leum, the results of which have been published in various journals.

Charles Allen Cary, physiological chemist, Research Laboratories, Bureau of Dairy Industry. Mr. Cary was elected to membership in recognition of his contributions to the knowledge of nutrition and particularly the protein metabolism of milking cows. He is the author of numerous papers on these subjects.

Henry B. Collins, Jr., assistant curator, Division of Ethnology, U. S. National Museum. His election to membership was in recognition of his archeological researches in the southeastern section of the United States and in Alaska, and his contributions to physical anthropology.

Dr. James Fitton Couch, chemist, Bureau of Animal Industry. Dr. Couch was elected to membership in recognition of his work on the active principles of stock-poisoning plants. The results of his work have been published in various journals and bulletins.

Dr. Carl S. Cragoe, physicist, Bureau of Standards. Dr. Cragoe was elected to membership in recognition of his work on the thermodynamic properties of ammonia and of petroleum products.

Dr. Leon Francis Curtiss, physicist, Bureau of Standards. Dr. Curtiss was elected to membership in recognition of his investigations in radioactivity and cosmic radiation.

Dr. Francis Marion Defandorf, physicist, Bureau of Standards. Dr. Defandorf was elected to membership in recognition of his contributions to the science of electrical measurements, particularly in the field of high voltage.

Herbert N. Eaton, acting chief of the hydraulic laboratory, Bureau of Standards. Mr. Eaton was elected to membership in recognition of his work in aeronautics and hydraulics. He has written numerous articles on aeronautic instruments.

PRESENTATION TO PROFESSOR CONANT

THE William H. Nichols Medal of the New York section of the American Chemical Society for 1932 was presented on March 1 to Professor James Bryant Conant, chairman of the division of chemistry at Harvard University, in recognition of his work in organic chemistry, particularly in the chemistry of chlorophyll.

Professor Arthur E. Hill, of New York University, made the presentation. Other speakers were Professor James F. Norris, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, who discussed Professor Conant's personal career, and Professor Hans T. Clarke, of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University, who recounted his scientific accomplishments. Mr. Walter S. Landis, chairman of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society, presided.

The Nichols Medal, established in 1903, is one of the most distinguished honors in American chemical science. The award, made for the research published during the past year, which in the opinion of the jury is most original and stimulative to further research, was bestowed on Professor Conant for his work in organic chemistry, particularly in the chemistry of chlorophyll. The late Dr. Nichols, the donor, was chairman of the board of the Allied Chemical and Dye Corporation and a charter member of the American Chemical Society.

Past winners include Professor William Lloyd Evans, of the Ohio State University, who received it in 1929 in recognition of his research into the structure of the sugar molecule; Dr. Samuel Edward Sheppard, assistant director of the research department of the Eastman Kodak Company, who was medallist in 1930, for his work in the chemistry of photography, and Dr. John Arthur Wilson, of Milwaukee, honored in 1931 for achievement in colloid chemistry, applied particularly to leather and sanitation.

Professor Conant, who was born in Boston in 1893. is a graduate of Harvard University, where he received the A.B. in 1913 and the Ph.D. in 1916. He served during the war as lieutenant in the Sanitary Corps, and later became major in the research division of the Chemical Warfare Service. An assistant professor of chemistry at Harvard after the close of the war, he became associate professor in 1925, and full professor in 1927. He is a former chairman of the organic division of the American Chemical Society. He is the author of "Organic Chemistry," joint author of "Practical Chemistry," and editor-in-chief of Volumes II and IX of "Organic Syntheses." His research has included work in reduction and oxidation. hemoglobin, free radicals, a quantitative study of organic reactions, besides the chemistry of chlorophyll.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

APPOINTMENT of Dr. Vannevar Bush as vice-president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology was announced by President Karl T. Compton following the regular meeting of the corporation on March 9. He has been a member of the faculty of electrical

engineering since 1923. Dr. Bush was also elected a member of the corporation and will be dean of engineering. Plans have been made for the subdivision into the School of Science, the School of Engineering, the School of Architecture, the Division of Humanities