ers of prominence will discuss the broader aspects of the subjects for the lay public. There will also be prepared a comprehensive exhibit—scientific, educational, technical and commercial.

Members of the executive committee are: Fred L. Adair, Chicago, general chairman; Robert D. Mussey, Rochester, Minnesota, vice-chairman; Sara B. Place, Chicago, secretary; Rudolph W. Holmes, Chicago, treasurer, and Frederick H. Falls, Chicago, assistant treasurer.

National, sectional and local specialist societies have approved the congress and have made contributions for its support. It is desired that a wider representation be secured through the medium of contributing memberships, the cost of which has been placed at five dollars. Application may be made at the office of the congress at 650 Rush Street, Chicago, Illinois.

SYMPOSIUM TO COMMEMORATE THE CENTENARY OF THE CELL THEORY

It has been decided to hold a symposium at the Richmond meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Sections L, G and F collaborating, to commemorate the centenary of the cell theory. The major lines of this symposium have been determined as follows:

a. Four to six papers are to be presented by men of sound judgment and thorough knowledge of the facts, so

that the symposium may represent an outstanding contribution to the history of the subject.

b. Biographical accounts are to be limited though not omitted; a broader base than the work of Schleiden and Schwann alone will be looked for in developing the foundations of the theory (by including the work of such a man as Purkinje); and stress will be laid upon what the cell theory is to-day.

The program for this symposium is in process of being developed by the chairmen and secretaries of sections F, G and L and by other officers of the association. At the same time, it has seemed desirable to appeal through the pages of Science to all scholars who may be interested in the symposium for further suggestions, particularly for the names of outstanding men who might be invited to participate.

The Mexican Society of Natural History is offering awards for the best scientific papers celebrating the centenary of the foundation of the cellular theory and will publish a commemorative volume. Papers presented in the symposium of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in Richmond can presumably be submitted for these awards also, and for a place in the commemorative volume, if that seems desired.

Please send suggestions either to the permanent secretary of the association or to the undersigned, Dr. Joseph Mayer, Secretary of Section L, Library of Congress, Washington, D. C.

JOSEPH MAYER

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

SIR ALBERT SEWARD, from 1906 to 1936 professor of botany at the University of Cambridge, was elected president of the British Association for the Advancement of Science at the Cambridge meeting. Sir Albert was master of Downing College, Cambridge, from 1915 to 1936, and was vice-chancellor of the university from 1924 to 1926. Two members of the council were elected, Dr. Charles E. Spearman, emeritus professor of psychology at the University of London, and Dr. C. R. Fay, reader in economic history at the University of Cambridge. The meeting in 1939 will be held at Dundee. The places of meeting for 1940, 1941 and 1942 will be Newcastle, Belfast and Birmingham.

Dr. Major Greenwood, professor of epidemiology and vital statistics at the School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine of the University of London, has been awarded the Bisset Hawkins Gold Medal of the Royal College of Physicians for his researches in statistics.

Nature reports that the joint committee of representatives of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Physical Society and the Royal Societish Geographical Society has awarded the Bruce Memorial Prize (1938) to Alexander R. Glen for his work in Spitsbergen, in-

cluding survey in New Friesland and the completion of the map of North East Land. The council of the Royal Society of Edinburgh has awarded the David Anderson-Berry Prize (1938) to Miss Mary A. C. Cowell, of the Holt Radium Institute, Manchester, for her essay entitled "An Investigation into some of the Factors affecting the Response of Human Skin and Human Skin Tumours to Radiation."

At the annual dinner on August 31 of the San Francisco meeting of the American Society of Bacteriologists Dr. Jerome T. Syverton, assistant professor of bacteriology at the University of Rochester, in recognition of his work on filterable viruses, was presented with the prize of \$1,000 and a medal, founded by Eli Lilly and Company. The award is given annually to an investigator under thirty-one years of age who has made outstanding contributions to knowledge in the fields of bacteriology and immunology.

Dr. Wallace E. Herrell, of the Mayo Foundation, has received the first award of the Foundation Prize of the Association of Obstetricians, Gynecologists and Abdominal Surgeons. His paper, entitled "Studies of