the society which was merged with the American Association of Cereal Chemists in 1923, and played a conspicuous rôle in the federated society. When in 1923 it was decided to establish a new scientific journal, *Cereal Chemistry*, as the official publication of the society, Dr. Bailey was selected as editor-in-chief and he served this publication in that capacity during the period 1924 to 1931.

Dr. Bailey is the author of more than a hundred bulletins and papers published in scientific journals. These papers range in content over the entire field of cereal chemistry, including fundamental studies in grain storage, grain grading, milling, the storage of milled products, the evaluation of quality of flours, the process of dough fermentation, the effect of individual constituents in the dough batch, physico-chemical factors in flour and bread manufacture, the baking test, including both the test loaf and its commercial applications, the storage of baked products, rancidity of fats and oils used in baked products, and methods of analysis of cereals and cereal products.

## THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY.

At the annual meeting of the American Philosophical Society, held in Philadelphia on April 21, 22 and 23, the following members were elected:

- Dr. Edward Goodrich Acheson, chemist, St. Petersburg, Florida, formerly president of the Electro-chemical Society.
- Dr. Edward Cooke Armstrong, professor of French, Princeton University.
- M. Gilbert Chinard, Department of French Literature, the Johns Hopkins University.
- Dr. Ralph Erskine Cleland, professor of biology, Goucher College.
- Dr. Arthur J. Dempster, professor of physics, University of Chicago.
- Dr. Arnold Dresden, professor of mathematics, Swarthmore College.
- Dr. Herbert Fox, professor of comparative pathology, University of Pennsylvania.
- Dr. Edwin Francis Gay, professor of economic history, Harvard University.
- Dr. George Lincoln Hendrickson, professor of Greek and Latin literature, Yale University.
- Dr. Edwin Walter Kemmerer, professor of international finance, Princeton University.
- Dr. Thomas William Lamont, New York.

- Dr. Arthur Oncken Lovejoy, professor of philosophy, the Johns Hopkins University.
- Dr. Elmer Drew Merrill, director of the New York Botanical Garden.
- Dr. John Raymond Murlin, professor of physiology and director of department of vital economics, University of Rochester Medical School.
- Dr. Charles P. Olivier, professor of astronomy and director of the Flower Observatory, University of Pennsylvania.
- Dr. Ernest Minor Patterson, professor of economics, Wharton School of Finance and Commerce, University of Pennsylvania.
- Dr. Henry A. Sanders, professor of Latin, University of Michigan.
- Dr. Jacob Richard Schramm, editor-in-chief of *Biological* Abstracts.
- Dr. Charles P. Smyth, associate professor of chemistry, Princeton University.
- Dr. Edward Lee Thorndike, professor of psychology and director of the division of psychology, Institute of Educational Research, Teachers College, Columbia University.
- Dr. Richard Chace Tolman, professor of mathematical physics, California Institute of Technology.
- Dr. Henry Van Peters Wilson, Kenan professor of zoology, University of North Carolina.
- Dr. Sewall Wright, professor of zoology, University of Chicago.

Foreign members elected were:

Ramon y Cajal, Madrid.

- Dr. William H. Collins, Canada.
- Professor David Hilbert, Göttingen.
- M. Emmannuel de Margerie, Paris.
- Dr. Ivan Pavlov, Leningrad.

Mr. Roland S. Morris, formerly United States Ambassador to Japan and member of the Philadelphia bar, was elected president. He succeeds Professor Henry Norris Russell, of Princeton University. Dr. James H. Breasted, Dr. Elihu Thomson and Dr. Edwin G. Conklin are the vice-presidents; Dr. Arthur W. Goodspeed and Dr. John A. Miller, secretaries; Dr. Albert P. Brubaker, curator, and Dr. Eli Kirk Price, treasurer. Dr. Cyrus Adler, Dr. Henry H. Donaldson, Dr. Herbert S. Jennings, Mr. William L. Phelps and Dr. Heber D. Curtis were elected members of the council.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. PHOEBUS A. LEVENE, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, has been elected a member of the Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher zu Halle, on the occasion of the celebration of the centenary of the death of Wolfgang von Goethe. DR. J. C. TH. UPHOF, head of the department of biology and professor of botany at Rollins College, was recently elected a corresponding member of the Bulgarian Botanical Society and of the Royal Netherlands Agricultural Society.

DR. DUKINFIELD H. SCOTT, the British paleobot-