# SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

## THE NORTH CAROLINA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE thirty-third annual meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science was held at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N. C., on May 4 and 5, 1934. About 220 members and visitors attended the meeting. Seventy-three papers and six exhibits were on the program. (Abstracts of most of these papers and some complete papers will appear at an early date in the *Journal of the Elisha Mitchell Scientific Society*). An outstanding feature of the exhibits was a beautiful and instructive wild flower show, under the direction of Dr. H. R. Totten, of the department of botany of the University of North Carolina.

The greater part of the first day was set aside for the presentation of papers before the General Section of the academy, and this was followed by the annual business meeting. In the evening the retiring president, Dr. B. W. Wells, professor of botany at the North Carolina State College, gave the presidential address on "Galls and 'Galls'." During the forenoon of the second day, the academy met in the following sections: General Section, Chemistry Section, Mathematics Section and Physics Section.

Resolutions of respect were passed in honor of three deceased members: Dr. James Munsie Bell, dean of the school of applied sciences of the University of North Carolina; Dr. William Battle Cobb, chairman of the division of soils of the North Carolina State College; and Dr. Francis Preston Venable, professor emeritus in the department of chemistry of the University of North Carolina.

The academy elected to life membership Dr. Collier Cobb, professor emeritus of geology at the University of North Carolina. The executive committee reported the election of twenty-two new members during the year and the reinstatement of six former members.

In the high school science essay contest, Mr. Miles C. Horton, of the Richard J. Reynolds High School, Winston-Salem, won first prize for his essay entitled "The Romance of Radium." (Essays for 1934 were confined to chemistry and physics.) The prize was a splendid set of books on scientific subjects.

The officers elected for 1934 were:

#### GENERAL ACADEMY

President, H. R. Totten, University of North Carolina; Vice-president, P. M. Ginnings, Greensboro College; Secretary-Treasurer, H. L. Blomquist, Duke University; Executive Committee—the above officers, Charles M. Heck, North Carolina State College, E. T. Browne, University of North Carolina and W. E. Speas, Wake Forest College; Representative to the American Association for the Advancement of Science, C. F. Korstian, Duke University.

### CHEMISTRY SECTION

Chairman, J. H. Saylor, Duke University; Vice-chairman, R. W. Bost, University of North Carolina; Secretary-Treasurer, W. C. Vosburgh, Duke University; Councillor, Robert Neville Isbell, Wake Forest College; Executive Committee—the officers, F. W. Sherwood, North Carolina Experiment Station, and H. D. Crockford, University of North Carolina.

### MATHEMATICS SECTION

Chairman, E. R. C. Miles, Duke University; Secretary, W. N. Mebane, Jr., Davidson College.

#### PHYSICS SECTION

Chairman, Calvin N. Warfield, Woman's College of the University of North Carolina; Secretary, J. S. Mears, North Carolina State College.

The thirty-fourth annual meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science will be held at the Woman's College of the University of North Carolina, Greensboro, North Carolina, in 1935.

> H. L. BLOMQUIST, Secretary

## THE NEW HAMPSHIRE ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE sixteenth annual meeting of the New Hampshire Academy of Science was held at the Hancock Hotel, Hancock, New Hampshire, on Friday and Saturday, June 1 and 2.

The meeting was called to order on Friday at 7:45 P. M. by President Samuel P. Hunt. Addresses were given by Mr. Salvatore Pagliuca, of the Mt. Washington Observatory, on "Observations and Experiments on Mt. Washington"; by Dr. Henry I. Baldwin, of the State Forestry Department, on "Natural Grafting in Forest Trees"; and by Dr. George Woodbury on "A Prehistoric Tribe of the Texas Coast."

Papers by members were read on Saturday morning. On Saturday afternoon, following the business meeting, Mr. Hunt gave the presidential address, "Electric Service and its Cost," after which the remainder of the papers by members were read.

The following officers were elected for 1934-35:

President, Professor Harold A. Iddles, University of New Hampshire; Vice-President, Mr. Albert L. Clough, Manchester; Secretary-Treasurer, Professor George W. White, University of New Hampshire; Member of Council, Mr. Samuel P. Hunt, Manchester; Councillor to American Association for the Advancement of Science, Professor Walter C. O'Kane, University of New Hampshire.

> George W. White, Secretary-Treasurer