Chemical Industry on November 4, at a joint meeting of the American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry and of the American Chemical Society, at the Chemists' Club, New York City. The medal is given for "valuable application of chemical research to industry," and was awarded to Dr. Dorr for his inventions that have permitted large-scale, low-cost operations in many chemical, metallurgical and sanitational operations.