The society, on the other hand, contends that clinical laboratories are not engaged in the practice of medicine, but rather are laboratories for the practical application of chemistry and the other fundamental sciences "wherein are made such factual investigations for the physician as he may desire in the study of his patients." Laboratory investigation, it is asserted, is not diagnosis of diseases because the physician must integrate laboratory findings with all other relevant clinical data in reaching a diagnosis.

## THE ELI LILLY PRIZE IN BIOLOGICAL CHEMISTRY

ATTENTION is again directed to the Eli Lilly and Company Prize in Biological Chemistry, an annual award whose purpose is to stimulate an interest in fundamental research in biological chemistry on the part of young men and women in the United States. It was established by Eli Lilly and Company in 1934 for a five-year period and is administered by the American Chemical Society. The award is the sum of \$1,000 together with a bronze medal and \$150, or as much thereof as is needed, to defray the traveling expenses of the recipient to the spring meeting of the American Chemical Society where he formally receives the honor and gives an address describing the work on which the award is given.

To be eligible for the award, a nominee shall not be over thirty-five years of age on April 30 of the year of the award and shall have accomplished outstanding research in biological chemistry, working in a college or university. For the purpose of this award biological chemistry does not include immunology, clinical investigations, pharmacology or experimental therapeutics, and outstanding research is understood to be that which is of unusual merit for an individual on the threshold of his career. The research is not to be judged in comparison with the work of more mature and experienced chemists, and special consideration is given to the independence of thought and the originality and resourcefulness shown.

The award is made by an award committee of seven, consisting this year of Charles A. Kraus, presidentelect of the American Chemical Society, as chairman, and the following non-industrial biological chemists appointed by the president-elect: Wm. Mansfield Clark, Glenn E. Cullen, R. Adams Dutcher, H. B. Lewis, P. A. Shaffer and D. D. Van Slyke. Nominations of the award must be made as follows:

Nominations for this award should be sent to the secretary of the society by any member of the society except the members of the Award Committee. No member may send in more than one nomination. Nominations shall be accompanied by a brief biographical sketch of the nominee, including date of birth, and by reprints of his publications, with specific reference to the research on which the nomination is based. At the time of the nomination the nominee must be actively engaged in the line of research for which the award is to be made. The sketch, information and reprints should be in the form of seven copies for distribution by the chairman of the members of the Award Committee.

All nominations to be considered must be received by the secretary of the society on or before January 5, 1939.

In order to insure that no outstanding young chemist shall be overlooked, a Nominating Committee of four, appointed by the president of the society, is charged with the duty of finding worthy nominees for the award, by themselves searching the literature and suggesting his nomination to individuals familiar with his work; also, by writing to others who are in a position to judge the qualifications of individuals and to make worthy nominations.

The members of the present Nominating Committee are H. A. Mattill, University of Iowa; Lawrence Bass, Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh; V. du Vigneaud, Cornell University Medical College, New York City, and Ben H. Nicolet, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Riverdale, Maryland. The members of this committee wish to receive and exchange suggestions with regard to suitable candidates.

The nominations themselves, together with the substantiating documents, should be sent directly to the Secretary of the American Chemical Society, Dr. Charles L. Parsons, Mills Building, Washington, D. C.

If in the opinion of the Award Committee there is no outstanding nominee from a United States college or university, the award may be passed and the fund used for a later award.

The chemist selected will receive the prize at the Baltimore meeting of the society next spring.

The nominating committee requests that information regarding this prize be disseminated as widely as possible and especially that it be brought to the attention of those who are located in college and university centers of biochemical research.

## APPOINTMENTS AT THE MEDICAL COLLEGE OF VIRGINIA

THE session opening the second century of the Medical College of Virginia began on September 19. Faculty promotions for the session 1938-1939 include:

Dr. Stuart Michaux, professor of gynecology; Dr. R. H. Courtney, professor of ophthalmology; Dr. R. Finley Gayle, professor of neuropsychiatry; Dr. Thomas W. Murrell, professor of dermatology and syphilology; Dr. Lee E. Sutton, Jr., professor of pediatrics; Dr. William D. Suggs, assistant professor of gynecology. Dr. Wyndham B. Blanton, who resigned last session as professor of history of medicine, has been made associate professor of medicine. Dr. Joseph F. Geisinger has been appointed professor of elinical urology.

In recognition of many years of service to the in-