At the business sessions of the Fisheries Society, Fred J. Foster, regional director of Pacific coast and Rocky Mountain fish cultural stations, was elected president, and Deputy Commissioner Jackson was elected chairman of the committee on foreign relations. Other officers are: T. H. Langlois, first vice-president; James Brown, second vice-president; Seth Gordon, secretary-treasurer, and Kenneth E. Cobb, librarian. Division vice-presidents for the coming year are: Dr. H. H. Mackay, fish culture; Lauren R. Donaldson, aquatic biology and physics; Dr. H. J. Deason, commercial fishing; William C. Adams, protection and legislation; and C. R. Guterman, angling. Walter H. Chute was named chairman of the committee on common and scientific names of fishes.

IN HONOR OF GEORGE W. STEWART

A PORTRAIT of Dr. George W. Stewart, who will begin this autumn his thirtieth year of service as head of the department of physics at the State University of Iowa, was formally presented to the university at a banquet given in his honor on June 19.

The portrait, which was painted by William McCloy, of Drake University, was given by colleagues and former students. The presentation was made by Dr. Homer L. Dodge, dean of the Graduate College of the University of Oklahoma, one of fifty-two students who have received the degree of doctor of philosophy under Dr. Stewart. Professor Stewart spoke on "The Human Values of Physics."

Dr. Carl E. Seashore, research professor of psychology and dean emeritus of the Graduate College of

the State University of Iowa, in accepting the portrait for the university, paid the following tribute to Dr. Stewart:

- ... eminent physicist through your significant contributions to basic problems in physical science, both pure and applied;
- ... recognized educator through your wise counsel and active leadership in graduate and undergraduate education, locally and nationally;
- ... great teacher by virtue of your sympathetic personal influence and comradeship with students and the fostering of progressive educational procedures;
- ... citizen of the world through your extensive travels and intimate associations with scholars at home and abroad and your ideals of the brotherhood of mankind;
- ... beloved citizen at home not only in your own name, but also through the noble civic spirit and service of your helpmate;
- ... gracious university host for colleagues and students, humble strangers and distinguished guests in your beautiful home;
- ... comrade with the seekers after truth, humbling yourself before the savants of all ages and projecting yourself into coming generations through your teachings and contributions to science;
- ... balanced personality in work and in play, in physical health, living in an atmosphere of intellectual, moral, social, artistic and religious pursuits, a whole man.
- I bring you these sentiments of appreciation and appraisal in the name of the university.

Let the historian count this citation as a legend for the portrait now unveiled and to be appropriately associated with the projected murals, and thus let it mark a milestone at the present vantage ground in your distinguished career.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. FLOYD K. RICHTMYER, professor of physics and dean of the Graduate School of Cornell University, received the honorary degree of doctor of science at the commencement exercises of Lehigh University on June 14.

THE University of Toledo conferred at commencement the degree of doctor of science on Harry B. Meller, managing director of the Air Hygiene Foundation of the Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa.

C. F. Hirshfeld, chief of research of the Detroit Edison Company, member and past chairman of the Engineers' Council for Professional Development, recently received the honorary degree of doctor of engineering from the University of Detroit, in recognition of his technical and scientific accomplishments in the field of engineering and in engineering education.

Dr. Florence B. Seibert, of the Henry Phipps Institute of the University of Pennsylvania, was presented with the Trudeau Medal "for outstanding re-

search in the field of tuberculosis" at the Los Angeles meeting of the National Tuberculosis Association.

Professor W. H. Hoffmann, of the Finlay Institute, Havana, has been awarded the Great Iron Medal of the Senekenberg Society of Frankfurt-on-Main in recognition of his research in tropical medicine.

Nature states that Professor Max Planck, of Berlin, who is an honorary fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, was the guest at a dinner held in his honor in the rooms of the society on June 23. The president, Sir D'Arcy Wentworth Thompson, was in the chair.

Professor J. E. Littlewood, Rouse Ball professor of mathematics in the University of Cambridge, has been awarded the triennial award of the De Morgan Medal for 1938 of the London Mathematical Society.

Dr. Rudolf Kreutz, of Cologne, has been awarded the Sudhoff Medal by the German Society of the History of Medicine.