his activity in the National Academy of Sciences and especially for his part in the creation of the National Research Council. His conviction that it was important to publish results promptly led to the organization of the *Proceedings* of the National Academy, which have continuously brought out short papers on current researches in many sciences by members of the National Academy and their colleagues. Dr. Hale was instrumental also in the founding of the Astrophysical Journal, of which he has been an editor from its beginning.

Dr. Hale's founding of the Mount Wilson Observatory, his building of successively greater telescopes for long-distance and large-scale observations, from the 40-inch refractor to the new 200-inch reflector, and his inspiration and efforts that resulted in the creation and growth of the California Institute of Technology are well known to all scientists. That he has achieved so much administratively and at the same time added such a wealth of knowledge in special fields of astronomy, particularly in solar physics and instrumental design, stands as the mark of a great man and a great scientist.

The program of the Harvard symposium, organized by Dr. Harlow Shapley, is as follows:

- Biographical Notes. Dean H. M. Goodwin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- Dr. Hale as a Student Assistant at Harvard. Professor W. P. Gerrish, Harvard Observatory.
- Kenwood and Yerkes Observatories and the Astrophysical Journal. Dr. G. P. Kuiper, Harvard Observatory.
- Mount Wilson Observatory. Dr. Robert B. King, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- California Institute of Technology. Dr. E. B. Wilson, Jr., Society of Fellows, Harvard University.
- National Academy of Sciences and the National Research Council. Dr. Arthur L. Day, Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington.
- Dr. Hale's Contributions to Solar Physics. Dr. Theodore Dunham, Princeton University and Mount Wilson Observatory.

The Manufacture of the 200-inch reflector. Dr. George V. McCauley, Corning Glass Works.

J. Mohr

HARVARD COLLEGE OBSERVATORY

RECENT DEATHS

PROFESSOR EDWARD H. PERKINS, head of the department of geology at Colby College and since 1929 assistant state geologist for Maine, died on April 13 at the age of fifty years.

DR. CHARLES V. GREEN, research associate at the Roscoe B. Jackson Memorial Laboratory at Bar Harbor, Me., was drowned on April 18, when the boat from which he was fishing overturned. He was thirtyfour years old.

DR. HARLOW BROOKS, professor of clinical medicine at New York University, past president of the College of Physicians, died on April 13 at the age of sixty-five years.

DR. WILLIAM BRADLEY COLEY, formerly professor of clinical cancer research at Cornell University Medical College, surgeon-in-chief emeritus of the Hospital for the Ruptured and Crippled, New York City, with which he had been connected for forty-five years, died on April 16, at the age of seventy-four years.

WILLIAM LOUIS ABBOTT, formerly director of the Philadelphia Zoological Gardens and honorary associate zoologist of the Smithsonian Institution, died on April 2 at the age of seventy-six years.

Nature reports the death of James Whitehead, fellow of the Imperial College of Science and Technology, who was a leading authority on patent law, especially in its applications to technology, on April 3, aged fifty-eight years; of Dr. W. A. Parr, president of the British Astronomical Association in 1932–34, on April 2, and of Professor J. Stoklasa, director of the State Institute of Research in Plant Products, Prague, on April 4, aged seventy-six years.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE honorary degree of doctor of laws of the University of Wisconsin will be conferred in June on Dr. Isaiah Bowman, president of the Johns Hopkins University.

Nature states that on the occasion of the centenary celebration of the University of London, degrees will be conferred *honoris causa* on thirteen British and six foreign distinguished men, including Sir William Bragg, S. A. Courtauld, Sir Joseph Larmor, Dr. J. W. Mackail, Sir George Newman, Sir Charles Peers and H. G. Wells; and Professor Albert Einstein, Professor Johan Hjort and Professor Max Planck. DR. M. J. BLISH, chemist of the Nebraska Agricultural Experiment Station, has been awarded the Thomas Burr Osborne Medal for his work in cereal chemistry. Presentation of the medal will occur at the annual convention of the American Association of Cereal Chemists, at Dallas, Texas, on June 2.

At the recent Kansas City meeting of the American Chemical Society, the Langmuir prize of \$1,000 was awarded to Dr. John Gamble Kirkwood, assistant professor of physical chemistry at Cornell University, for his work in molecular chemistry.