Japan, Switzerland, India, Finland, Holland, Turkey and Ireland. All sessions were exceptionally well attended. Two meetings to which the public was invited, held in the Manhattan Opera House, filled the auditorium.

In recognition of the excellence of both technical and scientific exhibits the Governing Council passed a resolution of commendation. The awards for scientific exhibit excellence were announced as follows:

- The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research and The International Health Division of the Rockefeller Foundation.
- Otto Neurath, president, International Foundation for Visual Education.
- 3. New York World's Fair, 1939, Inc.
- Metropolitan Health Department of British Columbia, Canada.
- 5. New York City Cancer Committee.
- 6. American Medical Association.

Among the resolutions adopted were:

- A resolution reiterating the attitude of the association toward the removal of public health administration from political interference and control.
- A resolution in favor of Congressional appropriations for a minimum of two years for a nation-wide statistical survey of the accident problem.
- A resolution supporting the development of more adequate diagnostic services for the control of syphilis.
- A resolution supporting the Vinson Bill as the best procedure and organization for lessening the danger to public health from stream pollution.
- A resolution pledging active support to measures which seek to secure better maternal and neo-natal care.
- A resolution authorizing a special committee to study the public health aspects of medical care, especially of chronic diseases.

Dr. Arthur T. McCormack was inducted into the office of president; Abel Wolman, professor of sanitary engineering at the Johns Hopkins University, was named president-elect. Dr. Thomas Parran and Dr. John P. Koehler were returned to the executive board and the following ten members were elected to the Governing Council: Drs. W. F. Draper, A. Grant Fleming, Ira V. Hiscock, E. V. McCollum, J. T. Phair, John L. Rice, George C. Ruhland, William P. Shepard, W. G. Smillie and Huntington Williams.

The annual meeting in 1938 will be held at Kansas City.

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT-ELECT OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

Local sections of the American Chemical Society, in accordance with the constitution and by-laws governing elections, have proposed for nomination members for president-elect and councilors at large. The four names receiving the largest vote will then be put

upon the final ballot which goes to members of the council. The nominations are given in *Industrial and Engineering Chemistry* as follows: For president-elect:

William Lloyd Evans, professor and chairman of the department of chemistry at the Ohio State University. Per K. Frolich, director of the chemical laboratories of the Standard Oil Development Company.

Harry N. Holmes, professor and head of the department of chemistry at Oberlin College.

Charles A. Kraus, professor of chemistry and director of the Newport Rogers Laboratory at Brown University. Samuel C. Lind, dean of the Institute of Technology of the University of Minnesota.

Carl S. Miner, consulting chemist, Miner Laboratories. Hobart H. Willard, professor of chemistry at the University of Michigan.

The following have been nominated to serve as councilors-at-large:

William Mansfield Clark, professor of physiological chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University.

A. C. Fieldner, chief of the Technical Branch and chief engineer of the Coal Division of the U. S. Bureau of Mines.

Ivan Gubelmann, chemical director of the Organic Chemistry Division of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Inc.

- B Smith Hopkins, professor of inorganic chemistry, University of Illinois.
- G. E. F. Lundell, chief of the Chemistry Division, National Bureau of Standards.
- John H. Nair, assistant director of the Research Laboratories of the Borden Company.
- A. S. Richardson, director of chemical research, Procter and Gamble Company.
- H. A. Shonle, research organic chemist, Eli Lilly and Company.

GRANTS AWARDED BY THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

Grants for research have been awarded as follows by the committee on research of the American Philosophical Society:

Horace G. Richards, New Jersey State Museum, for the collection and study of the land mollusks of the Island of Roatan, Honduras, with special attention to the bearing of this fauna on problems of paleogeography

Edward Girden, Brooklyn College, for the study of the relationship between bone-conduction and air-borne waves in the auditory acuity of dogs, and the effect of cortical extirpation upon these functions

T. M. N. Lewis, University of Tennessee, for archeological field research in Tennessee

200

350 1,000