graphic and natural history information and photographs, has been announced by Dr. Gilbert Grosvenor, president of the society. Dr. William M. Mann, director of the National Zoological Park, is head of the expedition.

Accompanying Dr. Mann will be Mrs. Mann, a member of the photographic staff of the National Geographic Society, and Roy Jenier and Malcolm Davis. of the park staff. The party will sail from Seattle and, after brief pauses in Japan, the Philippines and Singapore, will establish headquarters at some point on the Island of Sumatra, near the sea, and in easy reach of "wild country." Equipment will include a number of special "mercy traps" and a few special cases in which to carry small, delicate creatures. The heavy traps and cages needed for the larger jungle beasts will be built in the field. Dr. Mann states that the region to be visited is at present only poorly represented by animals in the National Zoological Park. He will confer with game officials and naturalists in the countries to be visited, and will collect whatever he can of the missing specimens. Mammals, reptiles, birds and a few fishes will be the primary objects of the collectors, but in spare time insects and a few botanical specimens will be collected.

The trip to the East Indies under joint Geographic and Smithsonian auspices has been planned for some time. The project was approved and organized with its complete personnel two years ago, but was delayed on account of the extensive building program at the Zoological Park, which has since held Dr. Mann in Washington.

After the work is completed in Sumatra, the expedition expects to visit the Island of Ceram, almost 2,000 miles to the east, and possibly some of the East Indies islands not under Netherlands jurisdiction. Before starting home, the party will also visit Bangkok, Siam. It will return through the Indian Ocean and the Mediterranean to England. There the collections will be shipped to America. If possible, it will be arranged to land at Baltimore in order to shorten the overland trip.

## ANNUAL MEETING OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

At the annual meeting of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, which opened on December 1, the Hoover Medal was presented to Ambrose Swasey, of Cleveland, by Gano Dunn, of New York. Mr. Herbert Hoover spoke briefly after the presentation. Other awards were made as follows:

An honorary membership to George A. Orrok "for his outstanding contributions to the engineering profession in the power field."

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers Medal to Edward Bausch, of the Bausch & Lomb Optical Company, Rochester, "for meritorious mechanical developments in the field of optics."

The Worcester Reed Warner Medal to Professor Charles M. Allen, of the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Worcester, Mass., "for his early and continued hydraulic laboratory work and for the permanent value of the papers on his development of methods of testing large hydraulic turbine installations."

The Melville Medal to H. A. Stevens, of Philadelphia, for his paper on "The Loading and Friction of Thrust and Journal Bearings with Perfect Lubrication."

The Junior Award to Harwood F. Mullikin, Jr., of New York, for his paper on "Evaluation of Effective Radiant Heating Surface and Application of the Stefen-Boltzman Law to Heat Absorption in Boiler Furnaces."

The Undergraduate Student Award to Leon B. Stinson, of the Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College, for his paper on "Polymerized Motor Fuels: Their Economic Significance."

The ninetieth anniversary of the birth of George Westinghouse, inventor of the airbrake and the steam turbine, was observed at the evening session, when the principal address was made by Dr. James Rowland Angell, president of Yale University.

The society elected the following officers for 1937: J. H. Herron, of Cleveland, president; J. M. Todd, of New Orleans, and R. J. S. Pigott, of Pittsburgh, vice-presidents, and E. W. Burbank, of Dallas, Tex.; K. H. Condit, of New York, and Dean S. W. Dudley, of the Yale University School of Engineering, managers.

## FIRST ANNUAL SYMPOSIUM OF THE DIVISION OF PHYSICAL AND INORGANIC CHEMISTRY OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

The symposium is to be held at Princeton University on December 31 and January 1 and 2 on the general topic "Molecular Structure." The program, which includes contributions both from chemists and physicists active in the several branches of this field, is outlined below.

The program will be divided into half days as follows:

Thursday morning, December 31. General introduction to the symposium, H. L. Johnston, the Ohio State University. Five papers on "Spectra and Structure of Diatomic Molecules" and other topics, with R. S. Mulliken as discussion leader.

Thursday afternoon and Friday morning. There will be ten papers on "Spectra and Structure of Polyatomic Molecules," with W. A. Noyes, Jr., as discussion leader.

Friday afternoon. Five papers will be given on "Determinations of Structure by Methods which are Non-Spectroscopic," with G. B. Kistiakowsky as discussion leader.