MEDAL DAY AT THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

AWARDS of the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, will be formally presented at its Medal Day exercises on Wednesday afternoon, May 20. In addition to the award of Franklin medals to Dr. Frank Baldwin Jewett, vice-president of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company and president and director of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, and to Dr. Charles Franklin Kettering, vice-president and director of the General Motors Corporation, announced in the issue of SCIENCE for April 3, the following medals will be awarded:

The Elliott Cresson Medal

Founded in 1848 by Mr. Cresson, of Philadelphia, to Dr. George O. Curme, Jr., Carbide and Carbon Chemicals Corporation, New York City, "In consideration of his foundation of a new technology which has resulted in the development of a rapidly expanding industry, namely, that of synthetic aliphatic compounds based upon the olefines as starting material; and his development of profitable uses for these compounds in industry"; and to Dr. Robert J. Van de Graaff, of the Massachusets Institute of Technology, "In consideration of his development of an electrostatic generator for the production of high voltage direct currents, through which he has made possible the extension of nuclear investigation."

The Edward Longstreth Medal

Founded in 1890 by the late Edward Longstreth, Baldwin Locomotive Works, Philadelphia, to Dr. Alfred V. de Forest, president of the Magnaflux Corporation. New York City, associate professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and to Major William E. Hoke, consulting engineer, Baltimore, "In consideration of the new application of certain long-known principles to fill the need for a ready means of detection of hidden defects, primarily at or near the surface of magnetic materials, and of the development of means for the commercial application of this method to present-day engineering problems"; to Peter P-G. Hall, president, Hall Planetary Company, Philadelphia, "In consideration of his invention and development of machine and cutters for planetary milling and threading"; to Elmer A. Sperry, Jr., vice-president, Sperry Products, Inc., Brooklyn, N. Y., "In consideration of his initiative and for his work in the development of blind flying instruments employing gyroscopic principles, which development includes the gyroscopic horizon, directional gyro and automatic airplane pilot."

The John Price Wetherill Medal

Founded in 1925 by the family of the late John Price Wetherill, to Albert L. Marsh, president, Hoskins Manufacturing Company, Detroit, Michigan, makers of electric furnaces, pyrometers and resistance wire. Mr. Marsh is to receive the award, "In consideration of the contribution of a material which has proved of extreme importance to the electrical industries."

The Walton Clark Medal

Founded in 1926 by the United Gas Improvement Company in honor of their chief engineer, who has been, for seventeen years, president of the Franklin Institute, to Dr. Joseph Becker, The Koppers Construction Company, Pittsburgh, Pa., "In consideration of his improvements in the art of carbonization of coal and manufacture of gas in coke ovens, and particularly for his work in the development of the oven known as the 'Becker Oven.'"

The Louis Edward Levy Medal

Founded in 1923 by the family of the late Louis Edward Levy, Philadelphia, to Mayo Dyer Hersey, Brown University, in consideration of his papers on the theory of lubrication, published in the June, July, August and September issues of the *Journal* of the institute for 1935.

The Howard N. Potts Medal

Founded by Mr. Potts, to Dr. Felix A. Vening Meinesz, Amersfoort, Holland, professor of geodesy and geophysics at the University of Utrecht, "In consideration of the outstanding value of his work in geodesy; and the energy, originality and skill he has shown in the development and use of apparatus for determining gravity at sea." Dr. Vening Meinesz will be unable to come to America to receive the award. It will therefore be presented in absentia.

THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

AT the annual meeting of the American Philosophical Society held in Philadelphia on April 23, 24 and 25, the following members were elected:

Newton Diehl Baker, Cleveland, Ohio.

Dr. Charles A. Beard, New Milford, Conn.

Carl Becker, professor of history, Cornell University.

Dr. John Rogers Commons, professor of economics, University of Wisconsin, director, American Bureau of Industrial Research.

Dr. Edward Samuel Corwin, McCormick professor of jurisprudence, Princeton University.

Dr. Karl K. Darrow, physicist, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York.

Dr. Charles Derleth, dean of the College of Engineering of the University of California.

Dr. William E. Dodd, United States Ambassador Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to the German Reich, formerly professor of history at Randolph-Macon College and at the University of Chicago.