Health Nursing and Epidemiology. In addition there will be joint meetings of two or more sections, and symposia have been arranged on the Phosphatase Test in the Control of Milk Pasteurization; Use of Biological Products; Water and Sewage; Frozen Desserts; Typhoid Fever; Pertussis; Nutritional Problems and Industrial Hygiene.

The following organizations are meeting with the association: the American School Health Association, the Conference of State Laboratory Directors, the Conference of State Sanitary Engineers, the International Society of Medical Health Officers, the American Association of State Registration Executives and the Association of Women in Public Health.

A Health Exhibit is being arranged of products, apparatus, equipment and services which have utility in modern public health practice and value in health protection and promotion.

THE AMERICAN MALACOLOGICAL UNION

The American Malacological Union held its eighth annual convention in Havana, Cuba, from August 1 to 6, at the invitation of Dr. Carlos de la Torre, president of the union and professor emeritus of zoology of the University of Havana. On this occasion the Cuban Government provided free transportation on the Cuban cruiser Cuba, from Key West, Florida, to Havana and return, as well as hotel accommodations for the guests during their stay in Havana.

The meetings were held in the Academy of Sciences of the University of Havana, many valuable papers on malacology being presented. Dr. Paul S. Galtsoff, of the U. S. Bureau of Fisheries, in his paper on "Physiology of Reproduction in Ostraea virginica," recommended that Cubans take advantage of the natural marine conditions existing around Cuba for the cultivation of oysters and thus add a new industry to the country. Fred Orsinger, head of the U. S. National Aquarium in Washington, D. C., spoke in favor of a Marine Aquarium and Biological Laboratory for Havana, saying that such an aquarium could be maintained near Havana at a very low cost as compared with that of similar institutions in other countries.

Officers were elected as follows: President, Maxwell Smith, Lantana, Fla.; Vice-president, Dr. Horace B. Baker, University of Pennsylvania; Corresponding Secretary, Norman W. Lermond, Knox Academy of Arts and Sciences, Thomaston, Me.; Financial Secretary, Imogene C. Robertson, Buffalo Museum of Science; Councillors at Large, Dr. Henry van der Schalie, University of Michigan, and Dr. Myra Keen, Stanford University. Past Presidents, Dr. Joshua L. Baily, Jr., San Diego; Dr. Paul Bartsch, Smithsonian Institution; William J. Clench, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University; Calvin Goodrich, University of Michigan; Dr. Henry A. Pilsbry, Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia, and Dr. Carlos de la Torre, University of Havana. Honorary President, Ida S. Oldroyd, Stanford University.

The meeting in 1939 will be held in the Royal Ontario Museum of Zoology, Toronto.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. A. T. Henrici, professor of bacteriology and immunology at the University of Minnesota, was elected president of the Society of American Bacteriologists at the San Francisco meeting. Dr. I. L. Baldwin, professor of agricultural bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin and assistant dean of the College of Agriculture, was named secretary-treasurer.

At the meeting of the International Committee of Historical Sciences, held in Zurich on August 28, in connection with the eighth International Congress of Historical Sciences, Dr. Waldo G. Leland, of Washington, D. C., executive director of the American Council of Learned Societies, was elected president for the term of five years, 1938–1943, succeeding Major Harold W. V. Temperley, university professor of modern history and master of Peterhouse, Cambridge.

Dr. Marston Taylor Bogert, professor of organic chemistry at Columbia University, was presented with the Priestley Gold Medal at the recent meeting in Milwaukee of the American Chemical Society. The thousand dollar prize awarded for "notable research in the

important borderline field between organic and physical chemistry" was presented to Dr. Paul D. Bartlett, assistant professor of chemistry at Harvard University.

EARL OWEN SHREVE, vice-president of the General Electric Company, a graduate of the Iowa State College of the class of 1904, is the first recipient of the Marston Medal. This award, established by Anson Marston, dean emeritus of engineering, "is granted, not oftener than once a year, in recognition of outstanding achievements of an alumnus in the field of engineering."

THE ersatz prizes, which take the place in Germany of the Nobel prizes that Germans are forbidden to accept, have been awarded to Professor Ferdinand Porsche, designer of the "Volkswagen"; to Dr. Fritz Todt, general inspector in charge of the superhighway construction program, and to Ernst Heinkel and Willy Messerschmidt, airplane designers and constructors, who halved one prize of 100,000 marks. The presentation of prizes preceded Hitler's annual address at a cultural session of the Nazi party.